We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable choice for business or pleasure in Rosslyn/ DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I stayed here 3 nights on business. The location is excellent for my purposes but for others, the slog to public transportation up and down the hill in summertime temperatures may be a chore. There is adequate garage parking and at $10/day it is comparable to local rates.
My room was big enough for my needs but larger groups or families may find them lacking in space. The decor is pleasantly neutral, the television is a decent size, the channel selection is good and the free Internet works well. The air conditioning was effective at beating back the DC heat and humidity too. The gym is smallish but has a couple of good newer treadmills and some free weights. There is a pool long enough for laps but put some vacationing families in there and you won't be able to. Hours are limited at 4-10pm.
The biggest demerit for some may be noise. The rooms are not well insulated from each other or the hallways so if you are a light sleeper this may work against you. Add to that, this building and neighborhood are in the flight path of Reagan National Airport and the building is poorly insulated from the outside and you may find yourself a little irked at these aural intrusions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard Arlington/Rosslyn for 4 nights in May, 2011. We opted for this hotel because we thought it was close to the metro and we needed to be in the City for graduation activities. Well, first off, it is not that close to the metro. It's a LONG 4 blocks, and arriving at the metro with wheeled bags, we had to drag them up very steep streets to get to the hotel. It's in a business area so during the evening and weekend the area is pretty deserted, and you have to walk fairly far to get to any restaurants. Overall the hotel itself isn't bad. You are greeted with a strong smell of chlorine as you walk into the hotel lobby which is obviously coming from the indoor pool. They offer the standard free access to computers with internet connection, but not the complimentary coffee/tea bar that other Courtyards offer. The room we got was really poky and small and the pull out sofa bed was TERRIBLE, with the springs sticking into you all night. We asked for a cot which was much better but took up most of the room. The room was supposed to include free internet, but for the life of us we couldn't figure out how to connect to their system, so we finally gave up and used it downstairs. We use wireless a lot, so this was a mystery as to why it wouldn't connect. Our rate included a breakfast which was ordering off the menu in the restaurant. Overall it was a pretty good deal and the choices were reasonable, including oatmeal and juice or coffee, or other breakfast sandwiches or eggs. However, I would never stay there again as the location did not provide easy access to the metro and it was so desolate after hours, even the Starbucks across the street was closed!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eurotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I've been disappointed in traveling to different Courtyards and the wide variety between those that have not been updated and those that have. This one has and it shows. The lobby has the new Courtyard design, and the rooms have all the updated furniture. I stayed in a 2-queen suite, which has the space of 2 full rooms - everything was fully functional, comfortable bed, and 2 HD TVs (as a solo business traveler, I only needed one at a time). The air conditioning units are a little loud, but a small nit relative to a nice stay. Compared to the Key Bridge Marriott, which is older and stale, this Marriott property is much nicer and worth the extra couple blocks walk to Georgetown (and is equidistant to the Rosslyn metro).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

If you can't stay right in DC, this is a fairly decent alternative.

PROS:
-A quick 5-10 minute walk to the nearest Metro (Rosslyn), and from there a pretty quick (5-10 minute) ride to downtown DC on the orange or blue lines
-Starbucks, Safeway grocery, and CVS pharmacy practically around the corner
-Even at the height of cherry blossom season, they still had rooms available
-The lobby looks new and the staff are friendly
-There's some kind of casual restaurant in the lobby - I didn't try the food but it's convenient to have the option
-Rooms are decent sized, fairly clean, and beds are comfortable
-Free internet in rooms (but it's wired, not wireless)

CONS:
-The hotel is uphill atop a steep incline (but walking downhill towards the Metro is fine)
-VERY loud construction across the street started 7:15am each morning, looks like a new building just started so this could go on for months
-The free room internet is annoyingly wired, not wireless, so you can't plop on the bed after a long workday with your laptop and go online - you're tethered to the desk
-Still pretty pricey ($594 for 2 nights double) for a non-DC hotel, though - in all fairness - it was cherry blossom season
-The nearby Metro serves the blue and orange lines, which are hyper-crowded at rush hour - you sometimes have to wait for several trains to go by before you can (barely) squeeze in
- Returned 9:30pm one night from a work dinner and the streets were eerily quiet for a major metro area, I stuck to the main avenues & but it did make me a bit uncomfortable (a longtime Virginia resident later told me that despite the business vibe, she still considered the Rosslyn area "slightly sketchy")

Room Tip: Ask for room far away from construction
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

There was no water during some daytime hours during every day of my weekend stay. Elevators were out of service part of the time, and I had to use the freight elevator. The front desk was often empty, and calls to the front desk may go unanswered. The staff sometimes seemed clueless, and the stuff left in a safe deposit box may get misplaced.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nkhodoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I stayed in this hotel for four nights without a car. The experience was mediocre.

Upsides: clean room, courteous staff

Downsides: extremely loud construction of building across the street, hotel restaurant had poor selection of food items, my back hurt after waking up in the morning

Mixed: hotel has a fitness facility but the only strength-training equipment is a set of dumbbells (missing one), hotel is 4 blocks from a metro station

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrissman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Stayed at this Courtyard for a weekend visit to DC. It is funny that Courtyard advertises the "new lobby", well have to say it is nicer than the old lobby. The hotel is has a nice location close to the Rosslyn Metro and the Courthouse - Clarendon area. There are lots of restaurants, one we liked was the Village next to Ray's Hell Burger and a nice walk to Arlington Cemetery and Georgetown over the Key Bridge.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 52 in Arlington
1,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Key Bridge Marriott
Key Bridge Marriott
#29 of 52 in Arlington
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
0.1 mi away
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn

Address: 1533 Clarendon Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-2701
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Arlington
#26 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £81 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitalize on comfort and convenience at the newly renovated Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn. Located just two blocks from the Rosslyn Metro Station, our hotel gives leisure, business and government travelers direct access to experience the iconic Washington, D.C. You'll also be just minutes away from Arlington National Cemetery, where you can pay your respects to our nation's fallen heroes. Following a busy day, step into relaxation in our comfortable spaces. Complimentary Wi-Fi is provided to keep you connected to home and work, or stream your favorite movies and shows. Once you wake up, power your mornings with breakfast sandwiches and Starbucks® coffee at The Bistro, then make sure to return in the evening for tasty entrées and signature cocktails. Productive meetings and intimate celebrations can be easily hosted in one of our three event spaces. In your spare time, launch into a sweat-drenching cardio session at our newly expanded fitness center. Take your travels to the next level at Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Arlington Marriott
Arlington Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing