We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Red Roof Inn in Alexandria, VA offers a very clean and well-managed stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“The Red Roof Inn in Alexandria, VA offers a very clean and well-managed stay.”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

For the price, I was surprised to find such an updated, very clean, and well-run stay.
Also, I was given a $20 discount/day for my five-days at the motel, beating the price
of higher-profiled motels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ampej321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    100
    66
    32
    30
See reviews for
98
69
51
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I worked for 2 hotels before, I have worked with the publics and their dumb complaints and there for I try not to complain about any hotel I stay at but this situation was something else. Yes it's cheap and thats the best part about it, I didn't mind the walk to the metro but the area is a little sketchy especially at night. I Wouldn't recommend it for a family. My first night there I went to use the bathroom and had TWO unexpected visitors , YES TWO ROACHES!!

The room itself was decent and the staff was nice but the two roaches just ruined it for me.

Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sil8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This was about as cheap and low budget as I will ever go again in America. This really is the cheapest place in this Alexandria area. Its sleezy enough to bother you, but good enough to be ok at the same time. The washer and dryer work very well. $1.75 and $1.25. There is an elevator and two luggage carts. I was on the 3rd floor facing the back wooded area. It is quiet as long as you have quiet neighbors. The rooms are spacious; however something in the sheets made my skin break out and made me itch several times. Luckily I always carry my own blanket and pillow and I wear long sleeves to bed. When I switched over to the second bed and it smelled like someone had slept in it earlier so Im sure the sheets hadnt been changed because they certainly werent fresh smelling. The toilet didnt flush every time the first time. There was some weird gimmick to flushing it, but it did flush after the 2nd and 3rd time. There was a microwave and small fridge that came in very handy after trips to the local Walmart. Im not a smoker and the only time I smelled cigarettes is when I had my door open and the person on the far end was smoking outside. No smoke circulated through my vents. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful. I must say that.

The bottom line was that it was cheap for the week. Not something I'd ever recommend to anyone not desperate (like I was). I got delayed moving into my apartment and needed a cheap place with free parking and free wi-fi close to Old Town in two days and this was it. Although, I cant understand why AAA gave this place a Diamond award for 2011. You'll see the shiny plaque at the front desk when you check in. Its not the filthiest of places, but its borderline enough for me. Definitely not the Marriott down the street.

If you are in a time crunch and on a budget, this is the ONLY place in the Alexandria area with $69-$85 night rates that I found in my AAA tourbook. There is a Budget Host Travelers down the street but that looked worse. There is no gym and no breakfast but there is a delivery service menu and plenty of shopping centers in either direction so you wont starve. It is right down the street from the Huntington Metro within 1 mile or less, the beltway, and Walmart 1 mile the opposite direction down Richmond Hwy. They advertise bus service to the metro but its actually across the street.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellamora_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Very clean room, comfortable bed, really nice folks at front desk. Room appointed nicely. We stayed on the back side which is quieter. Laundry facilities on-site. Great value for the price in this area. Lots of food choices to the left as you go out of the drive-way. A great place to stay in the DC area. Close to interstates and easy to get around.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle me
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Clean, quiet, comfortable room. Good location. Nice staff. Not the Ritz but a really good value for the money. We really appreciated the fact that they take small dogs.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doggie_traveler915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The Front Desk person was extremely charming and helpful. I made an error on-line with my reservation and she patiently assisted me in assuring I would get my room. Originally, I had planned to stay one night. But, stayed two instead. The room was exceptionally clean and very quiet. I was able to get plenty of work done on my computer without disturbance. I would offer, however, a more meaningful diet, rather than vending machines. Although, it was not an inconvenience for me to walk a few blocks to get something to eat. It was close enough that, I had a takeout dinner and it was still hot-warm when I returned to my room.

The price was very reasonable and the location was perfect, close to public transportation and within a walk to the Metro station, of course, I do not have a car, so this was extremely important to me.

In a nutshell, my stay there was next to perfect. I say next to perfect because, the food was lacking. At a minimum, can we get some donuts in the morning with coffee?

It should be noted, however, that the staff there deserve recognition. And, I checked in on 11/7/2010 and checked out 11/09/2010.

James Davis

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimd5201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, SC
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed here to be able to get into the Washington DC Mall. This motel was close enough to the train station (about 5 minutes by cab) and within walking distance of the Metro -- about a 20 minute walk uphill. The Metro ride to the mall is about 30 minutes. A good Thai restaurant is across the highway as well as a pizza joint. No good breakfast restaurant nearby but the 7-11 on the way to the Metro has a great selection of hot food and we bought breakfast things there on the way back & put them in the room's frig -- there was also a microwave. So this place served our needs for inexpensive place to stay when visiting Washington.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdolfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#29 of 54 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#18 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing