We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The level of service at this hotel is the equal of hotels many times more expensive than the Morrison House. From a telephone call telling us that we had left a garment bag in car (and would we like it brought up from the garage) to giving us the option of an upgraded room near the elevator or a quieter standard room at the end of a corridor, there was an unobtrusive and professional level of attention paid to us during our visit. The hotel is just 50 yards from King Street, the main restaurant and shopping street in Old Town Alexandria, along which runs a free trolley that can take you either to the Metro train and thus into DC or to the waterfront. The room was nicely furnished, a decent size, and the bathroom immaculate. There is a beautiful lounge on the first floor, with complimentary coffee in the morning. The bartender knows what he is doing and although some people might not care for the piano music, it was fine with us. One thing missing is a fitness center, but apparently there are arrangements with local gyms available. One reason we prefer to stay in Alexandria rather than DC is that in DC hotels it's hard to avoid the sound of police and ambulance sirens at night wherever you stay, whereas Alexandria is relatively quiet. We would stay again at this property without hesitation.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny_kent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerKateEllis, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Dannykent,

Thank you for your kind comments of our staff. It is this level of service that you experienced that has kept us as a local favorite for many years! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cheers,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    132
    42
    19
    14
See reviews for
89
332
61
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have been a regular customer at the Morrison House since 1997. Although I am a native to the DC Area, I live in Ohio. I am at the hotel about six-twelve nights a year. If you know the DC area you know that it is a veritable snarl of traffic. Staying at Morrison House is a respite from the chaos with 1) easy access to the Metro 2) close proximity to downtown DC and National Airport, not to mention the Pentagon -- much better than fighting the beltway or 395. 3) Excellent Prices/Value given the superior service and cleanliness of the hotel 4) Perfect spot in Old Town for sight-seeing, having a weekend get-away or going to Mt. Vernon. The staff goes out of their way to be kind and considerate. They are known to provide extra help if you are in a crisis and to make your stay peaceful when everything else seems chaotic. You will love the rooms and the clean, white bedding. I suffer from allergies and Morrison House keeps things up to standards that make it a good place to stay for me. I should also mention that the hotel is beautiful, elegant and the food is delectable. If you haven't been here you should go -- you will love it!!! Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! It's a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipercub2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerKateEllis, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Piperclub2012,

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to Morrison House. I'm so glad to hear that after all these years our team still provides you with a kind, comfortable experience. We appreciate you spreading the great news! Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly next time you are coming to town if I can be of any assistance.

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A lovely hotel with helpful staff and beautiful rooms, but definitely none of the funky design and style touches of other Kimptons. Left me feeling a bit flat. Perfect hotel for the 70-something crowd....

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JenSavPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias A, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear JenSavPat,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and the great feedback about our staff and hotel. It's true our style is a bit different from the usual Kimpton, but we're happy to be a quiet, comfortable hotel in the heart of Old Town, still offering the same Kimpton amenities.

We hope to see you in Alexandria at a Kimpton again very soon.

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

and stay somewhere else! If you are anywhere near Alexandria, Virgina and don't stay at the Morrison House, you are missing out on a fantastic experience. Whether it's Jose who greets you at the door each day, Raymond who serves a wonderful breakfast with joy or Nathan creating his artistry at the bar, you will certainly never forget your stay at the Morrison House.

Steps away from King Street shopping, restaurants (should you want to try something else) and an easy commute to Washington, the Morrison House is a must!

Room Tip: I'd suggest room 512 but I don't want you in there when I want it. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias A, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Gerry B,

Don't worry, I won't tell anyone else about room 512 either, it's a personal favorite of mine, too! Please let usknow the next time you are in town, and we'll do everything we can to get you that same great room.

Best,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I stayed while passing through DC recently. The hotel is situated on a quiet back street off of King Street. The rooms are appointed with older style furniture that has its own charm. Everything has a bit of a "worn" look. The staff is very courteous and attentive, but I don't think we will stay here again. The walls are a bit thin and you can hear the elevator very clearly. We opted for the deluxe suite only to find that it was right beside the elevator and there was nothing we could do to change rooms. Being an old style bed, you will feel every move and turn from your partner, so your rest will be a challenge. If you are a Kimpton member, recommend you go up the street to either Lorien Spa or Monaco. This is not to say that we were dissatisfied with the stay, but it is not a place we will likely revisit. Their restaurant is quite good and should not be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alleydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias A, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear alleydw,

Thank you for your feedback. While we are glad to hear you were satisfied and enjoyed your dinner in The Grille, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy a restful night in our deluxe suite. Please feel free to contact me directly next time you come to visit as I would be happy to personally arrange any details to make you feel most comfortable and at home: tobias.arff@morrisonhouse.com.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at the Morrison House for one night during a visit to Alexandria. The location is very convenient, located a few steps from the heart of King Street. The room was clean and comfortable, especially enjoyed the comfortable bed. Having stayed at a few other hotels in Alexandria, I will choose the Morrison House for any future visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinedaydream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias A, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear sunshinedaydream,

Thank you for you note of appreciation since you most recent visit to Alexandria. We'll be happy to host you again on any future visits, comfortable bed included!

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and the room was clean but you could hear every noise in the hallway with people coming and going. Perhaps because they had a wedding each night it was noisier than usual. We also didn't find the staff were very friendly, or that service was special. We've had much better service at other hotels. The location is convenient though, can walk around to many shops/restaurants.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vtpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias A, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear vtpsu,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us during the holidays. While we want everyone to eat, drink and be merry, it's not always appropriate for this to happen all hours of the day. Please do feel free to let the staff know how we can help to make you more comfortable on your next visit, it is why we are here.

Best,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison House, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, Autograph Collection

Property: Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Address: 116 S Alfred St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3002 (Formerly Morrison House)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, Morrison House, Autograph Collection is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named Morrison House, Autograph Collection one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation's capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. On-site restaurant, Ashlar, named as a nod to Alexandria's rich Masonic history, is a warm and timeless spot with polished, engaging hospitality and a well-appointed bar room. Under the helm of Chef Bobby Surdam the kitchen offers tavern classics rooted in the bounty of the Mid-Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morrison House, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing