We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stayed at a bunch of Hotels in Washington DC suburbs for leisure trips to DC. I look for location (easy access to Metro), value, and quality or room and staff. This was my first stay at this Hotel, and it did not disappoint. I am a light sleeper, and the staff was helpful in confirming my room would be reasonably quiet upon checkin, and consistently friendly and helpful during my stay. The Hotel is withn a few minutes walking distance from the Metro. There are some eateries (including a Starbucks) also within short walking distance, as well as several fancy restaurants in Old Town, which is a short car ride away. The Hotel does run shuttles to Old Town, but we found it more convenient to drive.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Metro seemed quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avalok11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    130
    61
    19
    18
See reviews for
107
58
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel does a great job. They have a friendly staff who go above and beyond the call of duty. It is my home away from home when working in the DC area. The rooms are clean and the rooming blocks are done very good . Keep up the good work. Thank you holiday inn Alexandria.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis1952_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Our family met my college daughter here for a weekend together. She arrived early but was prevented from checking in to the room even though I had paid in full ahead of time. She waited in lobby for two hours until we arrived late due to DC traffic. The room was clean but a bit noisy. We could here most words spoken in adjacent rooms. The hotel is very close to a Metro stop. Easy Metro access is why we stayed here. Do not eat breakfast on site. It is bad. Cold buffet and tough snarly waitresses.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We understand and can sympathize with how frustrating it must have been after a long day of travel for your daughter to have not been able to check into your room that you knew to have been previously paid for. However, there are certain safety regulations that are in place for exactly that, our guests safety. If we can make a suggestion for future travels, it will allow you and your family to arrive and check-in a little more smoothly at this or the next hotel. Simply add your daughters name onto the guest room reservation and she will not have any issues.
Odds are, her name either wasn't on the reservation which means our front desk was simply following protocol and they are not allowed to check her into the room for your protection (you may know who she is, but our staff does not). Or we were full the night before and did not have a room ready to check her in to at the time of her arrival.

We do understand this process may be a bit inconvinient, however it truly is for your protection. It would be a fiasco if someone happened to get your itnerary and falsely checked in to your room before your arrival and our agents allowed this. It is simply a safeguard on our end to make sure that your reservation is checked in only by those listed on the reservation by name.

We do hope this extra information helps you for furture trips! After all, your satisfaction and enjoyment is what we truly want to ensure! Please do come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We chose this hotel primarily for its location near a DC Metrorail station (Eisenhower stop). It is, literally, only 1 block away so it was very convenient. We got in and out of DC everyday without any glitches. For those of you who had never ridden the DC Metro before (like us), after 1 ride, the route system was simple to understand. Recommendation: Buy the plastic fare card if you are going to use the Metro for more than a day. Paper fare cards are more expensive per trip. For a family of 4, we spent $40 in fare for a trip to the National Zoo. Still, it was still less expensive than if we would have had to park in DC and certainly not as convenient, considering the traffic getting around DC. There is barely any wait in between trains (5 mins or so).

Location of hotel: Felt safe to walk around the area, even at night. There is a movie theater and some restaurants just across the street. Recommendation: Ted's Montana Grill. Not cheap, but food and ambience were excellent. This is a resto we would go back to if we are in the area again. We parked our car right in front of the hotel, where it stayed the whole time we stayed (FREE parking).

Front desk: Polite and efficient. We were very pleased that they let us check in early (around 1:30 PM). Also, on one rainy day, they let us borrow 2 umbrellas so we could still go to the Smithsonian museums.

Rooms: Pretty small for a family of 4. The bathrooms were cramped but the actual shower/tub area is sufficiently-sized. We were pleased that the rooms & bath were VERY clean. Housekeeping staff were good and had left us extra coffee and tea when we requested.

Noise: This hotel is right beside a highway. However, the noise was minimal. Unless we paid special attention to it, we never even noticed the traffic noise. We specifically asked for a quiet room away from the common areas and they had honored our request. We are light sleepers and noise was not an issue for this stay. We got an odd-numbered room on the 9th floor (out of 10 floors).

Fitness room: Sufficient and clean. They had a few cardio machines and lots of free weights.

Indoor pool: This is another of our must-haves b/c our kids love to swim. They used the pool every night. It was open from 3 PM to 10 PM with a lifeguard. The lifeguard on duty on 4/15 & 4/16 did not tolerate rough-housing from a bunch on teenagers and made sure that the younger kids were not bothered, which we appreciated for our 6-yr-old's sake.

Hotel restaurant: We ate dinner at the hotel resto the one night it rained. It was nothing special but the convenience made up for it. Our favorite was the fries, hot and crunchy. Recommendation: Get a voucher for a free meal for the kids. Dinner kids meal is advertised as a little less than $5. But they also advertise that Kids Eat Free. I don't know why the voucher is needed.

Hotel breakfast: I have heard not-so-good reviews about the breakfast here, but I have to say, our experience with breakfast was EXCELLENT For an extra $6 tagged on to our stay per night, our family of 4 were able to eat breakfast. What a great deal! Adults get a hot buffet while the kids get to order from a kids menu. Everyday we had bacon, eggs, sausage, waffles, fruits, cereal, etc. Breakfast staff was so warm and friendly. Our favorite was Mobarek, who gave us extra attention and hospitality.

So, we will definitely stay here again. Worth the price and convenience.

Room Tip: Don't know how it is on the even side, but we had an odd-numbered room on the 9th floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We couldn't have asked for a nicer, more well rounded review from any of our guests. Thank you very much for all of your feedback and we look forward to your return in the near future! Please, let us know in advance when you are coming back so we can make your next stay even more memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is just what you'd hope for from a moderately priced hotel. It's located just across the street from the Eisnehower Metro station (about a 5-10 minute walk given the position of the station and the length of the stop lights) and the parking is free so it was great choice for our vacation to DC. The hotel was clean, the staff efficient and friendly with bonus points for the staff in the restaurant who went out of their way to get us some "kids dine free" coupons for breakfast that the desk staff forgot to give us when we checked in. The pool and gym seemed nice, though we didn't use them. Each bed in our room came with 4 pillows and there were four set of towels in the bathroom which meant we didn't have to make an immediate call to housekeeping. I wish the beds had been queen not full size though. My only complaint is that the parking was difficult to find one evening when there was a banquet event and we had to park under the freeway and walk quite a distance with our sleepy kids. Still, I can't complain too much about free parking. We'd definitely stay here again the next time we make a quick trip to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We do get busy during some evenings as a result of banquets, it part as a result of our complimentary on-site parking but we are glad to hear you did find a spot. The next time you come and stay with us, just hop on the hotel shuttle and we will be happy to run you over to the metro and you can leave your car right where it is! We can also pick you right back up from the metro when you return!

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over our spring break and absolutely loved the stay. The customer service was exceptional. The restaurant staff was warm and helpful especially Wanda and mo. The closeness to the metro and old town Alexandria was great. Their shuttle service even would drive us places due to the rain (Manny the driver) was very helpful and gave us good family friendly advice for restaurants and sights. Facilities were very good for what we expected. We would definitely stay again with our kids.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MilwaukeeTraveler365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Yes we love Wanda and Mo too! Their managers will absolutely be hearing about your comments! Come back again and let Manny drive you around wherever you wish to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longs, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My two teenage daughters enjoyed our stay here. The location of the hotel is great. The metro station is just across the road from the hotel, and we rode it into the city with no problems. Purchase a Smartrip card at the station, it's very easy to use. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance, although no drugstore or convenience store. If you want something quicker and cheaper for lunch or dinner, walk a little farther down Eisenhower Ave and there is a Subway restaurant. Also, the restaurant in the hotel had excellent food and the prices were very reasonable. The pool was nice and there was a lifeguard on duty. Now I want to say something about the bed bug review that was posted a few days ago. I don't know what "tested positive for bed bugs" means exactly. But I can say that the room was very clean. The mattresses and box springs encased in pristine white covers. I looked very closely at the beds and along the baseboards and saw no evidence of bugs when I checked in. This morning when we were packing to leave, I did see a small dead bug on the floor by the wall. I noticed when we were leaving that there was an exterminator spraying the hallway and a large hose running down the hall like they were cleaning carpets. So, in my opinion if there is a bug problem, they are taking care of it right away. I would stay here again. Location, free parking and free Wi-Fi made this hotel the right choice for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcoxSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments- we do listen to everything posted here! The next time you're in town and looking for a great place to eat, let our shuttle drivers take you down to King Street. There are tons of great, cheap and quick places to grab a bit there and you will love all the window shopping you can do. It's a quick little ride on our hotel shuttle too.

We appreciate your comments about everything and do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing