We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great place to getaway. Spacious rooms with big windows for a great view; efficient computer workspace; very comfortable bed. Great food in Dutch's Lounge. Also within a couple of blocks walk to other good eating places like Delia's, Montana Ted's and Ruby Tuesday. Pleasant staff at the front desk and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi Dawn,

It sounds as though you were able to really experience everything our hotel and the surrounding area had to offer, from our guest rooms to the nearby restuarants. It is great to hear everything lived up to your expectations!

In this busy, hustle and bustle time we live in it isn't always easy to find a spare minute to leave feedback on a positive experience so please know we appreicate it very much when our guests do take that opportunity to do so. Please come and stay with us again when you are staying in the Alexandria area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Holiday Inn! The staff was very helpful, rooms were clean, & well appointed! This is a lovely suburb of DC! The location was perfect for us. We were right by a lot of excellent restaurants and the train was across the street. We bought a week long metro pass and used the train everyday to commute to DC!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cariepaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

It's true, how can you beat the ease of travel with everything so close to our hotel? With the metro, our free shuttle and the highway literally right outside of our lobby doors, each of our guests can be entertained for days while staying with us.

We are so glad to hear that you found this to be exactly true during your stay! Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Inn is nextdoor to the Eisenhower Avenue Metro Station on the Yellow Line. There is direct service to Regan National Airport and into the city with the first in-city stop at L'Enfant station.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. One staff member saw that my father was ill and overheard us discussing going to look for a pharmacy. The staff member offered to let us use the hotel shuttle bus to get to a pharmacy. This was a really appreciated gesture and a sign of a great staff.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Parking was free.

I recommend this hotel for folks looking for a less expensive hotel, near the metro, outside of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We do hope your father is feeling better after falling ill while he was here. These are the kind of comments we love hearing about our staff, thank you very much for taking the time to let us know that you were well taken care of during your visit.

Please do come and stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Alexandria area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great hotel....room was spacious and very clean. Loved the view too of downtown Alexandria. Near major roads and easy to get to tourist attractions like Mt Vernon. Also provided van services to various spots in the area so we would just call for them to pick us up and they were there in a matter of like 10 minutes! Only negative was the pool was not heated and no hot tub either.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbysundrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

No heat in the pool? Oh dear!! Our pool is designed to be a warm pool so thank you for bringing this to our attention, your comments have been heard and passed along to be followed up on. We recently added a fitness center to the building as an added feature to our hotel, there is nothing stopping us from adding an area that could hold a hot tub in the future so thank you for letting us know that is something you would like to see. Surely there are more of our guests who would find that to be an attractive feature at the end of a long day of site seeing in DC!

Please come and stay with us again soon, it is always a pleasure hearing from everyone who stays with us. We would love to have you as a guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Inexpensive hotel without a lot of frills but great breakfast buffet and a pool the kids loved after a lot of walking in the city. The hotel is walking distance to quite a few great restaurants and a few ships. The staff was very friendly and courteous greeting the kids by name at breakfast, very sweet. Convenient parking garage, all in all it was perfect as we were there so little due to the long days touring, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauimama71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We try our best to give our guests a little of everything while they are here. It sounds as though you were able to experience just that during your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments. The next time you're here, be sure to check us out on Facebook as we are constantly posting even more ideas of things to do (sometimes even free things) around Alexandria and the Metro region.

Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed here for three nights and enjoyed my stay. The hotel is fine, but not exceptional. The guest rooms could use some updating. The was fantastic, though. Every employee I encountered was friendly with two definite standouts. Ron at check-in and Alexis at the bar were both fantastic. I would certainly consider staying here again the next time I am in town. The location was convenient to my destination in N. Va, and the proximity to the Metro is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shockwave7_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you Shockwave! Ron and Alexis are both proven stars in our lineup and it obviously shows.

We look very forward to your return and please, do not hesitate to let us know before you return. We would be happy to go the extra mile to make your stay just that much more special the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel was everything we needed to explore Alexandria and DC. The rooms were just large enough for our family of four. They were spotlessly clean and maintained every day.

The staff at the hotel were all helpful and friendly and there was a fantastic free shuttle bus which took us to Alexandria Old Town and would go on to Ronald Reagan Airport.

The metro line is close enough to make travel to DC easy.

A great base!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chezcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

You really can't go wrong with everything so close to our hotel. With the metro, our free shuttle and the highway literally right outside of our lobby doors, each of our guests can be entertained for days while staying with us.

We are so glad to hear that you found this to be exactly true during your stay! Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: £91 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing