We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Americana is basic, clean & cheap”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
NW Washington State
2 reviews
“Americana is basic, clean & cheap”
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We stayed two nights in the Americana. It is run down but clean. It is a basic accommodation for those who are just looking for a clean bed and a shower. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — The price; clean
  • Disliked — Wi-fi is spotty
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dawnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    639
    214
    55
    37
See reviews for
381
409
150
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Went to DC for Labor Day weekend -- hotel had a 25% off rate ($56.25/night). Staff was very friendly, even giving us an extra night at the same cost when we showed up early. This is an older hotel, so we didn't expect the finest amenities, but it had everything we needed at a great location at Arlington. The room was a nice size, very clean, large TV. The continental breakfast was certainly adequate (cereal, donuts, great muffins, bagels, apples, coffee and really good OJ. Parking was free. The Metro was only 2 blocks away. Crystal City and Pentagon Center shopping were just a couple of blocks away. The only slight negative was that we had to go down to the end of the hall to get Wi-Fi. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SSTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenwick Island, DE
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2008

The Americana Hotel is old but very clean with free parking and free continental breakfast. My problem arose when I tried to leave. The hotel is built on a slope and when I was parking underneith the building I did't realize that when I went to pull out that my Hummer was higher than the ceiling of the garage. There was a person parked behind me. I was stuck. I went to the female receptionist and told her my predicament at which time she said "WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO DO ABOUT IT". iT WENT DOWN HILL FROM THERE. After a few words, I went back out to try to find another solution. Two gentlemen from the hotel appeared and genually tried to help me and eventually found the owner of the car behind me who luckly was leaving that morning as well. Signs hanging from the low ceiling would have warned me to find another place to park or a sign saying no SUVs under the hotel. The receptionist said there were signs but I went back specifically to search for those signs and saw NONE. This made my very pleasant stay HORRIBLE. What a shame. A big thanks to the two gentlemen from the Hotel.

Helpful?
Thank SDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AR, USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

As many have posted, the hotel looks very dated and out of place for the area, but it is VERY clean and is probably the best deal in DC area.

The staff were very helpful and shuttle service was great. If you want to stay in for dinner after a long day, ask the shuttle driver to take you to the Kabob Palace a few blocks away for some take-out....simply awesome.

If you're looking for the Ritz, this isn't it. But if you're looking for a good clean and inexpensive tourist hotel in the DC area, I'd advise you to give the Americana a chance.

  • Liked — Value and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Doesn't seem to fit cosmetically with the rest fo the neighborhood.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hillcresthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Recommended for location and value: We were looking for an inexpensive hotel in or near DC for weekend sightseeing trip in DC. The hotel is clean, feels like a jump back to the 60s with the pink/black tile in the bathrooms. It is relatively quiet - did not hear the highway which was right next to the room. The free parking was a huge plus. The Metro was a 5 min - 1 block walk from the hotel. We were able to park the car for the weekend and do all our traveling via the metro. The area is decent, lots of good food choices on 23rd street. It is older, so don't expect a lot of fancy extras in the room or lobby - just the basics.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Bed was too soft for me
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cycl1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocholt
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

While in appearance this surely is the "poor kid on the block" (only non-highrise and older building between brandnew big office properties) it provides good value for little money.

The two-bed-room we got was clean and big enough for our family of four. Directly across our window there was the highway - but the windows were thick enough, so we did sleep comfortably. The hallways smelled bad, because some air conditions blew out terrible heat into it and breakfast choices were sparse after 9 a.m. - these were the only downpoints we found.

We appreciated free parking, the good location (close to shopping and metro) and especially the helpful staff which directed us to good restaurants. Also nice was the free shuttle service - we are avid walkers, but in 90+ weather it is nice to be taken to the metro station or the mall.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank frankie424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2008

The location is great, near the Metro station Crystal City, only 5 minutes walk. If you take the exit from Marriott Gateway, it only takes you 2 minutes under the sun in summer...

but there is some staris in the lobby which you have to go through so if you have heavy luggage you have to carry them down.

it's good to have a balcony but it seems that you would never enter it for security reason...

Comparing to the price and location, it is good for you to plan a enconomic trip in Washintong DC....

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Italianism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 51 in Arlington
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
2.5 mi away
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing