We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay - Still Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is our second stay at Hotel Monaco in Old Town Alexandra, and I'm pretty sure we will not stay at any other hotel when visiting this area. The staff is extremely friendly - and yes, that includes family friendly. The rooms are pristine and have all the amenities. It is perfectly located in old Town with an easy walk to both the pier and the metro station. This is a Kimpton Hotel, and they obviously have a great sense of how to run a successful hotel chain.

Room Tip: You can get a great rate on this hotel at many of the travel websites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpirrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was my third stay this year and it gets comfier and cozier on each visit. Welcoming staff, not huge but spacious room, great shower and a really great location. Plus this trip I stayed next door to two moms and their young girls who were having a girl's weekend. They asked me to take a picture of the group in their matching leopard print robes. Who wouldn't be charmed by a bunch of 4 to 6 year olds in brown leopard skin plush robes? Maybe best of all there is a Starbucks within walking distance of the hotel whether you walk out of the hotel and turn left or right.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKCokiedokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding and was reminded how great the Klimpton Hotels are. All details kept up to perfection. Comfortable, great room with all amenities. The wedding was held at the hotel. It turned out to be DURING A HURRICANE, and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nb500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed three nights at the Monaco at the start of our holiday in the US and couldn't have asked for a better location. Easy walking distance to the waterfront, where we took a boat to Georgetown one day and a water taxi to the National Harbour another. Also convenient for the metro into DC.
Also close to great shoos and restaurants.
Slightly quirky decor, but our room was excellent, ax was breakfast in their next-door restaurant. Front desk staff didn't always acknowledge us when we came in, despite it not being busy. I would definitely recommend the Monaco to anyone looking for a base to enjoy this lovely old town and the DC area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed in a king deluxe room third floor. It was spacious as was the bathroom, fell in love with the colour, vibrancy and décor of this hotel - matched by friendly efficient service. I note some other reviewers talk about an odour - there was none when I stayed. The room itself was very quiet, the only noise I heard was from the child in the room next door - this can't be helped really, if children have a tantrum the sound does tend to carry through walls! I'm a light sleeper so having a quiet room was excellent. The place had a friendly vibe amongst guests and the lobby area was fabulous; great when meeting friends. The location couldn't be better. There is a starbucks a few steps away, a French café (Café Madeline) and the boutique shops around the area are terrific. We had a divine meal at the Colombia Firehouse, a 3 minute walk away, highly recommend. Very close to Washington DC. If I go back to Washington I'll stay at old town Alexandria - it is very pretty and I loved the laid back friendly vibe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luvyrlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am a fan of the Kimpton hotels but this one fell short. As always, the decor is fun and interesting. The staff are great. The bed and pillows - fantastic. Now for the not so great stuff. There are many reviews referencing the smell - it's real - there's definitely an odor. It's an old building - which I understand may contribute - but there must be a remedy. The yogurt at the Palomar (DuPont Circle) is amazing - the Monaco was more like regular store vanilla - disappointing. The coffee delivered by room service was awful - I was promptly brought another pot only to realize the coffee from room service isn't great. The location and price were excellent - next visit, I will bring my room spray.

Room Tip: Room 633 has a very small window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creedAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Location, location, location. The Hotel Monaco is right on King Street in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, with lots of good restaurants and ships as well as the Alexandria waterfront within a few blocks. We got a good mid-week rate on a room, which is well-appointed, quiet, and comfortable. They have complimentary wine tastings from 5 - 6 each evening. Valet parking (and self-parking is fairly expensive @ $27/day. If you're budget-conscious (and not on expense account) it might be worth scoping out nearby public parking lots, several of which are nearby. And for reasons that escape me, but that seems to be the norm for more upscale hotels, there's a surcharge for wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,310 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £107 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing