We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just off the well beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just off the well beaten path”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

There are so many hotel options available in the DC metro area, sometimes it is a challange to make a good choice. On our last trip to the area, we decided to take the opportunity to visit Old Town Alexandria on a Saturday and Sunday. We decided on this hotel because it offered a Potomoc View King Room for a discounted rate. Being an IHG club member added additional amenities; free internet and a luxuriously late 2:pm checkout. The hotel was clean and spacious, not a luxury hotel, but comfortable. I asked for a high floor and the view of the DC skyline from the 10th floor really was just what I asked for. I kept my curtains open practically the entire time we were there. We did see planes landing at Reagan, but we did not hear them. This hotel is about six blocks from the famous King Street shops and there is a jogging/walking/bike trail that runs from the hotel straight into town. On King street a free trolley runs continuously and ends at the metro line if you want to go into DC. The hotel has bikes available to lend, and if you are so inclined, this is a wonderful way to get around and enjoy the waterfront. It was rather chilly and windy while we were there, so we passed on the bikes. We did have breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was a real treat with a full service menu and waiter service, as opposed to the typical buffet. I must say, however, that the thing that most impressed us about this hotel was the level of service. Every person we encountered was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. If you want to get away from the hustle of DC and the predictability of the King Street tourist traps, I suggest you give this hotel a try.

Room Tip: If you choose a Potomoc View Room, ask for a high floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Patti,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We really appreciate your recognition of our staff, we take pride in our staff's ability to serve our guest. We are glad you chose us, and hope you would return and look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    238
    173
    76
    41
See reviews for
111
172
46
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I liked this hotel very much, got upgraded due to Platinum status, and had a very large suite.
The hotel was clean and well kept but the internet service was horrendous. I sat down to get work done after returning from dinner and ended up getting nothing done because the internet was so slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashbridgewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear flashbridgewater,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has an absolutely fantastic stay. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. We have recently began making changes in our services with our WiFi provider to improve the WiFi connection for our guest, which should be completely installed in the upcoming months. We are glad you chose us, and we hope you would return, to experience the comfortable accommodations and convenience of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I travel a lot for business and I know the game. Business travelers are a lot less discerning with their corporate card than they are with their own money. This hotel capitalizes on that fact with nickle-and-diming practices that most leisure travelers would never accept.

My wife and I spent a night here while driving to our Thanksgiving destination. Being a business-centric hotel during a holiday week, the place was almost completely deserted.

With the skeleton crew that was working that night, it was less of a hotel and more of a big building with a bunch of beds in it. However, this ghost-town scenario did reap some benefits. I got the room at bottom-basement prices due to the lack of demand. They also waived the parking fee, but I'm unsure if it was due to my IHG loyalty status or the fact that their parking lot was completely empty. Regardless, charging guests for parking in this semi-suburban setting is downright stingy.

The room quality is about what you would expect from a Crown Plaza. Everything in the room is quality, albeit a bit worn. The location of the building itself is a bit odd; a 20 minute walk from King Street and the nearest Metro stop.

The Railstop restaurant is what you would expect. The food and drink were all pretty good (but not great) and the prices were pretty bad (but not terrible). My wife and I were the only customers in the restaurant that night (remember, the hotel was deserted), and had a great time talking with the bartender, since she was probably as eager for human interaction as we were.

We were grateful for a coupon that we recieved at check-in for a free breakfast. We went to the breakfast place at 9am on Wednesday and no hostess was present. While we were stranded, we looked at the menu to see that they only offer the continental breakfast until 8:30am during the week. They still had other items available a la carte, but we doubted the coupon would be good for those. The maitre d' never appeared to clear this issue up, so we ate elsewhere (Le Pain Quotidien on King Street - Really good breakfast place)..

It's tough to rate this place based on our one-off experience. The hotel itself is pretty nice, but not nice enough to justify the antics that they try to pull. It's hard to fault the hotel; they are only doing what they can to maximize profits. If I was a leisure traveler during peak dates, I would avoid it like the plague. If you're a business traveler, you just need to know that it's a typical Crown Plaza in a location that may, or may not, be convenient to you.

Room Tip: My room's view over the Potomac was cool, but underwhelming due to DC being relatively far away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Pat M,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We apologize that you were not pleased with all the aspects of your stay.
Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The room was pretty good. The night we showed up to the hotel, the desk worker wasn't very friendly. The other workers the next day were very nice and friendly. Other then that it was good. Parking is expensive. But overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Kay B,

Thank you for your valued comments. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We are happy you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's services. We train our staff to make sure our guests are satisfied. The parking charges in this area is very comparable. We are glad you chose us, and hope you would return and look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived late but transfer bus from Reagan airport was efficient and easy to find. Reception enthusiastic, but no upgrade as an IHG platinum. Asked at reception and told hotel at 60% so no excuses, just a broken promise from another franchisee.

Room not bad, but bed and bathroom linens felt cheap and old. Not soft and warm like you normally get in Crowne Plazas. Heating wastoo noisy to sleep while it was running.

Breakfast was weird. Never more than a few customers. Lots of cold, greasy food and stale bread. Coffee was awful. Orange Juice was just an assortment of E-numbers and chemicals in a glass. It did not taste like oranges were part of the recipe.

Reception staff indifferent. Concierge and bus staff outstanding though, helping all the time and friendly. Easily the best part of our stay.

Do not bother with the free bikes. They are single geared and braking is by peddling backwards. The 24 mile round trip to Mt Vernon felt like double that. Pay the local hire shop for a bike with gears.

Pricing was competitive and location ok. Alexandria was quaint and a combination of free shuttle bus to Reagan airport and the metro meant you could be outside the White House in about 30 minutes.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear David H,

Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's services. We are constantly training our staff to make sure our guests are satisfied. We've got nothing but satisfied guest comments on the use of the free bikes, we are sorry you were not happy with the use of the free bikes. We do thank you for comment and hope we may have you as a valued customer in the future and exceed in our abilty to provide better service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, NJ
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel was okay and not particularly exciting or special. Rooms were clean, elevators worked, food was available and staff was pleasant. Easy walking distance to food stores and a bit further to restaurants. Not a quaint area but quiet at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Weism,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We apologize you were not entirely pleased, that you did not have an exceptional stay just an Ok stay. We do thank you for your comment and that you chose us. We hope we may have you as a valued customer in the future and exceed in our ability to provide better service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Aside from the title the hotel personnel WERE wonderful and courteous. Given my grievance i feel the hotel does NOT have protocols to deal with bigoted and insensitive patrons in public areas... I sat in the hotel bar, after a 10 hour drive from South Carolina and a interview in the area.. The last thing i wanted to listen to was a large group of anglo-saxon men and one women, making negative remarks about other races- my race PUERTORRICAN MIX AND including the bartender who happen to be from Morrocco.

I will not stay in this hotel again, people should be able in this date and time to be sensitive and watch what is said in public.. HMMM wonder how would they feel if I came with a large group of Latinos and in a insensitive way talk about them.????. But at the same token people regardless of their should be more civilized.... and keep the negative remarks within the confines of their own group. i have been in all parts of the globe, but nothing like these Neanderthals, in the hotel bar. Rather than relaxing i was perturbed 11/13/2013

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Lissa M,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. Your comments are important to us.
In light of your recent experience in the restaurant, we would like to say here at the Crowne Plaza we celebrate our diversity of cultures, beliefs, races. We believe that all of our employees that work here are so diverse, and are very important that no one is of a lesser value because of any cultural background, race and/or belief. We would hope that individuals in our society would be the voices of reason, what is right, and would speak louder than the indifference which has been a corrosion to our society. However, in this instance, had these individuals become threatening in anyway with their words and actions towards any individual in our establishment, we are sensitive enough to intervene for the safety of our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#20 of 53 in Alexandria
589 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing