We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Say Tuesday Sunset Parade & Silent Drill Team”

U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
Ranked #3 of 95 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Commonly called the "Iwo Jima Memorial," the statue is a depiction of the famous raising of the U.S. flag on Iwo Jima and is dedicated to all Marines who have given their lives defending that flag.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Say Tuesday Sunset Parade & Silent Drill Team”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Hour long free attraction was very good. Bus took us there. Blanket for sitting on the ground and you can bring food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DOUGLAS E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,449
    371
    56
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Passaic, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impressive famous landmark”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Simple to visit, and you can see the list of Marine campaigns on the base of this sculpture. Read 'Flags of Our Fathers' for good background.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kosh-R-Travla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Even though the US Marine Corps War Memorial depicting Marines raising the flag at Iwo Jima is a very well known memorial, it is in an unusual and hard-to-get-to location. It is near the Arlington National Cemetery in Arlington, Virginia but you can't get to it from the cemetery unless you have a car. Since we did not have a car and used the tour buses, we were shocked that none of the tours we knew of stopped there except for the Big Bus Night Tour. We were told at Arlington National Cemetery that it was just a short 15-minute walk away which was totally incorrect unless you were sprinting along the highway. There is no way to walk there from the cemetery! So, we eventually hired a taxi to drive us there and wait for us as there would be no taxis there waiting to take us back. How weird is that? Such an awesome, must-see memorial that all the tours seem to ignore? Why?? At any rate, hire a taxi and go see this memorial. You won't be disappointed, I assure you!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Moving”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It was nice to see men paying their requests to the men and women who have served. Memorial was well kept.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Took my breath away”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stunning and a lot bigger than I expected which further adds to the beauty of it. Very nice at night as well as during the day

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank beezer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing