We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to complain at price, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Hard to complain at price, but...”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

What's with the double beds? I love that it gives more space in the room, but even changing to 2 queens wouldn't give up that much space. I am 6' tall as is my husband, so we just don't fit comfortably together in double beds. So, I slept diagonally in mine so my feet were still on the bed & my husband slept in the other.

Staff at check in was very nice, I used valet parking although I am not sure what the cost of that will be when I go to check out later this morning. It's close to everything in Old Town & well-kept. I would recommend it, but I would see about getting a king room if you like sleeping in a bed that has some space in it other than a room that has space (if that makes sense).

I also booked this on hotwire for $100 - so a really nice price for this hotel.

Room Tip: we were in an odd numbered room which is on the King Street side of the hotel. There was a little bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethAnnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear BethAnnP,

Thank you for the feedback! I'm sorry for the inconveinces due to the bed size. Next time, we will get you in one of our deluxe King Rooms where we have oversized King Beds that are even longer than standard, tons of room to stretch out!

Thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    477
    122
    42
    22
See reviews for
419
638
106
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alicante, spain
Level Contributor
148 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Huge comfortable rooms (two double beds? I should get used to American hotels, but even with two beds there was more than enough room to feel at ease). Great helpful staff (a reservation error meant that I was booked to stay more nights than I was actually there- this was dealt with professionally and very nicely by the staff), a friendly welcome every time you step through the door, free bike hire (do it- Alexandria is nice and flat) and free wine (free wine? Yes, you read right…) The only downside may be the size of the place- the maze of carpeted hotel corridors may remind you of the Overlook Hotel from The Shining...

Room Tip: Seems quiet throughout. But Alexandria is not exactly noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grooverjlazerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear grooverjlazerus,

Thank you for the kind words and really glad to hear the staff recovered well on our error in your reservation. Not sure there are really any comparisons to The Shining to be made here?! But that's the great thing about social media, everyone is free to express their opinion!

Thanks for taking the time to share yours, and we do hope that you will come back!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

If your traveling with your canine this is your spot. If you don't enjoy being in a hotel that smells, sounds, feels like a kennel, not for you. First room we were assigned had a urine smell and one small window . The desk staff says" oh yeah, after a rain the top floor gets a smell to it" nice! Ok, so they move us . Next room is great has a fishbowl w a goldfish for the kids. Maybe include some food for said fish. Cause the next day it perished , flush funeral. During our stay they rented the pool to a party of unruly ten year olds , we were allowed to use the shallow end while 20 ten year olds played in the deep end. Another nice! Get that$ kimpton!
Upon checking out was told our parking was 24$ a day. When checking in I was told 12 for over night parking , I assumed that meant the day too ( my bad) . Not that I care about 12 dollars , it's deceit that's enraged me. Just tell people 24$ upfront. Like I'm gonna get the van out at daybreak to save $, um nope.

Location is great, not a 4 star hotel. Not worth 200$ a night. More like 100$. Just saying
I definitely will ask about pet policy from now on , thanks

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddieob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear LeeROY BROWN,

Thank you for staying with us on your trip to the Washington, D.C. area, and for taking the time to share your comments here. I apologize for the odor in your first room and the poor response by our team, we will certainly address both concerns internally.

It would have been nice to have had the chance to organize that impromptu party in the pool, but unfortunately, those guests left us out of the planning process too! I know that our team went up there to address it as soon as we were made aware however.

Sorry for the confusion on parking rates as well, our overnight parking is $25 per night which covers you for a 24 hour period. For day use up to 6 hours only (used mostly by locals) it is $10. We will make sure to communicate this better next time.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Sometimes if you're at a mediocre or borderline hotel, the staff can make the experience much more pleasant. Or conversely, the staff at this hotel managed to take mediocre and convince me I don't ever want to come back.

The hotel isn't awful. No coffee maker in the room, no armchair to sit and read in. a mini bar and fridge filled with their items (an expensive) so no room to put your own drink or fruit. The room has a sickly sweet potpurri smell when you enter - I saw a maid spraying something over the carpets when I walked past an open door - but you get used to it. Beds are ok - bathroom is large and roomy. Internet is charged (unless you're a Loyalty member) - solidly in the mediocre level.
But when I arrived the desk personnel were sort of cordial but seriously disinterested. I needed to print one page of directions, so I went in search of the Business Center. Badly marked, but I found it. $7.95 for 15 minutes to use the computer. Did I mention I'm a member of the Loyalty Club? Makes no difference. After ten minutes of trying to figure this out, I went to the desk. Their response - without even a pretense of being interested - was to direct me to a Staples about three long blocks away. When I noted for the record that I have seldom been in a hotel that charged $7.95 to print one page, I was told I could email them my page and they would print it. Of course, that would involve using the computer at $7.95 for 15 minutes.
I ended up writing out the directions by hand.
At that point I was not about to spend money at their restaurant and found a GREAT burger joint. My feelings about this place were such that I even skipped the wine tasting in the lobby. The place has a great location - they just need different people.

Room Tip: Try another hotel? If you are committed to this place, go up, since street noise does come through f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhinoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear RhinoJohn,

Thank you for your business, and for taking the time to share your feedback here. I'm very sorry that we left you with this impression and that we didn't find a quicker and easier solution for your request to have an item printed.

We have a great team here and I know that they can provide you with the level of service that would make you rate this hotel as excellent, you're right that the people make the difference and this team can show you what we are capable of! We would very much like another opportunity to serve you in the future if you are willing to give us another try.

Please email me at your convenience at matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com if I may be of assistance to you.

Thank you again,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We will return to this hotel...absolutely! We were greeted by a warm and friendly front desk. We were a few minutes early and were treated to complimentary drinks in the restaurant while we waited (they also checked our bags). We didn't even need to check on our room as they came and found us when it was ready. Then came one of the best parts....the room! We were upgraded to a huge suite with a dream bathroom! The room was quiet, extremely clean, and very comfortable. We loved the decor...one of our favorite things about Kimptons. It's funky, eclectic, comfortable and non intimidating. We mentioned that we were celebrating the upcoming birth of our child and the room was set with candles, music, chocolate covered strawberries, sparkling cider, baby lotion, and cards from the staff! Cheers to you Kimpton for a very memorable stay!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slp2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear slp2003,

Thank you for staying with us and congratulations on the coming baby!! Great to hear the staff did a wonderful job helping you celebrate!

Take care and bring the baby back with you next year!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from a 11/1/13-11/3/13 stay at this hotel.
The pluses: Nice hotel with well appointed rooms. Wine hour in the lobby is a nice touch. Good central location for exploring Alexandria. Staff was all incredibly nice and helpful. Made my young daughter feel special with a fish in the room and her own large chalkboard (with a welcome message) to play with.
The minuses: Repeated issues with the television, though the staff was responsive in addressing the problems. Constant and loud hallway noise, though this is likely because our room was directly on the path to get to the pool. Don't anticipate this being a problem if you ask not to be on that stretch of the 3rd floor. While central for Alexandria, those not familiar with DC should be aware that it is a cab or Metro ride to the main downtown DC attractions. Not a huge deal, just be aware. While going over my credit card statement I noticed an extra charge a few days after our stay. Called to see what it was for and was charged for a razor and shaving cream from the minibar we did not use (it is worth noting that they will provide these items to you for FREE if you just call and ask, so we certainly had no reason to take these items). Annoying to have to address, but to their credit they did remove the charge when I called.

Overall, a very nice property and we would definitely consider staying here again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators and off the route to the pool for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear TeamG2010,

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your feedback here. We really apprecaite the kind words about the staff, and I am glad to hear they fixed our error in billing although I am sorry it happened in the first place.

Enjoy your travels and please make us part of your plans in the future!

Thank you,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Have stayed here twice and really enjoyed both trips. The location is great - just on the Alexandria 'High Street' with lovely bars and shops within the immediate vicinity, and you can take an enjoyable run down to the riverside area. The staff, the service and the food is of a consistently high standard - the crab cake breakfast was a memorable favourite for me. I would suggest it is suitable for all types of travellers and would use it for business or families.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Mark S,

What a great review and recommendation, thank you very much! Appreciate your business and we do hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,232 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing