We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is just what you'd hope for from a moderately priced hotel. It's located just across the street from the Eisnehower Metro station (about a 5-10 minute walk given the position of the station and the length of the stop lights) and the parking is free so it was great choice for our vacation to DC. The hotel was clean, the staff efficient and friendly with bonus points for the staff in the restaurant who went out of their way to get us some "kids dine free" coupons for breakfast that the desk staff forgot to give us when we checked in. The pool and gym seemed nice, though we didn't use them. Each bed in our room came with 4 pillows and there were four set of towels in the bathroom which meant we didn't have to make an immediate call to housekeeping. I wish the beds had been queen not full size though. My only complaint is that the parking was difficult to find one evening when there was a banquet event and we had to park under the freeway and walk quite a distance with our sleepy kids. Still, I can't complain too much about free parking. We'd definitely stay here again the next time we make a quick trip to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We do get busy during some evenings as a result of banquets, it part as a result of our complimentary on-site parking but we are glad to hear you did find a spot. The next time you come and stay with us, just hop on the hotel shuttle and we will be happy to run you over to the metro and you can leave your car right where it is! We can also pick you right back up from the metro when you return!

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    136
    64
    22
    19
See reviews for
115
60
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over our spring break and absolutely loved the stay. The customer service was exceptional. The restaurant staff was warm and helpful especially Wanda and mo. The closeness to the metro and old town Alexandria was great. Their shuttle service even would drive us places due to the rain (Manny the driver) was very helpful and gave us good family friendly advice for restaurants and sights. Facilities were very good for what we expected. We would definitely stay again with our kids.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MilwaukeeTraveler365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Yes we love Wanda and Mo too! Their managers will absolutely be hearing about your comments! Come back again and let Manny drive you around wherever you wish to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longs, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My two teenage daughters enjoyed our stay here. The location of the hotel is great. The metro station is just across the road from the hotel, and we rode it into the city with no problems. Purchase a Smartrip card at the station, it's very easy to use. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance, although no drugstore or convenience store. If you want something quicker and cheaper for lunch or dinner, walk a little farther down Eisenhower Ave and there is a Subway restaurant. Also, the restaurant in the hotel had excellent food and the prices were very reasonable. The pool was nice and there was a lifeguard on duty. Now I want to say something about the bed bug review that was posted a few days ago. I don't know what "tested positive for bed bugs" means exactly. But I can say that the room was very clean. The mattresses and box springs encased in pristine white covers. I looked very closely at the beds and along the baseboards and saw no evidence of bugs when I checked in. This morning when we were packing to leave, I did see a small dead bug on the floor by the wall. I noticed when we were leaving that there was an exterminator spraying the hallway and a large hose running down the hall like they were cleaning carpets. So, in my opinion if there is a bug problem, they are taking care of it right away. I would stay here again. Location, free parking and free Wi-Fi made this hotel the right choice for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcoxSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments- we do listen to everything posted here! The next time you're in town and looking for a great place to eat, let our shuttle drivers take you down to King Street. There are tons of great, cheap and quick places to grab a bit there and you will love all the window shopping you can do. It's a quick little ride on our hotel shuttle too.

We appreciate your comments about everything and do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a great hotel for families wanting to visit the D.C. area but not deal with the traffic. The metro is just across the parking lot. The property offers free parking and kids eat free for all meals. You are close to everything including a great movie theatre in case of rain. Our room was clean and the housekeeping staff was awesome. We paid for a discounted breakfast rate when we booked. The breakfast buffet was just fine for us. It had all the usual suspects including a waffle station. It was a great way to kick our morning off. If i had to give one negative feedback it would be the pool area, or rather the lifeguards there. These girls were not friendly at all. We do have two small kids but we didn't let them jump, run or yell in the pool area but the lifeguards just sat with a glare on their faces. It really made us not want to swim. It was very oppressive feeling. There were a few other families swimming as well and we all exchanged looks about the lifeguard. It was the one thing that kept me from giving the hotel a perfect score because for the value it was a great match for our family. The dining staff was wonderful and the front desk staff was as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback, specifically with regards to the lifeguards at the pool. While we do hire these employees out from another company they still represent our hotel while they are on duty and you can rest assured that your comments will be directed to the appropriate manager immediately to resolve this. We want all of our guests to be able to enjoy every feature we have to offer at our hotel and to feel you could not enjoy the pool due to an unfriendly and oppressive atmosphere is unacceptable to us. It will be handled accordingly.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel in at least three occasions and and is very good to excellent. Rooms are vary clean and the staff is friendly. The location can not be beat as it is next to the Metro. Nice restaurant with a good breakfast buffet and friendly staff. On one occasion I used the hotel shuttle which was very convenient. The pool is nice and well maintained, Hotel does have some issue with outside cleanliness because trash can were overflowing. Hotel is starting to show its age. Over all not to bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USMCMSGTRET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
You're right, the hotel is an aging beauty but we like to think a beauty nonetheless and we are so happy to have loyal guests such as you continue to stay with us. We just celebrated the 45th year of this building as a Holiday Inn and couldn't be more proud!

Thank you for continuing to stay with us and we will aboslutely take your feedback to heart and strive to improve our performance each and everyday for guests like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here last week during our trip to the D.C. area and were greatly satisfied. The public areas (lobby, restaurant & bar) were very modern and clean. The rooms were clean and well kept and the beds are very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. They have a daily breakfast buffet which has a good variety of foods and they have the best bacon I've ever had. They also have a guest washer/dryer onsite which is great as you don't have to pack as much. The location was the best part. It's about a 3 minute walk to the nearest metro station which was great because we didn't have a car. They also have a business centre across the street which has great restaurants and movie theatres. We will definitely choose this hotel during future stays to D.C.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We cannot wait to have you back! Come in the summer time and you can walk across the street to one of our favorite ice cream shoppes! All of the locals love it there!

See you soon-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I went on a 3 day trip to Washington, D.C. With a group of my fellow journalists, this hotel is far from exceptional. I tested everyone's bed for bed bugs upon arrival and 3 of the 6 rooms tested positive! Besides that my room was not pleasant at all! The shower didn't drain properly and the bathroom door didn't lock. The only nice thing about this hotel was it's location it's no more than 10 minutes from any of the monuments-- there are plenty of other hotels in the area, I don't recommend this one!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springbreakvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
How disturbing to have found bed bugs in your hotel room! With all of the tourists and travelers that come through our doors, we have heard our fair share of stories from the hotels downtown. But knowing this, we have our hotel tested every six months and have not been positive for any such creatures in years.

We tend to stay outside of the immediate danger zone, being about a half an hour outside of DC and the monuments ourselves, but rest assured if we do get complaints of any bed bugs we take care of them right away.
We know that those pesky critters can travel on suitcases, on clothes and from anywhere in the world to take refuge in any hotel in the world, regardless of how clean it is. And they are hard to get rid of.

Next time you're in the DC area, please come out to Alexandria and stay with us instead- we are bed bug free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing