We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need lots of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Need lots of updating”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After reading some of the reviews we thought this would be a great place to stay. If they are renovating we did not get one of those rooms. Not sure why they would give us an old room when there was hardly anyone there. The furniture was very old and scratched. The bathroom needed a lot of work, peeling paint etc. The TV was of very poor quality. The bedding was new and the room was clean. Breakfast was fine. Front desk not very attentive. We would not stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    24
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
13
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Everything was great. The only complaint I have is the breakfast is not very good. fake eggs, only one waffle maker and kept running out of food. Improve on this and you will be an Excellent hotel. My family and I were there to participate in a family reunion in Lynchburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamecock2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here as a "home base" for some activities in the area, seeing Lynchburg and Red Hill. The pool was still open and it was a lovely weekend, so we spent some time just reading and relaxing in the sun.
The room as clean, but the bed was a little too soft for our taste. It did include a microwave and good-sized apartment fridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank-Staunton-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

This was hard to find because it is on top of a hill. But we kept on until we found it. The desk clerk was so helpful in making us comfortable and the beds are great. A good nights sleep. They even helped us find the best place for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, OH
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel needs to increase their general maintenance around the facilities. The landscaping was untended throughout the property and the liquid being caused by a leak in the main hallway right by the front door was being collected in a garbage can for our entire 3 day stay. They had had an issue with a room air conditioner and had taken it right outside the front entrance where it sat for days while it awaited maintenance or cleaning or whatever was needed to fix it. It is obvious that the staff has little energy when it comes to their jobs and it really shows in the facilities. The hotel is just showing signs of neglect and lack of interest from the personnel and owners which is a shame because its location make it a convenient place to stay while in the area.

There are no restaurants to walk to in the area but there is a small convenience store at the bottom of the hill that is convenient and there are lots of restaurants at the next exit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Staff was very nice and helpful. Hotel is an older one and somewhat dogeared in places, but it was clean. Room was comfy and pool area was nice. Breakfast was good and restocked. It could use some renovation, but that did not take away from my stay at all. Overall, I would return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ohplease40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The burial of a good friend was the occasion that brought several of us together in Altavista. The inn is close enough to the freeway (between Lynchburg and Danville) to find easily and far enough away so you don't hear the noise. We found the desk staff of this inn very, very helpful and accommodating to our particular needs - holding a room for us when one of our number was late in arriving (the motel was full for the weekend), allowing us to check out two hours late, helping us locate the church and cemetery, even providing us with tape, paper and marker so we could leave a notice on the church door directing people from out of town to the cemetery. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed with all the usual amenities. The hot breakfast got us off to a good start the day of the service. While the inn is older and could use some refreshing, it was very clean and comfortable. I can't imagine I will ever be in Altavista again, but if I am I will plan to stay at the Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vancouverval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altavista
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
189 reviews
14.5 mi away
Camber Inn
Camber Inn
#1 of 2 in Gretna
221 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 23 in Lynchburg
35 reviews
16.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
16.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South

Property: Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
Address: 1558 Main St, Altavista, VA 24517-1159 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Altavista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Altavista
Altavista Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing