We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable hotel for city break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel for city break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Used the hotel as a base for 3 day visit of the Capitol. Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean throughout, spacious bedroom, bathroom well equiped with all essentials and maintained daily. Breakfast very busy, had to hang around for a table and was a little put off initially by polestyrene plates and plastic cutlery! However, the actual food choice was good and frequently replenished. Shuttle bus service great for visiting Alexandria Old Town and also to catch the metro to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    212
    45
    9
    5
See reviews for
335
172
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were in the Arlington area for a funeral and stayed here for 3 days. It was our first stay at a Hampton Inn and we were pretty impressed. All the staff we interacted with were friendly. Check-in was a breeze and they quickly also signed us up for Hilton Honors program while we were out and about. Room 430 was one of the best rooms we've had in a hotel. Plenty of outlets, including 2 IN the microwave. Had never seen this before. Each lamp/light had an outlet, and they also had a Power Port which had 2 USB outputs as well as 2 AC outlets. There was a nice sitting area and desk. Room was spacious and also had an ironing board which was handy.

Breakfast was different each day. Make your own waffles, omelets and hard boiled eggs and oatmeal were available. Danish, toast, juices and fruit rounded out a generous breakfast. Excellent selection of teas as well as 3 coffees in the lobby. Nice thing was the coffee/teas (including a couple of herbals) as well as cookies seemed to be available 24 hours a day. This was a nice touch to grab something hot as well as a treat when we got in from touring aside from plain water.

Only small hang-up was the shuttle. While they run it about every half hour, we had 12 in our party, which just about fills a shuttle. Getting tickets was tough as they only give them out right after the previous shuttle leaves and wouldn't give us a shuttle for just our group. Many, many quests wanted to go at 9:00. Had we known that there is free parking at the Kings Street lot on weekends, we would have driven over. There aren't a ton of spots there, but it seemed going around 9:00, about 3/4 of the lot was empty.

All in all, this was an excellent stay and we'd stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donutking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

As soon as we walked in we were greeted by a very friendly staff at the front desk. They have cookies out all day as well as coffee. The place is very clean and the rooms were nice. Breakfast was very good. They have a courtesy shuttle that operates between the King Street Metro station and the hotel, it is a ten to fifteen minute ride. From the King Street Metro it is easy and inexpensive to take the train/subway into DC. Since you are now in Old Town Alexendria you can walk around or take the free trolley operated by Alexandria to get further to the waterfront if you are not up for walking (it is a long walk maybe 45 minutes or so). All this free transportation is very convenient. One tip for the shuttle is that during crowded times in the morning the shuttle fills up. You have to get a pass and they are strict about when they give out the passes and is based on first come first served. This is a great place to stay and with the shuttle it is very convenient to get where you need to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My daughter and I do a fair amount of travelling and we were very excited about this particular trip to DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival. We have stayed in many Hampton Inns in the past, some better than others. This location was very average...just ok. The rooms were extremely clean and comfy. Breakfast was pretty good. Our biggest complaint was the noise from housekeeping!! Unfortunately we were on the first floor which is also where the housekeeping department is. Never encountered an arrangement like that before. Bright and early EVERY morning we were awakened by the housekeepers loud voices. They yelled down the hallways to each other!!! We felt as if we were staying in a basement since it is one level below the lobby. Did NOT like that at all!!! Late one night, we came into the lobby and were very surprised to hear three hotel employees standing around the front desk speaking badly about a hotel guest. This is very unacceptable. We will not stay at this location again for several reasons, but one of the main reasons is it's location. Although there is a shuttle to the nearest metro station, it is too far away. The hotel shuttle is supposed to run every half hour, yet upon arriving at the hotel the first day we had to wait 60 minutes to get a ride to the metro. At the opposite extreme, each morning guests are required to obtain a shuttle pass from the front desk 30 minutes before their desired departure. One morning we wanted to ride the 9:30am shuttle, so I went to the front desk at 8:55am to get our pass. The woman at the front desk told me to come back in 5 mins. Are you kidding?!!! I felt that the front desk was unfriendly; not rude, but just indifferent. Every question we asked, we felt as if they really didn't care and most of the time they didn't seem to even know the answer such as where to purchase a metro pass. I would think that anyone living that close to a metro station should know this. For anyone visiting the DC area, I recommend that you stay some place else.

Room Tip: If you decide on this hotel, do NOT stay on the first floor. Housekeepers' loud mouths will wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaissanceArtLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnecksville
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The room was very nice but was suppose to have check in at 2:00, was not ready until 5:00, breakfast was average, had a bunch of kids staying there, they ate breakfast and made a huge mess, no one every came to clean up the dining area, refills for the breakfast was very slow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2breakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Every thing was wonderful.The breakfast was exceptional. It was great to have the van to take us to the train and back or wherever we needed to go. the staff was most helpful and could not have been friendlier. They were always ready to give directions or anything we needed. The room was cleaned daily and anything we needed was always made available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Buckie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I chose this hotel at random and stayed there for one week. Nice rooms, above average breakfast, comp newspaper, comp shuttle, close to Metro and a computer center in the lobby. This place is excellent and priced reasonably. There is a gas station close by and a TGIFriday right down the street. I Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank bobb346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing