We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
179
266
199
81
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
266
199
81
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspotomac riverking streetold towngastro pubextra perksreagan airportfree shuttlebraddock roadfront desk staffseveral blockshotel shuttleblock walkshuttle servicehotel restaurantrestaurants and shopsdc areametro station
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a nice area, near nice things. It's a above average, but nothing special. The lobby is small, but welcoming. The staff is pleasant. The room was very large and clean, although the carpet is in need of replacement. The bathroom was very large with excellent water pressure and good lighting. The bed was ok as were the pillows. The restaurant has very good burgers and good staff, although service is on the slower side.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed in Crowne Plaza Hotels before with no issues and great stays. This hotel is dated, looks like it could use a paint job. My room as well as our friends room had an odor that I thought was spoiled milk like. My friends felt it was just dampness. We were both on same floor. Breakfast was okay in Chequers was okay, however the one staff member was run off her feet to take orders, bus tables, etc. Wait was forever!!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel brand before, that time in Memphis, and thankfully, this time was a vast improvement, but still a long way to go.

Compare our review of their Memphis hotel, seek DougK677.

Our first impression here was satisfaction, and then we looked for the fridge. None! We're in a half hours drive of the White House, and this joint elects not to provide guests with an in-room refrigerator. Today's temperature is 98 degrees (F) or 34 degrees (C) and a few coldies keeping cool in the 'fridge sounds like good idea. Not here. Mean and uncaring...that's what it is.

The bed was very comfy, and the clean sheets a bonus. (Once again, read my review from Memphis)
Comfortable bathroom, without affording a lot of space.

Located in the back blocks means a 4 block hike to corner supermarket, and numerous more if you want to hit the main drag. Not the best of locations for tourists.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DougK677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear DougK677,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay. We apologize that the lack of a fridge in your room took away from your stay with us. We are also sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the location; we are in a quieter place in the area away from the busy and high traffic streets and closer to the water where many of our room have a view of the Potomac River. We value your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was visiting Alexandria, VA and the Crowne Plaza for a conference in June 2018, and had a few unfortunate experiences in what was itself a bland, plain hotel. A breakdown follows:

Pros:
* Some staff were genuinely helpful and friendly
* Location was fantastic, easy walk to river and King St
* Shuttle to DCA

Meh:
* The rooms were OK
* Conference catering food was decent

Cons:
* Late night service. When a plumbing issue arose around 11:30 pm, the staff at the desk promised to send someone up to deal with it. At 12:45 am, I called again and discovered they weren't sending anyone and had forgotten to tell me. This was especially painful considering my 6:45 am wake up time and the fact I was jetlagged. The lack of consideration for such an expensive hotel is appalling.
* The Expense. At conference rate of $220/night, the hotel room was exceedingly plain and rife with small nuisance issues. At the full rate, it is utterly unjustifiable.

Bottom Line: I have had nicer stays at interstate hotels for one-third the price of this place and gotten similar amenities. Stay elsewhere if you can to save money and frustration.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank COviaKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear COviaKY,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We would like to apologize for the issue you experienced with the plumbing. We will communicate your issue to the Front Desk staff to better assist our guest if an issue arises. We will continue to train our staff to assist our guest with each of their needs. We hope that you will return and give us another try, we are confident that your impressions will be improved upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff was very friendly and helpful - - especially Jose V. at the front desk. Good location.
Items at buffet breakfast were nice but restaurant was understaffed. Same person was checking people in, taking orders, clearing tables, etc.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank SMSinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SMSinDC,

Thank you for your recognition on our staff and are thrilled we were able to play a positive role in your experience. Jose will be happy to know that he was recognized for his attentiveness to your needs. We appreciate your feedback on your experience in the restaurant, we will continue to improve our team to meet our guest's expectations. We will continue to make improvement to provide even better service on your next visit to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews