We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Alta Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Alta Vista
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    48
    30
    22
    20
See reviews for
77
27
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

While the non-smoking room was relatively clean- it reeked of smoke. There appeared to be more smoking rooms than non-smoking rooms on the same floor.
The locking device on back entrance door of hotel was broken and the door was totally unsecure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raj s, Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
We were sorry to learn that your room was not acceptable upon your arrival. From time to time we have guests that may not abide by our wishes and for this we sincerely apologize. We have thoroughly cleaned this room and the smell of tobacco smoke is no longer present. All of your concerns and complaints have been addressed. Please consider staying with us again in the future and allowing us to make your next stay a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I never thought would find nice hotel like this in small town on 29. Right off of highway and great location for me. Really nice hotel with nice bed. Had a great night sleep. Breakfast was better then any other hotels I have stayed at. Recreational area, gym are nice touch to the hotel. Manager and staff were really helpful. Very nice and clean room. thank you so much will come back and stay with you guys.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raj s, Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We strive to make sure all of our guest's have a stay as nice as yours. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed on April 19, 2013. Very unclean when I arrived several guests had jar of bugs they found in room complaining. furniture very dirty. worst issue was not aware till later they raised price on me approximately $50.00 knowing I was out of town. They would not bend so I filed complaint. Breakfast was sloppy and poorly cooked and AM agent was very rude. Tv service and condition poor. Location seemed dangerous for families..

Room Tip: For your own safety and health, choose a different hotel as well as being treated horribly and not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raj s, Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Let us begin by apologizing for your less than comfortable stay on 04/19/2013. Being from Gretna we're all aware of the Asian Stinkbug infestation in our area and how we are all so very frustrated by these stinkers! They have invaded every structure known to mankind I think. All of our homes as well as all business have been under their attack for several years now and we are waiting impatiently for the eradication day of this insect species. This particular weekend of your stay was Graduation for several of the surrounding colleges and season pricing usually begins around this time, however we apologize for any confusion at the time of check-in since this is when your rate is disclosed, and our breakfast bar is usually more than satisfying. We make every effort to correct all of our guest's concerns and complaints due to if your stay is not a pleasant one than we are not putting our guest's first. Please accept our apologies and allow us the opportunity in the future to make your stay a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altavista hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

It was my first trip to the area, and my good experience will lead me to a second trip. I was not thrilled with the selection of hotels in Alta Vista... but what do you expect? The lobby and my room was clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very helpful, especially with all of my "out of town" questions. Also, the breakfast was fresh and filling! It was just right for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 405LouV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thanks for your kind review! It gives us great pleasure in answering all of your "Out of town questions." This is a good time to show off what Altavista has to offer although we are a small town. We hope your stay was truly a pleasant one and we look forward to seeing and serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altavista
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Altavista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lynchburg
BEST WESTERN of Lynchburg
#15 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Alta Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alta Vista

Property: Days Inn Alta Vista
Address: 1557 Main St, Altavista, VA 24517-1160 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Altavista)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Altavista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Alta Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Altavista Hotel. We re minutes away from Liberty University, Lynchburg College, and Randolph Macon Women s College.Take a visit to Appomattox Historic Park, Avoca Museum, or Blue Ridge Parkway. The Blue Ridge Parkway connects the Shenandoah National Park in Virginia to the Pisgah National Forest in North Carolina. There is so much to tell about the Blue Ridge Parkway, its many natural wonders, constant array of spectacular vistas and cultural mountain communities along its slopes, coves and valleys that this profile is a mere scratch of the surface.At Holiday Inn Express Altavista Hotel your wish is our command. Come visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Days Inn Alta Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alta Vista Hotel Altavista
Holiday Inn Altavista
Altavista Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing