We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Amazing Customer Service!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The customer service here is outstanding! Ms. Mills goes above and beyond to make sure you're settled in and everything is sorted out. She is super helpful and very professional and nice. The rooms are very spacious for the rate, and always have been clean each time I stay here. The beds are super comfortable, and it's nice to have a microwave + fridge in the room, as there is a Wal-Mart up the road where you can stock up on cheap snacks if you don't want to go out or order in for a meal. Will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front side of the hotel have the best working internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcg003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. This lets us know, we are not meeting our goal, it gives us a clear idea of what areas need improvement. We are dedicated to being able to provide a clean, comfortable room to all of our customers. We know you will notice the difference on your next visit. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Thank You
Shirley Jordan General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    102
    68
    33
    31
See reviews for
100
69
55
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Overall, a good place to stay. The price is right. Only things negative were that there was a small pile of hair and dirt in the bathroom corner like someone had swept it together but never picked it up. It was pretty gross so I picked it up myself. Also, the room was always so hot when we got back in it. Always had to turn heat down and put cool air on!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kren14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. This lets us know, we are not meeting our goal, it gives us a clear idea of what areas need improvement. We are dedicated to being able to provide a clean, comfortable room to all of our customers. We know you will notice the difference on your next visit. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Thank You
Shirley Jordan General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I had a great experience here. As soon as I came in, Ms. Mills who works at the front desk was extremely helpful and got me a room very quickly. The stay was wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone else coming here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkana91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
A clean room and awesome service is what we do, and Miss Mills does it very well. Thank you for taking notice.

Thank You
Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Front desk checked us into an already occupied room (not excuseable with computers!), then put us in a room in need of cleaning (white socks turned brown quickly!). Yes, hard floors need to be mopped and even small carpeted areas need to be vacumned daily! Our Superior King was not an all new Next Gen room as advertised. Sure, the furniture, TV and sink was new but the bathrooms are old, exhaust fan loud, door squeaks, tub drains slow. Housekeeping and maintenance shabby. Little evidence of pride or attention to detail here. Will not be back!

Room Tip: request a room facing the back of the property, U.S. 1 road noise is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DisappointedWith169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Clearly we failed to meet your expectations-and you are right on point, renting an all ready occupied room is not acceptable. Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention. I am in the process of re-training my entire staff. This will prevent this type of problem from reoccurring in the future.It truly is our goal to provide exceptional service to all of our guests. We would appreciate another opportunity to "GET IT RIGHT".

Thank you
Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at this Red Roof Inn! When I arrived the representative that was working at the time was so friendly and helpful. Good customer service seems hard to come by these days and I was pleasantly surprised by the staff at this location. The property itself was clean and very well maintained. The room I booked looked like it was recently renovated and was really nice. I liked that is was very clean and cozy. Upon departing I needed directions and some dining recommendations and the general manager just happened to be the one that helped me and I couldn't help but to bring to her attention how wonderful I thought her property and staff was. I would recommend this location to anyone who needed a nice clean affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammygirl117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Your review puts a smile on my face. My staff knows how much I appreciate them, but when it comes from a visitor, they are overjoyed-). We are proud of our renovated rooms (thanks for taking notice). It was our pleasure to WOW you and we look forward to seeing you again, very soon.

Thank you,
Shirley Jordan General Manager/and her awesome team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was the first time we stayed at a Red Roof Hotel and it was a most pleasant surprise.
When I checked in I was greeted by Sarah the receptionist and she said your room is ready and it was already heated when we walked into the room. There was snow outside and it was cold but the room was nice and warm.
We stayed here because we have a new Labradoodle puppy and Red Roof is not only pet friendly but they do not charge extra fees. They had a nice area to walk the puppy.
We plan on staying at Red Roof in our future travels. Friendly, professional service and clean rooms. Great safe location. We highly recommend Red Roof Alexandria. -Wes

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side. Quiet and close to dog walking area with pick-up bags. Very clean ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trader5M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for the awesome review, Sarah read it and was very happy to know that she meet your expectations. Being pet friendly really does give us a heads up on some of our competitors- We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

After an 800+ mile drive, it was a great relief to know that customer service rep. Ms Mills had taken care of our requests and had us all ready to go with our accommodations as soon as we pulled up to the hotel. Her smile and wonderful personal skills were just what the doctor ordered for two weary travelers. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnmwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Ms.Mills is very good at what she does. Making our visitors happy, really does energize her.We know that traveling can be exhausting. My team works very hard at making that first impression a very positive one. It sounds like you will be visiting us again!

Thank You,
Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 54 in Alexandria
220 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.3 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
601 reviews
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing