We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here last week during our trip to the D.C. area and were greatly satisfied. The public areas (lobby, restaurant & bar) were very modern and clean. The rooms were clean and well kept and the beds are very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. They have a daily breakfast buffet which has a good variety of foods and they have the best bacon I've ever had. They also have a guest washer/dryer onsite which is great as you don't have to pack as much. The location was the best part. It's about a 3 minute walk to the nearest metro station which was great because we didn't have a car. They also have a business centre across the street which has great restaurants and movie theatres. We will definitely choose this hotel during future stays to D.C.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We cannot wait to have you back! Come in the summer time and you can walk across the street to one of our favorite ice cream shoppes! All of the locals love it there!

See you soon-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    134
    64
    21
    18
See reviews for
112
59
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I went on a 3 day trip to Washington, D.C. With a group of my fellow journalists, this hotel is far from exceptional. I tested everyone's bed for bed bugs upon arrival and 3 of the 6 rooms tested positive! Besides that my room was not pleasant at all! The shower didn't drain properly and the bathroom door didn't lock. The only nice thing about this hotel was it's location it's no more than 10 minutes from any of the monuments-- there are plenty of other hotels in the area, I don't recommend this one!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springbreakvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
How disturbing to have found bed bugs in your hotel room! With all of the tourists and travelers that come through our doors, we have heard our fair share of stories from the hotels downtown. But knowing this, we have our hotel tested every six months and have not been positive for any such creatures in years.

We tend to stay outside of the immediate danger zone, being about a half an hour outside of DC and the monuments ourselves, but rest assured if we do get complaints of any bed bugs we take care of them right away.
We know that those pesky critters can travel on suitcases, on clothes and from anywhere in the world to take refuge in any hotel in the world, regardless of how clean it is. And they are hard to get rid of.

Next time you're in the DC area, please come out to Alexandria and stay with us instead- we are bed bug free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
199 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at this hotel while searching for an apartment in Alexandria/DC. Check in was easy and the staff was very friendly. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We grabbed a drink in the lounge, it was nice. The room was located near the ice machine and elevator, but we didn't hear much noise. Parking was pretty easy too. We drove in and left our car so that we could take the train around the rest of the time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lovetoroadtrip82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
DC is a wonderfu city to explore via the metro system and it's only getting better with the addition of the silver line in Tyson's corner. We are thrilled to hear you made such great use of it while you were staying with us. Free parking never hurt anyone and we are happy to help!

Welcome to DC and please think of us again if you are in need of a hotel. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay. Steps to the Metro. Wonderful staff, Wanda and Mo in the dining room. Comfy beds, choice of firm or soft pillows. Terrific breakfast. All the amenities. Will stay there again for sure. Thanks Holiday Inn..

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jersey-gyrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
And thank you for making us your choice of hotels! Please come and see us again in the very near future, we would love to have you back again. The two servers from the restaurant you mentioned will be hearing about the wonderful feedback you left!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Very adequate stay at this hotel conveniently located for flights from National Airport. Complimentary shuttle provided.

I will point out the excellent service at hotel restaurant and a very nice menu and reasonable prices.

Not particularly expensive and quite a good value for money.

Not found any convenience stores nearby, which wasn't a big problem at the time but I prefer such shops available nearby, which is a personal preference

Enjoy your stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hello German and thank you for staying with us before your flight to your next destination. We do hope you will visit us again the next time you are in town. Rumor has it we are getting more shops across the street so perhaps we will be able to offer you even more in the way of window shopping in the future!

Thank you again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here in the past and this stay was an improvement over the past stays. The location is good fir me because it is near family, close to a Giant grocery store and Trader Joes not to mention Old Town.

I asked for a quiet room and was given #100 near the lobby desk. It was spacious and quiet. Upon leaving I reported that the shower water was barely luke warm. They made a note and presumably it will be fixed.

I had one breakfast there. I was not impressed with the buffet and ordered from the menu. Waitstaff were friendly. In fact one waitress remembered me from 5 years ago.

I consider this a high end average because the hotel is a bit tired. The entry doors are not automatic which is a nuisance when you are pulling bags. It is clean and well located.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CAgirlqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We love hearing from our guests, even if they weren't actually staying at our hotel! Everyone is a guest when they stay at an IHG brand hotel and while we know which hotel you are referring to, unfortunately it was not the Holiday Inn on Eisenhower Avenue. Based on your description of the hotel front doors and the room number you gave, we can confidently say it was not our hotel- however we will gladly forward your review to the General Manager of that hotel so that they may learn from your feedback as well.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave your comments, they are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

For the most part, this is a good value. We especially appreciated the free shuttle (anywhere within a few miles radius) and the fact that the metro was 1 block away. Old Town is close and full of shops and restaurants.

Room: Beds are super high up but comfy. You get 2 soft pillows and 2 firm pillows, which is great, especially when you have the bed to yourself! There's a mini frig and microwave in the room which is helpful. We went to Whole Foods Market and got some groceries, since there is no continental breakfast. We did get room service for breakfast one morning, which was ok.

Bathroom: The ceiling is very low. There is no fan. The tub drained didn't drain very well. BUT the towels were large and fluffy and there were plenty of them.

Service: Any time I called the front desk, they were very pleasant and helpful. Especially Kim. I had called a few times before arriving with questions and I got to talk to her each time and she was so nice.

I was a little concerned with the hotel being so close to the freeway. We could hear traffic, but it was more of a hum. I put earplugs in at night (roommate snores!) so I didn't hear a peep.

While waiting for our shuttle home to the airport, there was a lady at the front desk (didn't catch her name, it was Tuesday, March 25 mid morning) she wasn't really friendly. I was inquiring about the shuttle that had pulled up. She said it wasn't our shuttle to the airport and that we wouldn't be leaving any time before 10am (in a very unfriendly tone). 15 minutes later, the driver said to us that the shuttle was ready for us (the same shuttle she had just told me was not ours) I didn't appreciate that snotty attitude. Otherwise, every other person was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatAnn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We often hear that the beds are a bit high, some guests have related them back to the feeling of being a kid having to jump into their bed! We do hope this wasn't too much of an issue in your case and are so glad to hear you enjoyed their comfort.

Thank for alerting us to the service you experienced at the front desk from one of our agents. We work very hard to ensure all of our employees are friendly, outgoing and make you feel like you are at home when you stay here. When someone strays from that we want to be sure to address it immediately and you can be sure that the appropriate department head will be notified of this feedback in order to resolve it to avoid future guests from having the same experience.

Please come back and stay with us again in the future and think of us the next time you are in the DC region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing