We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Southeast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Bad customer service”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The front desk employees are very unhappy and make it well known. Do not ask for anything. Do not expect them to be apologetic if they cancel your room key or give your room to another person while you are still using it. Expect to feel as if you are inconveniencing someone if you are planning to take their complimentary shuttle to the airport. Expect to overhear disagreements at the front desk between employees. I even got an eye roll at one point.

On the positive side, Tim at the bar is fabulous. The meeting room/restaurant staff are great. The cleaning staff is great (except for one of our party who had a pair of pants disappear - wwhhhaaaatttt????). The rooms are nice, beds comfortable. Too bad you feel so unwelcome when you arrive and unappreciated when you leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernSweetT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from you last stay with us. We appreciate any comments to help us improve our service levels.
I was sorry to learn that our front desk staff did not live up to their normal professionalism.
I spoke to their manager to ensure that every guest get's the same friendly and efficient service.
I hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate that your experience was the exception not the norm. Please contact me directly should your travels bring you back to Alexandria and I will personally look after your comfort.
Respectfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    280
    112
    58
    31
See reviews for
218
129
31
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottontown, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Room was too far from elevator. Nice clean room. Room was a good value, but all the extras were expensive, $4 for a bottle was expense, extras were not clearly marked as a extra. we found the room on Hotwire. Nice location for visiting DC. Close to airport and the metro.....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from you last stay with us. We appreciate any comments to help us improve our service levels.
I was glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you have the opportunity to visit again in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Alfred J. Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I have visited Alexandria a handful of times and become familiar with the area. The Sheraton is a brief stroll to Old Town and that is a plus. From the moment I checked in my stay was just less than the equivalently priced Westin. My biggest beef with the hotel is the terrible room they call a gym. It happens to share the same space as the pool and hot tub which makes it feel like you are in a steam room. I think there are 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, and 1 recumbent bike in this humid dungeon. No windows and just one tv. I have numerous other personal beefs about Starwood points and perks but I will just summarize to say that I'd pick the Westin if I had the choice.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Allison,
thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and I appreciate the positive rating despite your dissapointment with our gym. Unfortunately once a hotel is built we do not have many options. I hope to have you stay with us again and enjoy the many positive aspects of the hotel.
Regards,
Alfred J. Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
241 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

This is a nice functional Sheraton. Nothin fancy or flashy, but it gets the job done. Great room lay out. Nicely appointed. It's started to look a little dates in some rooms. The club lounge has gotten much better the last few stays. Ok location, but a bit hidden. No major issues.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCFFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your experience as we always strive to improve on every aspects of the hotel.
I hope you will have another opportunity ti stay with us in the near future.
Regards,
Alfred J. Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice when visiting family in the area and enjoyed both of our stays. The rooms were very clean and the service was excellent. Everybody at the front desk was incredibly helpful and friendly. The only negative was that one of the two elevators was broken both times we stayed here and wait times were long. At one point, we even ran ahead of a group entering the hotel after a long day to make sure we got on the elevator before them!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. I was glad o hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Regards,
Alfred J. Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

The suites are lovely and romantic. Everything is clean and week-appointed, a perfect place to order room service and hang out (comfortable beds, lots of pillows). The staff are incredible helpful and friendly, even helped me put together an impromptu birthday party!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonsuitesva, Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We are glad that you were able to relax and "hang out". It is nice to hear that we could assist with your special event. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Bed was comfortable. Room was quiet. Parking and internet were both expensive (a tactic for use on business travelers, who have caps on the room price, but are allowed to claim other incidental charges). One of the elevators was broken, I hope the management response to one of these reviews says it has been fixed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonsuitesva, Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay yet, disappointed that the elevator issue caused you some discomfort during your visit. The elevator company has in fact made the necessary repairs. We hope that you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Property: Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Address: 801 N Saint Asaph St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing