We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goldfish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Goldfish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

An outstanding hotel located in downtown Alexandria. Near great restaurant, Grape and Bean! Hotel has the best tubs, Fuji soaking, in a few rooms. Absolutely the best after a long day of sightseeing. Had a little trouble with the website, so only 4 stars.

Room Tip: Choose Fuji tub room. More expensive but good for a tired traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    467
    112
    40
    21
See reviews for
411
632
102
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NRH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed a few days (and nights!) at Monaco in Alexandria, VA when I was there for a meeting in March, 2014. Great location! Minutes from Reagan National Airport. The very convenient shuttle from the hotel picked me up and took me back to the airport. Many great restaurants with in easy walking distance of the hotel. I did not eat at the restaurant at the hotel, but it was often packed and had a waiting line. This hotel was great for a meeting, but would be also great for a romantic interlude from a busy life. Plenty of shopping nearby and easy access to Washington, D. C. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms very clean. This is an older property in a premium location, so the rooms are kind of small, but I did not think it subtracted from the experience at all. Bed very comfortable. Quiet. I slept great!! Wine happy hour is a great touch! I would go back in a minute!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBig08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

While I loved staying in the old brick Holiday Inn on King Street as a teen, the 'new' Monaco is even better, with very helpful and friendly staff, easy check-in/out, and large rooms! Ask for one with a balcony overlooking the courtyard.. the wrought iron table set is a great place to enjoy morning coffee and a newspaper. The location is my favorite in Old Town Alexandria, as it affords easy access to great restaurants and shops. CVS pharmacy is right across the street, which is really handy. With free shuttle pick-up from Reagan National, it is a true gem!

Room Tip: 341 had a great balcony and a large king bed. The cushy chaise was great to stretch out on for read...
See more room tips
Green Features: I stay at Kimpton Hotels in part because of their commitment to the environment and to animals.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
241 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautifully appointed room with contemporary furnishings and decor. Our room had a large jacuzzi in an all-white marble bathroom and dimmed lighting which I love. Turn down service with chocolates , balcony with bistro table, comfy sitting area , excellent service. This is in the heart of shopping and dining. Valet parking available.

One warning , however. The 5th floor room we had was below the a/c equipment for the hotel and could be heard during the night. We'd request another floor next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed two nights at this hotel that was a great location in Alexandria. Located a few blocks from the pier where we boarded a boat to Mt. Vernon. Great selection of restaurants on King Street! Take a walk in any direction in the historic district of Alexandria to see homes that have not changed for 250 years. Great beds and quiet rooms ours had a balcony. The bathroom has a huge two person hot tub.

The only negative was the shower tile grout that needs to be replaced. Overall a great place to stay. The restaurant in the hotel has good breakfast. A French cafe across the street is good too.
Staff was friendly but the lobby coffee is not ready until 7:00 am but free and worth the wait.

This is a pet friendly hotel which for dog lovers is fine but a bit over the top for me. No issues with the room but people that eat outside on the sidewalk and bring their dogs are too much. It seems like everyone has a dog or two walking around Alexandria. Many businesses along King Street including the Monaco have water bowls outside on the sidewalk by the front door. The dog thing is everywhere in Alexandria but was not an issue for us just a bit annoying.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms do not have balconies but do have dormers.
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels in the bathroom was the only thing I saw about the environment
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Perfect combination of ideal location in the heart of old town and direct access to all shopping & restaurants, great design & atmosphere, and right size hotel with all needed amenities - we especially appreciated the loaner bikes, and cruised up & down along the Potomac River to Mt vernon and the Mall. Definitely one of our fav hotels!

Green Features: Not that it matters for us, but the hotel is Pet friendly
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalvadoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Only good things can be said about our anniversary/vacation experience at this hotel. We had a beautifully decorated room with a small balcony overlooking the courtyard - wonderful for sipping coffee on cool mornings. The room itself was larger than most DC area hotel rooms and was furnished somewhat eclectically. The bed and linens were very comfortable. The bathroom was large, but not overly convenient for two people trying to get dressed at the same time (only one sink and a small vanity).

Our room was located directly next to the ice machine. I was worried about noise, but after 4 nights, I can honestly say our room was very quiet with no ice machine or hallway noise.

The wine hour was very pleasant! We had a chance to chat with others also on vacation and were able to compare notes about restaurants and local attractions.

The staff was wonderful! We were especially impressed with the bell staff and valet parking. Also, even though the hotel was booked solid the entire time we were there, the front desk did everything possible to make our anniversary a special one!

The hotel's location is excellent - we were right in the middle of everything Old Town has to offer! Just minutes walking distance to the water front and historical attractions, great restaurants all around, and even a fantastic farmer's market is located right on the corner on Saturday mornings.

Overall, the trip was excellent and we will stay at Hotel Monaco during future trips in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suslew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing