We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Pros: Comfortable bed, Clean, Inexpensive, Free parking, Great location, Safe, Quick check in/out

Cons: Thin walls! (not a major issue)

Overall, great value. Not fancy but its good if you just need a place to sleep!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    632
    211
    54
    37
See reviews for
376
404
149
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durango
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel was as advertised. Staff was excellent. Breakfast was minimal even for just continental. Shuttle drivers were helpful and friendly. Rooms were okay but if promoted as deluxe rooms they could have been better. Great location to Crystal City Metro. Overall I would recommend with moderate expectations.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank durangofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We glad to hear we lived up to your expectations and especially that our team members were excellent! We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of them. We're sorry to hear that you only found us to be an "Average" hotel compared to other limited-service, budget properties, and if you have the time and inclination, we would love to hear from you at info [at] americanahotel.com to let us know how we could improve to a "Very Good" or "Excellent" budget property.

Thanks again!
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The people at the front desk are friendly, and eager to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. The shuttle service is very convenient, every night they drove us to the restaurant and picked us up. Great location, at a walking distance from the metro, restaurants and shops. The room was nothing fancy, but clean and quiet. We'll definitively go back and we'll recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaufortnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect location close to both Crystal City and Pentagon City metro stops either one walkable but they will drop you off. Free parking, free breakfast, very nice staff. Not a luxury hotel but clean and great location and great staff. Family owned, less than half the price of hotels next door.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Markbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Americana is within easy walking distance of the metro, but also provides a shuttle if you need it. Its located in a safe area, we were walking around outside after 10pm and had no problems. Parking was free so that was a big plus. The breakfast is you're basic continental, mostly Dunkin' Doughnut pastries, cereals, coffee, and juices. We did not stay in the updated rooms so I can't speak to those. The standard rooms are older and outdated, but are clean which is most important. The hallway did have a smokey smell to it, but we didn't notice the smell in the room so it wasn't a big deal. Overall, this is a cheap, well located hotel that provides the basic amenities you would get at a bigger chain, but is not as nice as upper end hotels. I think the location near the metro and free parking make the price of this hotel a real bargain, add in the free internet and breakfast and this is an automatic stay for us in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank merideen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baskerville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

As you may know, this is an older mom and pop facility, but recently renovated. It's good, basic clean and safe lodging. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable but not fancy. There is a flat screen tv, hair dryer, iron/board and cube refrig. Free wireless, continental breakfast and local shuttle. And it's only about two blocks from Crystal City Metro...and a rabbit path to boot! Bring your own alarm clock and radio (or internet device for radio)...that's about the only shortcoming I can find. Above all, the room rates are fantastic. Close to Pentagon Fashion Centre as well as Crystal City Shops and Regan Airport. Speaking of the Crystal City Shops, there's a hot carry out buffet there that's half price after 5pm weekdays. Be quick as it's about gone by 530. But by all means book a stay at the Americana and help keep an American tradition business going.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I have stayed at the Americana for many years. Recently, I have been staying there every week for work. The staff is great, the hotel is a great value. I live in NC, but work in DC now. When I came back to the DC area, the first place I wanted to stay at was the Americana. They treat you like family, and the friendly, relaxed nature of this place is like an Oasis, when in the this area especially. It is convenient to everything, and they will help you get to where ever you want to go. I have stayed at all the high-end hotels in Crystal City, but, I chose the Americana over all of them. They don't treat you like a number, but, like a person. I cannot say enough good things.,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#14 of 51 in Arlington
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing