We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Virginian Suites Arlington
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Karen Taylor is one of the best hotel staff personnel I've every had the pleasure to do business with. There was a few hiccups in our reservation and Karen handle it with a smile and very quickly. The hotel offers free shuttles to the Metro, which makes sightseeing a breeze. They also offer a nice breakfast buffet. The room was open, quite and had fantastic air condition. The beds are comfy but the pull out sofa bed was not the best but with a brief conversation with Karen she recommended and had a rollaway sent to the room. This hotel staff is very traveler friendly and makes your stay wonderful! Would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Patricia M
Thank you very much for writing us such a great review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Our entire team would like to thank you for selecting our Hotel from among others in the area. We are glad that Karen was able to solve all the little issues that you have experienced. Our team will continue to provide outstanding service to all our Guests as you have experienced. We hope to welcome you soon to our Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Value: This is the best thing about the hotel. You are able to stay here in the summertime without breaking the bank, and it's an easy walk to Arlington National Cemetery, Iwo Jima Memorial, Rosslyn Metro Station (shuttle also).

Rooms: I stayed on the 9th Floor far away from the elevator (just as requested). The room was very large and could easily accommodate two people. the bathroom was unequally small for how big the rest of the rooms was (king suite), and they only give you two towels for the room, they aren't the big fluffy kind either. The appliances all worked, and everything in the kitchen was clean on my arrival. The wallpaper wasn't in the best condition and they still have window A/C units which is very annoying. The room was cleaned well, and no complaints about noise.

Breakfast: Yogurt, bagels, cereal, juice, milk (even soy), and then they had flat bread egg and cheese biscuits that you had to heat up in the microwave. It was always well stocked, but not an amazing selection. It's free though so you can't complain too much.

Service: I always found the staff to be nice and helpful whenever I needed them, I saw another couple complaining about something and the staff who was helping them escorted them to their new room and was extremely polite to them. There was always lemonade and ice water in the lobby along with coffee and it was constantly being replenished, a nice touch in June.

Pool: I went to the pool a couple of times, it was kept in good condition and had a sunny spot and shady spot for those who needed that. The fitness room however was junk.

Overall I would come back and stay here, especially in the summer when hotel prices elsewhere are ridiculously high. I consider this place a good bargain for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brock F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Brock F
Our entire team would like to thank you for staying with us and thank you for providing honest feedback regarding your service experience. Your specific comments will assist us in improving our service delivery. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stumbled over this wonderful surprise while searching for two rooms near the Vamoose Bus stop in Rosslyn (our ultimate destination was NYC). We learned (from an incredibly informative staff) that it was a former apartment building built in the '50s and converted to a hotel. What a find! Huge rooms w/full kitchen, a very nice outdoor pool area, close to eateries in Rosslyn (and just up the street the very interesting Quarterdeck Seafood Restaurant) all walkable--as well as less than half a mile from our bus stop. Upon checking in we found an interested staff who couldn't do enough to answer our questions, steer us to those eateries etc.--and were just very nice people. Rooms are under $200--and very often under $130--which is remarkable for this area. The apples, oranges, and cookies in the lobby daily are a great touch. We would not consider staying anywhere else when coming to this area. Great job to all who have anything to do with this property! It and its staff are gems!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CvilleMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Cvillemike
Thank you for your feedback regarding recent stay with us. Our entire team is geared toward providing simple but memorable personable interactions. We are glad that you have enjoyed our rooms and location of the hotel. Thank you again for choosing the Virginian Suites and we hope to see you in the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Sarah initially took our reservation in February 2014 and we were greeted by her upon our arrival on June 2. She was extremely accommodating; remembered our first and last names throughout our entire stay, and was an absolute delight to work with. We chose Virginian Suites due to its proximity to Arlington National Cemetery and the Marine Corp Iwo Jima Memorial. The suite was worth every penny, was extremely comfortable, and accommodated our party of four. Compared to other properties we considered, this was a bargain with easy access to downtown Washington, DC.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at the Virginian Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear AlanS
It was great to hear that you have had fantastic time during your recent stay at the Virginian Suites. Our entire team would like to thank you for selecting our Hotel from among others in the area. Your comments regarding Sara were fantastic! We have passed along your Kudos-

Look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were there to bury someone at Arlington Cemetary and this hotel is only about 4 minutes from the front gates, very convenient. Also, the Iwo Jima monument is literally a brief walk and is very moving.

The room: dated, but comfortable. Big living area and a full kitchen was nice. Our view was ok. The room DID have all the amenities that anyone would need to stay awhile and be comfortable. The pull out couch was nice too.

The lobby was beautiful, but I didn't get a room for the lobby. The common hallways were VERY stale smelling, like an old hotel, which this is. They DO need to spend some money on updating the hallways and getting some air moving through them. The elevators were VERY small. We had to wait a couple of times because they were full, but atleast they were fast, so we didn't wait too long.

Overall, not too many complaints just not overly impressed. The staff was ok, it DID take two attempts to have our toilet unclogged(which was clogged upon arrival).

Parking is charged and breakfast is charged unless you are a CHoice Rewards member.

I would probably stay here again, but now I know what to expect.

Room Tip: Nothing to see in this area, so it really doesn't matter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Eagledude
Thank you for staying with us and providing your service aspirations. With your specific comments we will continue to look for ways of improving our service delivery and meet traveler price value expectations. Our entire team would like to thank you for selecting our Hotel among large number of Hotels in the area.
We hope to welcome you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I booked this hotel because I wanted to be close to downtown D.C. without having to pay hundreds of dollars for one night. Little did I know it was across the street from Iwo Jima Memorial and next to Arlington National Cemetery. They also offer a shuttle to the Metro. The rooms were rather large. I had an issue with the bed, and they fixed it immediately with sincere apologies.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdkittrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Jdkillrell
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your experience. I apologize that the room you were assigned had an issue with the bed. I am glad that the team was proactive at fixing the problem. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I had a room with two bed for about 200 for two night. bath it's very close to the wall hotel location it's kind scary and dark if you want restaurant it's take less than 15 minute to reach it. wall painting in kitchen it unsatisfied but they put kitchen tool knife, spoon, e.s but it's do the jop

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Khalid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eda M, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear KhalidH
Thank you for your review. We apologize if you found any part of our hotel and service just average. We certainly aim to be far more than that! It is our prerogative to provide every guest with high quality guest service! We look forward to your return, and wish to make up for the challenges you faced last time.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 52 in Arlington
1,763 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £72 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing