We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smiling Faces”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Alta Vista
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
Altavista
1 review
“Smiling Faces”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I entitled it this way because the experience reminded me of the song. I arrived late at night with my confirmation for a handicapped room. I was given a room on the second floor because all they had was smoking on the first floor. I asked at the front desk the next morning and my reservation did not indicate handicap. They commited to move me though. I called customer service to express my feelings and they said that my reservation didn't indicate handicap. Luckily I had kept my original email that indicated handicap. I forwarded it to customer service. When I got to the hotel that evening the desk person said that he felt that I didn't want the room so he changed it!! The hotel is good enough, but keep your confirmation because it could change on you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Let us apologize for the misunderstanding on our part for the confusion concerning your room type request. We have found that many online reservations are placed incorrectly by small oversights, and we sometimes overlook details as well, however; we do our best to accomodate our guest's wishes upon their arrival. We hope that you enjoyed your stay overall and we look forward to serving you in the future if you are in our area. Again thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    52
    30
    22
    20
See reviews for
79
29
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is close to the highway, had free wifi and free breakfast. It was a good value for a business traveler, but not the best choice for little kids. I agree with the other reviews, you cannot complain when the breakfast is free and it is a good place to stay when passing thru.

Pros: Rooms were clean
free breakfast
location
free wifi
friendly staff

Cons: this hotel is being converted from smoking to non-smoking. the smoking rooms smell, but the hotel staff was happy to let us switch rooms
pillows were old and lumpy
rooms were damp
rooms are loud, no sound proofing
limited tv stations for little kids (to keep them from disturbing neighbors)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor if you can handle the stairs (less damp). Make sure you get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdk614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The issues that you brought to our attention are in the process of replacement and deep cleaning. We are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay. We strive to ensure that our guests have a pleasurable stay while away from home. We welcome you and your family to return in the future and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you find yourself in Altavista and you need a place to stay, then Days Inn is pretty good. It is quiet, except for that occasional freight train, and clean. I enjoyed my one night here and recommend it. The bed was comfy, the shower was good, and the room overall was nice.

Breakfast is your typical hot waffle iron, eggs, biscuits and gravy, and machine dispensed OJ. So I can't really complain but will also not say it is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kukrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are pleased that you slept good while staying with us. Our staff depends on reviews such as yours to inform us of the areas that need attention or improvement. We hope that you will return if you are in our area. Have a great day and thanks again for the honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfcity
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We checked in late after driving 9 hours in traffiv and were greeted with friendlybstaff. Out room was clean and brrajfastvwas very good. The hotel and staff made our visit pleasent...
pros....atmosphere, location, room cleanliness, staff

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Its always nice to see a positive review. This lets us know that we are on the right track. Its always nice when you are away from home and can have a pleasant nights sleep. Please be sure to consider staying with us again if you are in our area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fletcher
Level Contributor
200 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Well the hotel was okay. I can't really say much more. No elevators, breakfast was mediocre, Sunny D for juice cause they ran out of the reconstituted orange juice and then they ran out of Sunny D. I love my OJ in the AM. Points off there, Bed was hard and not very comfy. If you stay at a hotel the whole reason is to get some rest, so points off there. One phone didn't work...no biggie cept why have a phone that doesn't work. Good internet so points plus there. The folks that wrote comfortable bed must have had a different room than mine. This hotel would be okay for a passing thru night on your way to wherever. If you get a good rate then I guess it would be satisfactory. There is a comfort suites across street but I didn't stay there, the redeeming point of this property is that it used to be a Holiday Inn Express, so some of the good points of this place where carried over from the previous chain. The owners who also work the front desk were very nice, but it's obvious they are budget conscience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review. We do extend our apologies for the less than satisfactory stay. We are in the process of replacing mattresses at this time. However, this is a lengthy process. Our breakfast is usually most satisfying so we do apologize for you not being satisfied. Please know that we take your feedback seriously into consideration which helps us to improve our standards for our guests. We hope that you will consider staying with us again if you are in our area and thanks again for the time it took to leave feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altavista
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
16.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Alta Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alta Vista

Property: Days Inn Alta Vista
Address: 1557 Main St, Altavista, VA 24517-1160 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Altavista)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Altavista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Alta Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Altavista Hotel. We re minutes away from Liberty University, Lynchburg College, and Randolph Macon Women s College.Take a visit to Appomattox Historic Park, Avoca Museum, or Blue Ridge Parkway. The Blue Ridge Parkway connects the Shenandoah National Park in Virginia to the Pisgah National Forest in North Carolina. There is so much to tell about the Blue Ridge Parkway, its many natural wonders, constant array of spectacular vistas and cultural mountain communities along its slopes, coves and valleys that this profile is a mere scratch of the surface.At Holiday Inn Express Altavista Hotel your wish is our command. Come visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Alta Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alta Vista Hotel Altavista
Holiday Inn Altavista
Altavista Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing