We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much okay for the money”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2008

While in appearance this surely is the "poor kid on the block" (only non-highrise and older building between brandnew big office properties) it provides good value for little money.

The two-bed-room we got was clean and big enough for our family of four. Directly across our window there was the highway - but the windows were thick enough, so we did sleep comfortably. The hallways smelled bad, because some air conditions blew out terrible heat into it and breakfast choices were sparse after 9 a.m. - these were the only downpoints we found.

We appreciated free parking, the good location (close to shopping and metro) and especially the helpful staff which directed us to good restaurants. Also nice was the free shuttle service - we are avid walkers, but in 90+ weather it is nice to be taken to the metro station or the mall.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank frankie424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2008

The location is great, near the Metro station Crystal City, only 5 minutes walk. If you take the exit from Marriott Gateway, it only takes you 2 minutes under the sun in summer...

but there is some staris in the lobby which you have to go through so if you have heavy luggage you have to carry them down.

it's good to have a balcony but it seems that you would never enter it for security reason...

Comparing to the price and location, it is good for you to plan a enconomic trip in Washintong DC....

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Italianism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We stayed at the Americana for three nights in June.
I agree that the Hotel is some years old, but the accommodation was spotless !
The location is perfect. A few minutes walk to the Metro and all Crystal City Shops and Restaurants.The breakfast was well above average with plenty of choice.Staff were also very helpful.
I would say a big thumbs up to the owners, keeping a family business alive amidst all the big Hotel chains.
We plan to visit Washington again and the Americana will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank duckcity50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

This hotel was great for our family of 4. The price was right, especially for the area, the hotel was very clean. Every employee we spoke with, were very friendly and helpful. As long as you aren't looking for luxury, most normal people would be totally satisfied with this hotel. I'm not into paying too much money for just a place to lay my head down....I'd rather spend my money on other things.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amoilnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Given the expensive nature of accomodation in the DC area this was a good deal. We stayed three nights and paid $109 a night. The Americana is close to the Metro and the motel provides a shuttle service to/from Reagan National Airport. A breakfast is provided that is no worse than that provided in many chain motels. The rooms were clean but we did get bedbugs which caused significant problems in ensuring we did not bring them into our home later. We have not yet had a response from the manager regarding our complaint. The building and furniture are very dated and there was a mustiness in our room.The bed and pillows were fairly comfortable. Air traffic is loud and the motel is right beside a major highway. The walls were thin enough to hear our neighbours even when we used the air conditioner . We felt safe in the neighbourhood. The quality of the staff was consistent with the quality of the motel -ie. mediocre. Would I stay there again? Only for the convenience to DC and the price.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank objectiveandfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2008

We are very sorry to hear that one of our guests had a less than favorable assessment of their stay, and appreciate the opportunity to address their complaints.

Regarding the breakfast, we offer a complimentary continental breakfast from 6am - 10am. It typically includes:
*Coffee, Hot Chocolate, Milk & Orange Juice
*Deer Park Spring Water
*Twinings and/or Bentley's Teas in 4-10 Flavors
*3 Different Types of Cereal (which currently includes Kellogg's Special K, Kellogg's Smart Start, Kellogg's Fruit Loops, Nature's Path Organic Optimum Power, and Familia Low-Fat Muesli)
*Donuts, Croissants, Bagels, Pastries & Muffins Made and Delivered Fresh Daily
*Butter, Cream Cheese & Jelly
*Fresh Fruits, including Apples, Oranges & Bananas, are available most days

Regarding the bed bugs, upon receiving the complaint, our executive housekeeper immediately checked the room and found no signs of any pests in the room. Within one hour of the complaint, two additional members of our staff also checked the room and found no signs of pests. To accomplish checking the room, we took out (and inspected) all linens, checked the mattresses, box springs, underneath the beds, the corners of the room, the bathroom, and generally did a thorough inspection of the entire room. We did not find any bed bugs and have not had any additional complaints regarding bed bugs in that room or any other room in the hotel since that time. We also have a monthly pest service that checks the entire premises for signs of pest activity and their logs do not indicate the presence of bed bugs.

As a general note, bed bugs are a very serious matter because of the difficulty of exterminating them completely, their rapid multiplication, and the undesirable skin reaction caused by their bites. Any first hand experience with bed bugs would likely result in not wanting to repeat the experience, even if it meant saving a few dollars. Additionally, a lack of any other reports of pest activity at a hotel typically means that the hotel does not have a pest problem. It is unfortunate, but if a pest is observed under this circumstance, more often than not, that pest is brought in by the traveler, usually in their luggage. In this situation, we take proactive steps to help ensure infestation does not occur.

Regarding Americana Hotel itself, it was built in 1963 and needs renovation, however we strive to keep our rooms and common areas clean and comfortable. A few notes:

*Within the last six months, we have replaced most of the beds in the hotel, including the one in the room in question, with Serta Perfect Sleeper Master Suite's.

*The walls between the rooms are about 6 inches of cinderblock, and we rarely have any complaints about adjacent room noise; it seems to depend on the guest as to whether or not they hear their neighbors.

*We are conveniently located about 1 mile from Reagan Airport, so there is some air traffic noise; most guests, however, do not notice and/or mind.

*The lobby side of our hotel faces the 15th Street Exit Ramp off Route 1, so it is subject to road noise; again, it is very rare that a guest notices or minds, but it does occasionally happen.

Regarding the mediocre quality of the staff, we are sorry to hear if any of our guests feel this way and apologize for any shortcomings on our part. We are constantly striving to improve and appreciate all feedback that helps us provide exceptional customer service to every guest. We also hope this response has been helpful in determining whether or not Americana Hotel is the right place for your accommodation needs, and we thank you very much for considering us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

The outside of the hotel looks like a stereotypyical welfare hotel. It appears quite run down. Some rooms are situated inside the building and some are outside. Several people told us that we were lucky that the elevator stopped on our floor, since they were unable to catch it from their floor. While clean, our room needed major updates. There was wood covering the bathroom window and the room faced a very close highway. The breakfast was decent, mostly made up of donuts. They ran out of bowls for the cereal and it took quite some time for them to be replaced. The staff appeared disinterested in our need for directions and restaurant suggestions. The metro is one block over if you take the short cut. There is so much to do in the Washington, DC area that one does not spend much time in the room. This was the most affordable, convenient, and safe hotel that we could find in the area during a busy season. But I don't think that we would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights, in order to have a cheap room in the area of DC. After all, I see that it is a mistake to think that if you can save 20 $ a night you are still okay with just a roof over your head..... After this experience, I swore myself to never ever check into a hotel again that my husband booked and which already looked disgusting from the outside!

When we arrived at the Americana, we were (tried to)checked in by an eldery man, who had problems to read the reservation, nor could find the key. After some time spending in the filthy lobby, we went to the elevator, since our room was on the third floor.
I am still happy to be alive, after taking that elevator! They had two, but one was already out of order. Who knows, how long the other one'll be still in the game.......
Our room was okay. Not too dirty, but not too clean either. Anyways, its nothing you would expect on an outskirt of Washington DC for a price of 150 $ a night!

Clearly, we had a family with children next door, since we could hear that children breathing! The walls were out of paper, and totally useless.
The second night, somebody stayed next door, who had a bad cold. Unfortuanely I catched that cold the next day. I don't even want to think about if I got it from the guy next door.

Every room at Americana has a balcony. It might have been nice to go outside to get a bit of "fresh" air (as fresh as it could be directely at the highway). Unfortunately it was not possible to open the balcony door. It was too rusty...... Due to that, it was not possible to close it properly either.

I don't even want to start with the breakfast. Just so much: "things" someone's able to eat are not automatically a breakfast, just because they are "served" in the morning!

Oh! And the nice lady at the reception....... I personally think that she really hated her job. Or just people... I don't know exactly. Anyways, we asked her how we could reach the subway to go into town and she looked at us as if we just asked her to eat the carpet. Then she showed us into one direction, that was definately the wrong way. How hard can it be???
And that walk ins't safe at all! You have to nearly climb up on a little field and walk through the mud, until passing several main streets and getting to the subway.

They had free wireless internet though, and we were able to find a nicer hotel for the rest of our trip!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NinaKrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
2.4 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#10 of 52 in Arlington
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
3.7 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#42 of 52 in Arlington
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £53 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing