We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Americana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Crystal Gateway Marriott(Arlington)
US$316
US$271
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ballston(Arlington)(Great Value!)
US$143
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Arlington(Arlington)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$202
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Virginian Suites Arlington(Arlington)(Great Value!)
US$152
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$174
US$151
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$475
US$361
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge(Arlington)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,456)
Filter reviews
1,456 results
Traveller rating
449
676
232
61
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
676
232
61
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdonutsfree parkingcrystal citypink tilefree continental breakfastdeluxe rooman older hotelmetro stationdc areabudget hotelshuttle serviceclean roomsmini fridgejefferson davis highwayreagan airportwould stay here againsafe area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 1,456 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is actually located on Eads street, right next to Embassy Suites. That is the entrance you will have to take. It is actually at the rear of the hotel. Many years ago the Jeff Davis Highway entrance was closed off because of the construction along Route 1.Nonetheless, the hotel maintained its Jefferson Highway address.
I have stayed at this for the past 7-8 years for 3-4 months each year while on business and I can't say enough good things about my stays here. If you're looking for a fancy hotel, you won't
find it here. But in my opinion this hotel in the Washington, DC area is unbeatable because of the following factors:
1. very short walk to the METRO
2. clean and very affordable room prices, a top priority for me.
3. very courteous and pleasant hotel staff, from the owner to the desk staff, housekeeping staff and limo drivers
4. complimentary continental breakfast (bagels, fruit, cereal, doughnuts, orange and apple juice, tea and coffee) Coffee available 24/7. Front desk staff on duty 24/7.
5. complimentary shuttles to and from Reagan airport and to nearby restaurants
6. free parking
In my opinion you can't match this value anywhere. After all, the hotel has been owned and operated by the family for over 50 years. Also, as a side note, part of the movie "State of Play" with Ben Affleck and Russell Crowe was filmed in the hotel a few years back. The movie company was looking for a retro hotel and they found it in the Americana, staff.. My compliments go out to the entire staff..Great job and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a car, you can get a room at the end of the hall on any floor which is convenient to the outside elevator.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you so much for the review, Les! We always appreciate having you stay with us and can't thank you enough for taking the time to let others know about your stay. We couldn't agree more that we are the best hotel value in the Washington, D.C. area and are glad we continue to live up to your expectations year after year. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to our entire team and look forward to seeing you for years to come!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We recently helped move my son to DC. I had researched hotels closer to his apartment in DC and was discouraged by the rates of upwards of $200 per night with an additional $25-$35 to park the car. Determined to find a better solution I went across the river to Arlington where I stumbled across TripAdvisor's reviews of the Americana Hotel. What a find! If you are looking for a luxury hotel this is not for you. But if you are looking for a comfortable and clean place, convenient to the Metro, at an incredible rate, look no further. We opted to stay in one of the deluxe rooms based on some of the reviews I had read that said that "deluxe" meant the room was more recently renovated (2012, I think.) The room was pleasing with an incredibly comfortable bed. The bathroom was a bit retro with its older facilities (sink, tub, etc.) and its pink tiles but was squeaky clean which is most important to us. The water was also very hot and plentiful. In the morning they offered a very basic continental breakfast (included in your rate) of bagels, donuts, muffins and cereal with juice and coffee. Parking is included in your hotel rate and on the day you check out you can leave your car there until midnight which gives you an added day to sight-see, etc. using public transportation. All of this for $93 (deluxe king.) Less than half of what I would have paid across the river. The only minor complaint we have is that the wifi was not strong enough in our room and my husband went downstairs to the cafe area to access the internet more reliably. We would stay here again in a second. Friendly and helpful staff, too.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room for an additional $10 per night. Other reviewers claim they are more recently renovated.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We can't thank you enough for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write such a LOVELY review! Your kind words make all the difference in the world to our entire team and we'll be sure to pass them along. We sincerely appreciate you letting others know of our clean hotel, convenient location, and most importantly, great value, and we hope to see you soon--perhaps a visit to your son is in order!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed for 7 days late Oct early Nov. I found the location to be everything others have said. Close to the metro so into Washington easily and quickly. Pentagon city fashion centre a large mall with lots of eating choices and Crystal city also lots of stores and eating choices. Typical motel type room and even though the bathroom is old school and reminds you of your childhood home, the room was well kept..stayed in deluxe queen room...and clean. Only used the shuttle once when it was raining and it was quick. Overall a great stay for such a reasonable price. If you have a vehicle it is only a short drive down Jefferson Davis to a Target or Walmart if you are price conscious.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few bucks for a deluxe room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dman404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and letting us know you think we're an excellent budget hotel option! We're glad to hear you appreciated our convenient location, retro charm, clean rooms, and reasonable price. Thank you also for giving a little extra information about our location and rooms to future travelers; we know it will help them! Thank you again, and we hope to see you whenever you're in the D.C. area!!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A bit hard to find. Their drive way is between Bank of America and Embassy Suites. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. We had free parking until midnight the day we checked out. Which allowed us to venture out to DC for the day. We opted to walk the 1/2 mile to the Pentagon City Metro stop (according to google maps, Crystal City Metro is 1/3 mile walk).

The carpet in our room needed a good cleaning.
The bathroom is very small.
Sheets were clean.
Small fridge in the room.
Continental breakfast was as expected.

Overall a good value considering proximity to DC.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear you appreciated our friendly staff, convenient location, and good value. We apologize for the difficulty finding us; although the state took our entrance from Jefferson Davis Highway, we've never been issued a new address for our entrance on S. Eads St. and continue to look for solutions to help guests find us without trouble. Thank you also for letting us know about the carpet in your room; we usually do deep cleaning in the off season (November - February) and hope you will find it more satisfactory if you visit us again.

Thank you again for being our guest. We hope to see you again in the future!

Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending workshops in Arlington at the Hyatt. Free shuttle service was available all day and all evening back and forth. Drivers were very accommodating. Breakfast was more than adequate and was available until late morning. Bed was very comfortable - room very clean. Some of the people at the front desk could have been a little friendlier. Overall, an excellent experience -- I would certainly stay there again. It was close enough to the busy area that we walked some times.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetuniaUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed our great value, clean rooms, free shuttle service, and comfortable beds, and hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews