We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and decor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location and decor!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Here for just two nights and could not be more happy with the Location. The rooms and lobby look just like the pictures. Haven't had a chance to try the restaurant for food, but the cocktails were great! Hotel Monaco seems like the perfect place to stay in Old Town!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RLN723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Robyn N,

Thanks for trying us out!! Hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay as much as you did the start!!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    480
    122
    43
    22
See reviews for
421
641
108
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Hotel Monaco was the perfect place to stay in the heart of Old Town. The hotel is lovely, rooms clean and modern. I've never been to a hotel where there were dogs in the lobby almost all the time - it is extremely satisfying to stay at such a quality hotel that treats dogs as a member of the family and does not charge extra for them. Old Town is lovely and the Monaco is in an excellent location, close to shops restaurants, parks, etc. I do need to warn dog owners who have dogs that are particular about needing grass to do their business that there are no grass areas right by the hotel, but there are several parks within a few blocks of the hotel that are quite nice.

Green Features: The hotel has separate garbage and recycling containers both in the guest rooms and common areas. They also give guests the option of not laundering sheets and towels every day in order to save energy.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear FranC-NJ,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share these wonderful comments. I'm really glad you felt at ease with your dog here, and that the location worked out so well for you.

Please come back soon!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We've stayed at the Hotel Monaco four of the past five years during the winter holiday break. Every stay has been wonderful. The hotel staff is always kind and helpful, the rooms are nice and clean, and the location is perfect (including the public parking lot a block away). If you're staying here with kids there's an indoor pool, which can be especially helpful on a cold winter day. And the goldfish in the room was a nice touch for the kids, as well. In addition, the hotel runs a shuttle up to the Metro station. Lots of nice shops and restaurants along King Street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skgbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear skgbos,

Thank you so much for making us a part of your family tradition! It's great to know that your whole famil enjoys the hotel and the amenities we have to offer, such as the indoor pool.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Safe travels and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landisville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Just returned from a wonderful overnight stay. We had the King Premier with the large tub. (room 501) Loved the size. Not a great view but no problem. We had the pup with us. They had a bowl and bed set in the room. Efficient check in and valet parking. Great wine reception at 5pm in the lobby . Met some wonderful people and very well behaved pups. Our bed was so cozy and the room was so quiet. I did not hear a thing and I am a light sleeper. (we had requested a quiet location.) Loved the ambiance of the hotel and their Christmas decorating. Felt so happy!!! Enjoyed Alexandria on an amazingly warm day (74 degrees!) Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We loved the King Premier room (501) No major view but very quiet. We could see some of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Connie06,

Thank you for staying with us! I can't guarantee that you will hit a 70 degree day in December here that often, but I do feel confident that you will enjoy the hotel and the service from the staff!

Glad that you experienced both this time, and look forward to your next visit.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Attended a wedding here in Aug 2013, very nice hotel w/ good accommodations. Lot's to do within walking distance, tons of restaurant options, many unique boutiques and shops, and attractions to see - 10-15 min drive or cab ride to D.C.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GothamCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear GothamCityTraveler,

Thanks for staying with us! And I should say thanks to your family/friends for getting married here so that you did!

Come back on your own anytime!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Located in old Alexandria, the hotel is walking distance from many attractions and (more importantly) restaurants.
Kimpton service is fantastic - friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable staff.
Room was very comfortable. I normally don't sleep well in hotels, but for some reason I got a great night sleep every one of the three nights I spent there.
Gym is small, but modern, and if you like to swim there is a large heated indoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Naom Z,

Thanks for making us your hotel choice in Old Town Alexandria! We very much appreciate your business, and the wonderful comments here regarding your stay.

Glad that the location worked out great for your needs!

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Last year, my husband and our children stayed at the Hotel Monaco during the Scottish Christmas Walk. The hotel fell short when we attempted to use the pool because it was unbearably cold. This year we stayed again for the same reason. Thankfully, the pool was well heated. Yes, the decor doesn't mesh well with Old Town charm, but it was nonetheless festive for the season. If you plan to stay here for any holiday, make reservations well in advance. Another thing to keep in mind, this is a dog friendly hotel. The biggest compliment I can give is that the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the set of elevators for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Shawn M,

Thank you for coming back to give us a second try! I'm glad that the pool worked out well for you this year, and really appreciate the kind words about the staff - they truly are the best!

Have a great New Year's and we will save a spot for you next December!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,250 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,398 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing