We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View, clean, responsive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great View, clean, responsive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and although I had some concerns because other reviews were disconcerting, we found the hotel to be fine. Yes, it is a bit dated but clean and the rooms are decent size or better. Ask for a high floor overlooking the Potomac and you will be just fine. The location is great for walking to all the old town spots. DC and Reagan National are very close. Price reflects the age of the property so is a bargain. We will stay again when we are in Alexandria.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jhw80503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    239
    174
    76
    41
See reviews for
111
173
47
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just spent a week at this facility.The staff was great.The room was clean and spacious.The cleaning crew was excellent! Ali the bartender at the main bar knew all the local services etc.the breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: 12 floor early morning wait a couple minutes for hot h20 ,ha older hotel has character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Jim M,

Thank you for your valued comments. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We are happy that during your weeks stay you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable and staff to friendly and helpful. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had the unfortunate experience of staying at the Crowne Plaza Old Alexandria Town Washington DC at the end of a memorable Cosmos Tour during early Jun 2014.

The mattresses in our room were so old that they sloped down one side making it impossible to sleep level. We reported this to management who offered to move us to another room. However, as this would have been inconvenient, we asked that instead, the mattresses be turned over or rotated so that we could sleep better, but nothing came of our request.

We arranged for some laundry to be done for us expecting to pay about $40 based on the price list. We were amazed to be charged twice that amount ie $80. When we queried the charge, it was reduced to $40.

We had initially prepaid via Cosmos for 3 extra nights. However, we gave two days notice of our intention to check out one day earlier and asked for a refund for the last night. We were told that we would have to claim from Cosmos who in turn have turned down our request.

All in all, not a good experience and we would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Geoff S,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We're sorry you did not receive a relaxing and comfortable sleep. We're glad to hear however that our staff was able to help in the instance of your dry cleaning cost calculations misunderstanding. We apologize you had issues with your cancellation through Cosmos but I'm quite sure there are policies that Cosmos had in place for cancellations that they were unwilling to refund and unfortunately we are not able to refund you for them. We hope that you would reconsider returning and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is fairly a decent hotel. Yes it may not seem like a 3.5 star hotel, but if you go in expecting a nice clean 2.5 star hotel you'll have no problems. They have very comfortable beds and my room looked very nice and the comforters and sheets were very clean. There's a grocery store within walking distance. The shuttle makes it easy to get to the metro, and there shuttle runs much earlier than many hotels. The front desk was very nice, except for the guy who was working around 4 a.m. when I checked out, he's very rude and is not a peoples person. But overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missladdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Missladdy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear from our guest.We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and our location was perfect for your itinerary. We apologize if our staff's attentiveness was not exemplary during your stay. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention we are glad that you will return and afford us the opportunity to extend to you the service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel is clean, beds have nice new mattresses. Bathrooms are a little older but have been upgraded. Parking fee of $20 per day, which is not unusual for the Washington area. We stayed there for a wedding, in fact, the reception was at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myronk870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Myronk870,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. It is our goal to provide our guest with a great overall experience. We're happy that you were more than pleased with being conveniently located to your travel plans in the area. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randallstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Im 7 months pregnant and wanted to have a small babymoon with my boyfriend. We decided not to go to far from home, as Alexandria was the best spot to be near the water. We got our room on priceline, and thought we would be getting a nice room for the price we paid. For two nights it was almost $300, and this didn't include parking which was $20 a day. Once we got to the room it smelled old, due to the air conditioning unit the needed to be replaced. Every time it came on it was load and smelly, we wanted to change our room and possibly get one with a water view due to the inconvenience of the smell, but we were told it would be a fee for the change. I decided to just deal with the terrible smell. Needless to say I won't be coming back to this hotel ever in life.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Danelle G,

Thank you for your comments on your experience with us. We love to hear from our guest. We're sorry you were not pleased with the accommodations. We believe your comments are a vital tool in making concerted efforts to better serve our valuable guest. We apologize that issues with the AC unit took away from you having an exceptional stay. Thank you that you chose us to stay with. We hope you return and afford us the opportunity to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Manitoba
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Conveniently located 10 minutes from the airport. I had a room guaranteed for late arrival and I think they gave it away because we ended up in a disability room. I was glad a friend of mine suggested I contact them to let them know we would be late otherwise I am not sure we would of had a room. The shuttle to the airport goes every 1/2 hour starting at 5:00am.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lor_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Lor_Family,

We do appreciate your comment and feedback on your recent stay with us. We're always ready to hear how we can better assist and serve our guest. We apologize that you were not completely comfortable in your room. Our goal is that all of guest have a great overall experience. We sorry that took away from you having that great experience. Our guest representatives holds guaranteed room reservations for our guest, you may have filled the last room to sell which unfortunately in your case was not a room you desired. We are sorry this may have caused you to be disappointed with us.Thank you for choosing us, we hope you will return that we may better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#20 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing