We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here for two nights and was thoroughly impressed. The lobby is large with a selection of newspapers and also computers for guests to use. The room I had was large and overlooked the Potomac river. I could even see Capitol Hill in the distance!

There is a wonderful restaurant in the hotel which I highly recommend for dinner. I was decadent and ordered breakfast to be delivered to my room and it came at the exact time I wrote down for it to arrive.

Great hotel and staff were helpful as well

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Akita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

A nice hotel with friendly attentive staff. Large lobby area with couches and computer desk. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant in the hotel if you don't feel like eating in town. We had a nice suite on the 11th floor facing the river but more expensive. Suite had a large seating area with couch, TV, desk and half bath. Spacious bedroom area with large king size bed and double dresser, fridge and nice bathroom. Parking in garage is pricey but convenient.

Great location, with only a 10-15 min walk into town towards King Street was a really pleasant walk along the river or bike paths. Nice parks and riverfront area. The free air conditioned trolleys during the heat of the day were great! We just got on and off at the different stops all day. Also had fun walking around Old Town visiting the various shops and restaurants. I was only a 20 minute cab ride over the see the sights in Washington DC without the hassle of driving and parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JLB106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear JLB106,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. It is our goal to provide our guest with a great overall experience. We're happy that you were more than pleased with being conveniently located to your travel plans in the area. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel was nice, comfy beds. Front desk was good, however Reps did not have name tags. I like to call people by their name everywhere i go. Rep accommodated our family on the same floor which was awesome. Hotel has a restaurant which was nice, kids wanted milk. Shower nice, but water drained slowly. Housekeeping was good too. Location was ok difficult to find. Secure gates did not work with paper keys FD gives you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClassyLatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on ton 3rd and 4th July while on tour, the hotel looks new and was very nice, the rooms were great, the twin beds comfortable, there is a nice grocery shore just 200 meters away which was handy and the main town centre with lovely shops 9 blocks away, the hotel runs a shuttle bus to the town and back regularly check the times. On the down side this was the first hotel we had stayed in over the last 2 weeks that charges for the internet usage (24hr day for $9.95 so that was disappointing), we were excited we had a fridge and microwave but all our friends said they didn't and they asked about this and were informed this comes at a extra charge of $30 per day, we were just lucky it hadn't been removed out of our room which was a must. We enjoyed our stay here all the staff were very helpful and extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Room up high looking towards the water is nice
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Big_Bozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our stay was a last minute booking through Booking.com at a quite reasonable rate. Many thanks to Xiomara Garcia for her professional attentiveness in taking care of a bad first room—we greatly appreciated her prompt assistance in taking care of the situation once it was brought to her attention.

While the property is a ten minute walk from Old Town, it's but a block from trails along the Potomac—and from our room on the eleventh view, we had a clear view of the Capitol building. There are shuttles both to Old Town (we preferred to walk) and to the Reagan National Metro station—very convenient.

The staff is terrific—friendly smiles and ready to help.

Extra Perks—just across the street on N. Fairfax is a great breakfast spot for both dine-in and carry out and there is a grocery store (Giant) nearby.

Room Tip: As always, aim high (and ask for a recently renovated room)! Ask for a Capitol side view (although y...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A pleasant hotel, nice vibe when arriving, the cool air from the lobby is a welcome feeling after the heat of the day. The reception staff were friendly and the general feel was a welcoming one. The room I had (203) was decent, the bathroom a little poky, who knows why they designed the door to open INWARDS cutting off so much space inside the already tiny room, but that might just have been mine.

I was tempted to have breakfast, but the cost of the buffet was rather on the steep side, as was the room service. I think a bowl of cereal worked out at about $5. The welcome book mentions a mini bar, but after hunting high and low I couldn't find one..not to buy stuff, but just to store some milk in there for my own cereal! The room was nice, a bit in need of renovation, at at guess I would say it was last done in the early 2000's, but not faulting it. Thank god for A/C

Great shuttle service to town and to the airport, very frequent.

Bikes are available for free hire which is great, sadly they were in a really bad state and many were not rideable, but the guy on reception was really helpful and friendly. I liked the location, the 10-15 min walk into town is really pleasant.

Check out the voice in the elevator, you have to love the way she says "Lobby"...more like " laaaaby, really funny..always made me smile on the way down!

When the next refurb happens it will be a really special, but not faulting the place, nice hotel and good staff. Thanks for a decent stay. To charge for a river view is a bit much though, and to be honest, if you think about how much time you actually SPEND looking out of the window, paying $55 extra to see it and 500 planes zipping past your window is probably not worth it.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a river view. Why? First of all, they charge for it, and from what everyone else is s...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChangiChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Folks,
Do yourself a favor and shuttle into Old Town and stay away from this complex.......The price for the room is completely absurd plus the $20 per day parking. The also will charge extra if your room has a view of the river so you can hear every plane landing at DCA......I stayed in a Hyatt for 5 nights that didn't cost as much as this place. Also stay away from the bar unless you have a pocket full of cash. I am shocked they didn't charge me for Ice....well maybe they did and I missed it on the bill that mimicked the dead sea scrolls minus the occupancy tax.......

Room Tip: One trip....Stay somewhere else!!!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Michael P,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while visiting our hotel. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
603 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: £76 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing