We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice older hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginian Suites Arlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Virginian Suites Arlington
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, MS
Level Contributor
200 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice older hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I booked this hotel because I wanted to be close to downtown D.C. without having to pay hundreds of dollars for one night. Little did I know it was across the street from Iwo Jima Memorial and next to Arlington National Cemetery. They also offer a shuttle to the Metro. The rooms were rather large. I had an issue with the bed, and they fixed it immediately with sincere apologies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdkittrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Jdkillrell
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your experience. I apologize that the room you were assigned had an issue with the bed. I am glad that the team was proactive at fixing the problem. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    336
    109
    53
    31
See reviews for
291
175
63
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I had a room with two bed for about 200 for two night. bath it's very close to the wall hotel location it's kind scary and dark if you want restaurant it's take less than 15 minute to reach it. wall painting in kitchen it unsatisfied but they put kitchen tool knife, spoon, e.s but it's do the jop

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Khalid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear KhalidH
Thank you for your review. We apologize if you found any part of our hotel and service just average. We certainly aim to be far more than that! It is our prerogative to provide every guest with high quality guest service! We look forward to your return, and wish to make up for the challenges you faced last time.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great hotel in a great location. This old apartment building turned hotel may not have all the amenities of large hotels, but what they don't have in amenities the staff makes up for with service! The rooms all have kitchens, there is a continental breakfast that I couldn't imagine walking away from hungry. It is near 2 metro stations, free parking, etc. I am a runner, so the proximity to the monuments (about 2 miles to the Lincon Monument) was fantastic! It is very close (1/10th mile to Iwo Jima memorial and 1/4 to Arlington Cemetery). The staff was so accomodating and very willing to help. Fresh fruit is always out, coffee, and cookies at night! Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JODYN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Jodyn3
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are happy you were able to benefit from and enjoyed our location and hotel amenities. We value your kind comments about our staff and we were more than happy to accommodate you. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintnersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The good :
Great location
Good rates
Terrific service and helpful attitudes from staff
Decent rooms which include full kitchen
Two markets within walking distance
The bad:
May have 6 bus loads of 8th graders running around
Corresponding buses in parking lot
No restaurant, bar
Very limited continental breakfast

This hotel is practically next to the Marine Corps Memorial (Iwo Jima), where the Corps tattoo is performed every Tuesday during the summer at 7pm. Walk on over, it's the best show in town, and it's free!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mark G
We appreciate you being a guest of our hotel and thank you for leaving your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall good guest experience with us and enjoyed the area, especially our close proximity to the Iwo Jima Memorial. We value your comments and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you on another trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Old hotel but large rooms, breakfast area similar to Hampton Inns. Close to Arlington Cem. Near Pentagon. Across river from Georgetown. Many government employees stay here. Paid parking.
Close to DCA but outside of Crystal City.

Room Tip: Back rooms are less noisy from DCA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Donald R
Thank you for sharing your hotel review with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our accommodations and convenient location. We appreciate you being a guest of ours and look forward to your next visit to DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A roomy suite, close to Arlington Cemetary
and the Iwo Jima Monument. It was everything we needed and more. Loved the breakfast buffet, and the free parking. Will stay here again if we return to DC. Only problem was it was a little hard to find the first day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4dtruker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear 4dtruker
Thank you for writing us a great comment on Tripadvasor. We are glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast service and the size of our rooms. Thank you again for staying at the Virginian Suites and we hope to see in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Went to DC again this year and stayed for the second time at the Virginian Suites ... they are remodeling some this year and updating which makes it better than last year ... which by the way was PERFECT. This is an old apartment building made into suites ... like an efficiency apartment. We love this place ... location is perfect ... the staff is the very best in the WORLD ... if you have a need and they can make it happen .... they do it. AND the price for that are of the US is unbeatable! Minutes from everything you want to see in Arlington and DC ... shuttles to the grocery ... free breakfast ... and did I say the staff cannot be beat!? Already planning another trip and will most definitely stay at the Virginian Suites!

Room Tip: I have stayed on the first and second floors ... they were the same as far as comfort and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgtootles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Dgtootles
Thank you for writing us another great comment on Tripadvasor. We really miss you here already and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Arlington
Hyatt Centric Arlington
#10 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
2.4 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#19 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Property: Virginian Suites Arlington
Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing