We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but everything has a $$ cost.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Raleigh, NC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but everything has a $$ cost.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

So, if you want a decent bed, good location, and reasonable price this is okay. Just know that you have to pay for Internet service and what I think is a hefty price for daily parking ($20 each day). Be sure to add that into the tarting price. You can have a nice typical breakfast buffet for a price too, but there are several restaurants in walking distance that are very good. I wouldn't spend my money for hotel food. We walked into our room at 9pm and the thermostat said 62 degrees. I had to turn on the heat to make it livable. Took about 20 minutes. Another issue - I timed this really - it took 5:15 minutes to get hot water out of the bathroom sink. And maybe 2 minutes after that to get hot shower water. Grrr or should I say Brrrr? To end this on a fair note, I have to say that the room was nice and the beds very comfortable. People were nice, but no exceptions to extra costs, at least to me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swneilso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear swneilso,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We're sorry you that other fees of the hotel seemed too pricey. Understand when making third party reservation requiring (advanced payment) there is a disclaimer that you are made aware of at the time of booking in the hotel features on these types of sites. It states the hotel offers parking for an additional charge. I would suggest inquiring with the hotel in which you would like to stay what the additional charges will be before booking the reservation. I believe that making these types of inquiries would help in the future make your stay at any hotel you choose less disappointing. We do charge for parking which is $20 per night which is very comparable to this area. Which, I know that in this area you could actually pay more elsewhere. Please in the future we hope you return and if there is anything during your stay you are not pleased with, please bring it to our attention we would love to make your experience with us a great one. Thank you for choosing us, we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    247
    180
    78
    41
See reviews for
116
184
49
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Fantastic hotel in a fantastic spot...just across the river/bridge from Washington DC. Safe area so street parking is possible (4 hr time limit until 6pm. All day Sundays). Staff is super friendly and helpful. They will drive you to subway or CVS or ... if you need them to do so. Loved it.
Weekend deals are about 1/4 the price because business travelers are the usual clientel. We always come on the weekends!
Only bummer was that there was no breakfast.

Room Tip: Come for weekend deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Cindynor41,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. We're happy that you were more than pleased with our staff and services, the clean and comfortable accommodations and that we were conveniently located to your travel plans in the area. We're elated to know you would recommend us and would return, we look forward to it..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We really liked this hotel. It was clean, stylish and convenient, The bed and pillows (!) we're very comfortable. The staff was very friendly. Our room was right next to the elevator, but we didn't ever hear it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Linda W,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your recent stay. We look forward to responses from our guest. It is our pleasure to have served you. It is our goal to provide our guest with a great overall experience. We're happy that you were more than pleased with our staff, the clean and comfortable accommodations and that we were conveniently located to your travel plans in the area. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were in town for a wedding, the location was great, not far from king st and they had a shuttle that ran every hour. You could walk down to the water and enjoy a great trail where there was plent of people out walking and running and enjoying the day. We made it down to torpedo factory where they had plenty of activity.

The room was adequate, however we ended up with 2 twins and it was just my wife and I staying in the room. I went back down and asked for a single bed room since we didnt have a need to sleep in separate beds, but was informed that the hotel was sold out that night and they didnt have it available.

They dont have breakfast included with the stay, but there was a great little diner across the street, but I didnt mind this, we were in town for the wedding and not for business so I didnt need to eat quickly in the morning.

Parking was $20 a day, not sure why that wasnt just included in the room charge, seemed a little unnecessary for a paying hotel guest.

The internet was also an extra charge, I thought that stop about 5 years ago as the hotels I have been staying in lately usually include it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terbor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear terbor1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very delighted to know that our location was in perfect proximity to your destination and that the cleanliness of our facility is at par with your standards. However, it is a regret that you were not fully satisfied with your room accommodation. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

And as for the cost of parking and internet services, we strive to provide a competitive rate in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, I have taken note of all your comments and shared them with our hotel management for review and consideration.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at this establishment when it was the Radisson. Anytime I had to be at a meeting in Washington D.C. I would stay at this hotel, within 15min from D.C. I was going to D.C. every Month and received a discount rate/ comp breakfast and the room rate was well worth the price.

The food at their resturant was also worth the price and the food was great. The staff for the hotel and the resturant were always friendly and they made your out of town stay a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent a night there just after we landed at Ronald Reagan airport. Overall, the hotel is a bit outdated and overpriced. We had almost no service, even when we asked the front desk clerk to call a cab. I don't think it is the best option for an hotel around the airport.

The hotel is within walk distance of Old Town Alexandria which is a nice town to see, but not a most in Washington, DC area.

If you plan a trip to Washington, DC, you should directly go there for your first night and spend your entire trip in a downtown hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the Potomac River
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear AlexGagne,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am pleased that you found our property's location convenient.

I am sorry if the interior design did not completely suit your standards. We will consider your comments for upgrades needed.

Again, thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Marina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night in May 2014.
We loved the hotel, although the wifi is slow.
It is a bit far out of Washington, but is a super little town, full of eating places and nice small shops.
The hotel staff were excellent, and tended to all our needs. The rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnfris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Johnfris,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the rooms to be comfortable, our staff pleasant and caring. We are glad you chose us, and we’re happy to know you would return, we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
601 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing