We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Residence Inn really does offer a lot for the price. The rooms are large and come with a nice kitchenette. Plenty of space to spread out. The Hearth Room offers a great breakfast buffet, included in the price. Room internet access is free - but the connection speed is slow.

The hotel is within 2-3 blocks of the Rosslyn Metro station and just across the bridge from Georgetown. It is also about two blocks from the Iwa Jima memorial and one subway stop from Arlington Cemetery.

We did have one issue during our stay from July 26th-31st.... we had booked a block of rooms as part of a group (about 20 rooms). Two of our party were international travelers and had to join us a day late and stay two days past the event end date - the hotel would not give them the group rate. This would be my only complaint - you would think that they would have accommodated a two day extension of the group rate for two people sharing one room..... I hope that they will revisit this policy/issue. When we asked the front desk person - we were told we would have to check with sales and they were only available limited hours.... the staff should be more empowered to be able to make these types of adjustments, especially when it would show goodwill and premiere customer service on the part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phildinftlaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here from the 20th - 23rd of July - we absolutely loved the location, very close to the Metro and restaurants, and easy to find off the highway. The room was spacious and very clean, perfect for families, and has a great breakfast buffet. We appreciated the friendliness of the staff - especially housekeeping and the breakfast staff. It was very quiet, except for one night when a bachelorette party was going on next door. Overall I would recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Residence Inn is a well located hotel with good friendly staff. The hotel is a very short walk from the Rosslyn metro stop (about 5 minutes) which is a short trip from the centre of DC. The Arlington Cemetery is even closer.

Room: The room we had was very large with close to a full kitchen (microwave, fridge, hot plate etc). Very comfortable.

Breakfast: The buffet breakfast is on the good side of average for buffet style hotel meals. Don't expect gourmet food or a massive selection but just treat as a bonus and a reasonable start to the day. There are only a few hot selections (about 3 or 4) but the make your own waffle station was pretty cool. The breakfast room itself was spacious with newspapers available and TVs.

Location: As noted above the hotel is very close to the metro and in a quiet part of town. There are some reasonable meal choices around (i.e. a Ruby Tuesdays a couple of minutes away)

The staff were always friendly and helpful. Internet worked without any issues although they make you log-on every 6 hours or so (no big deal).

Overall I'd say Residence Inn is definitely a good option for visiting Washington DC especially if you're going to be there for a while.

Room Tip: If you're going to NYC after DC, the tripperbus goes from Rosslyn metro station.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAusCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This comfortable hotel boasts a decent kitchen, comfortable furnishings, and a delicious breakfast. The parking garage was a nice convenience, and the Metro stop was just a short walk. There was a pet fee, but being able to bring the dogs was a nice bonus. Some other guests seemed surprised at the fact pets were allowed (and in fact I overheard that to be the topic of one table's breakfast conversation.) We were predictably placed in a corner room in an upper floor to minimize the potential for our small dogs to disturb other guests, which must work fine for the hotel. The aforementioned table had one guest just itching to complain about the presence of dogs, but their companion said, "I haven't heard any barking at all." It is a bit of a hike to get to Hillside Park to let the dogs get some relief, though. Green space is at a premium.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoBucsGoRays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I have stayed at this location several times while on business trips to DC. The metro is within reasonable walking distance and it is nice to be able to park your own vehicle ($14-much lower than downtown DC) and be able to get to it fairly quickly if you feel like driving instead of the metro. The breakfast buffet and evening receptions really stand out. The food was kept fresh and well supplied. You are also within a short walk of grocery stores, a pharmacy, starbucks and several excellent eateries such as Red Hot and Blue (BBQ and highly recommended) and Ruby Tuesdays. You can come in off the GWP (George Washington Parkway) and avoid most of the heavy traffic and still get to DC quickly by the metro (Blue and Orange Lines) which is about a five minute walk away. I've been to 20 or so different hotels in the DC area on business travel and this is at or near the top of the list.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Our stay was fully satisfactory and it offered good value for the money, especially factoring in the excellent location. Still, this Residence Inn is a bit of oddity to me after having stayed in perhaps a dozen other RIs, and I'm not quite sure why. I think perhaps it is since this seems to be a franchisee RI, rather than a Marriott-owned RI. The hotel is a bit dated. The wear and tear is most notable in the kitchens with worn cabinets, dining tables with noticeable dings. The Hearth Room is also getting a bit tired but still well maintained. Everything seemed clean but a bit tired. The front desk staff, especially the female check-in staff are correct rather than friendly, which is a bit unlike most Residence Inns I have stayed. They rarely looked up from their computer terminals when guests walked, which is also unlike most RIs. The food area personnel are extremely warm and friendly and seem to take a genuine interest in the guests. One lovely woman wandered around every morning saying hello, asking how everything was, and offering coffee refills. The breakfasts were all what you'd expect from RI, high quality and lots of choices, which was great for our family of four with two small, fussy children. The Monday through Wednesday evening meals were excellent. The BBQ pulled pork sandwich was one of the best RI dinners I have ever had. The afternoon chocolate chip cookies were really delicious and our two monsters really enjoyed them.

The housekeepers were also quite friendly and very eager to help. No complaints whatsoever from their cleaning. We had no A/C issues as others have noted and were always cool, dry, and comfortable.

The location is excellent for U.S. Government travelers and Rosslyn has turned into a really hip enclave very close to downtown Washington. Great access to the Metro. There is a well stocked Safeway just a short walk away. A very good barber shop is also just a few minutes walk away. A yummy Chipotle is just a short walk. A bit further up the hill or by Metro is the really hip, trendy area of Clarendon. Internet geeks will love being able to tell their friends they stayed directly across the street from the building where the forerunner of the Internet was housed.

Downsides were as others have noted the extremely slow Wi-Fi. We had better success with a wired connection. Also, no pool, but that's probably why it's $70 less per night than the RI up the hill in Clarendon, which is much more new and does have a pool.

Our room 614 was not ideal since we seemed to be over some sort grate that was right on top of the Blue Line train heading from the Rosslyn Metro station toward Old Town Alexandria. We felt every train that went by while we laid in bed until the Metro's last train around Midnight and then again the first train at 05:30 every morning. I would recommend requesting an odd numbered room (07-19) which will put you on the quiet side of the hotel and away from the Metro noise. You do hear airplane noise less frequently no matter where you are but that's the price of being so central.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in odd numbers from -07 to -19 will put you on the quiet side of the hotel away from th...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancisUrquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Good location and convenient Metro connection.
Friendly staff. Housekeeping was excellent! Actually, the best part after the location….
Rooms can be improved significantly.
Also, elevators - slow and only two, so it really takes time, to arrive to the desired floor.
Gym - very, very small and with very basic equipment.
Breakfast – very unhealthy and limited choice; at least one vegan option should be available…

Room Tip: far from the elevator and from the construction side
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nestinarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 52 in Arlington
1,745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 52 in Arlington
930 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.2 mi away
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
#28 of 52 in Arlington
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn

Address: 1651 N Oak St, Arlington, VA 22209-2707
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Arlington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#8 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £97 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Arlington Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing