We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel is great I thought. This is my very first time in DC and I stayed here with employee rate since I couldnt find anything downtown so I figured I need a hotel that is easy access and this was it. Very close to the Metro line that will take you right into all the main places in Washington. Went to the restaurant inside the hotel for breakfast and it was great. All staff were great and helpful. Went to the USA basketball game and took the Metro back and easily and safely walked back to the hotel. It is a very safe area by the looks of it since its near a lot of office buildings so at night time you basically won't see anything strange. The rooms was very nice and the fitness ctr was great. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank west_coast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

The parking lot of this hotel is joined with the Metro lot, so it is very convenient if you're taking the Metro into DC or other sites in Alexandria. Staff was very friendly. Love love love the complimentary shuttle! One driver took my husband around to gas stations and stores looking for beverages. And they were very helpful in getting us to the airport when our train was cancelled and he had to rent a car!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorijreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I normally stay in Hilton Brand hotels or Marriott brands, rarely ever in a Holiday Inn. However, I am SO very glad I did. I chose this hotel on the last evening of the vacation for my daughter's senior trip, (just she and I), as it was within walking distance to the metro for the Dave Matthews Concert we were going to later that night in Bristow and the hotel also had a shuttle to DCA. Upon check in the staff, could not have been more personable and friendly. My check-in clerk suggested I sign up for their priority club rewards, which I agreed to do, even though I do not often stay with this chain. Upon doing so I received a coupon book for 20% off breakfast the next morning, which we used and enjoyed. The room was clean, comfortable, with modern decor. The shuttle driver was very quick and helpful getting us back to the airport the next morning. This hotel was nice and changed my mind about Holiday Inn's - however it is the STAFF that gives this hotel an excellent rating. They all went above and beyond to make us feel at home!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank layla_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Husband and I stayed here because a storm had knocked the power out at our house. Hotel was convenient because it was 15 minutes from our house. I am old enough to remember when Holiday Inn was a great hotel, which then declined before they took control of their franchisees.

It is clear that the hotel has been renovated and is very well appointed. The lobby is modern and comfortable as well as the restaurant, separate lounge, pool and fitness center. It was all very inviting. We had a room with 2 double beds with nice bedding, comfortable chair/ottoman and nice desk arrangement. They also offer free WIFI!

I was surprised to see that some of the other reviewers complained about the fact that it is surrounded on 2 sides by highways, because one does not have to cross the highways.

Even though we were not tourists, I think it is an excellent location for tourists because the subway is 1 block away as well as a very large multi-screen theater, and restaurants. I don't know what more people want?

The service was top notch and all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mai2centsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed here for a night before flying home. The hotel has a free shuttle to the airport. They will also take you to a nearby area where there are plenty of restaurants and shopping. The hotel has a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The place also has free WIFI and a pool. It was very convenient and the service was good. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were happy with our stay at this hotel.

PROS: easy check-in, free washer/dryer (great for those traveling with children), NICE pool, bar, cafe, FREE parking, FREE wifi. Oh, and they had the SPROUT channel, which was a big deal to my little one.

CONS: Can't really think of any except that they were booked and we couldn't rebook for an additional night :-(

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjbzmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We chose this hotel because it was very convenient to the Washington Metro (literally across the street). We planned to just sleep here and ride the Metro into Washington for days of sightseeing. We figured the Metro cost was less than the difference in price for hotels in Washington.
The hotel is surrounded by interstate highways and ramps. Construction is still underway and getting there was an adventure when the GPS led us to the Road Closed signs. But, once you determine how to get there, it was worth it. The hotel is clean and simple. Nothing special, but we were expecting simple.
The staff were above average. They were very helpful. The restaurant staff in particular were wonderful in putting up with our casual sense of schedule. The other staff met all our needs with a smile.
It turned out that the Metro idea didn;t work out as well as we expected. There was more walking involved than we planned. And less flexibility. We eventually just used our car to get into and out of town and arranged our schedule to avoid rush hours.
There is no simple way to get to the neighborhood stores and restaurants. The roads are definitely unfriendly for pedestrians.
Our grandchildren loved the pool. We had no trouble there.
They also loved the mausoleum in the parking lot. Not the usual adventure. An opportunity to talk about real life.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: £91 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing