We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the Washington, D.C. area!”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Duryea, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the Washington, D.C. area!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I discovered Americana Hotel last fall and had a wonderful time and then decided after receiving a Cyber Monday discount offer that we would visit another time on our 35th wedding anniversary in April. Another wonderful stay.....great services, friendly staff, safe neighborhood. We love the Americana Hotel and will continue to stay while visiting the capitol region, which will be for many more years to come. Thank you so much for the hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    625
    209
    53
    37
See reviews for
371
398
149
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spartan rooms (no extra pillows, for example), and the breakfast area was too small to serve the guests. On the plus side, the free wifi worked and they gave us a free ride to Reagan car rental. It was convenient after a long flight arriving late.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LangleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a second year we stayed here at Americana. We couln't be happier, and definitely coming back next year to see the cherry blossom and the parade. Free airport p/u and drop off. Thank you the man from Ethiopian working at the desk who allowed us the early check in and late check out. (sorry I forgot your name G.....something) We appreciate the extra service for no extra charged. Breakfast included/ clean room and working shower with hot water. What more can we ask for the price we paid? Na da....Metro station is just a walking distance in safe area. Parking is free and well lid. People who expect more, please go next door and pay more for what you want extras. We need vacancies for next year check in, and will bring some friends with us....Thank you for being there for us Americana.....KL and PH from FL

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a large party (adults and youth) who stayed for 4 nights.

We will start with the pros: Beds were comfortable, staff was nice and provided free shuttle to certain locations (airport, mall). Location is very convenient to the Metro and highway access and they offer a continental breakfast of doughnuts, bagels, fruit, cereal and coffee. The water pressure in the shower was great; Free parking and a well lit parking lot. There was also a water cooler available for customers in the lobby and free wi-fi. There are mini-fridges in each room and a microwave next to the lobby.

Cons: our bathroom had black (actually brown) mold all over the ceiling. I'm assuming this is because there is no ventilation system, with the exception of the window that opens to the hallways. There were two patches (one small and one large) of broken tile in the bathroom, the nightstand lamp was broken; one of the youths rooms smelled like vomit when he checked in; the elevator was very dirty. It wasn't mopped/cleaned in a very long time. The towels were horribly scratchy (again, you get what you pay for) and there was no counter space in the bathroom.

Another member of our party stayed on another floor and broke out the first day there due to a reaction she believes from the room. Her room had not been updated/repainted, etc and she was more than disappointed. Our room at least appeared to be somewhat freshly painted.

Our entire party was disappointed overall by our stay and agreed we got what we paid for. We would not choose to stay there again due to the lack of overall cleanliness.

There is no pool, fitness center or business center on grounds which we knew when booking. It would've been nice to have a business center.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie52414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear you liked our beds, staff, location, free parking, free shuttle, free wi-fi, and free continental breakfast, and that, in consideration of our affordable rates, you felt like you received what you paid for.

Unfortunately, there were several aspects of your stay that were a disappointment, and for that, we apologize. One of our top priorities is cleanliness, and as you probably noticed, most of our guests praise our clean rooms. It is not acceptable to us that you did not have the same experience, and even though it is too late to remedy the problem for you, we would sincerely appreciate if you would e-mail us at info@americanahotel.com and let us know the rooms you referenced in your review so we can address the problems.

A couple other issues you mentioned, including the lack of pool, fitness center, and business center, are typical of a limited service or budget property, and unfortunately, most are beyond our control. We try to do our best to explain them to guests prior to them making reservations with us and apologize if we did not do this properly when you were considering us. For example, we used to have a pool, but it was taken out when the state took the front of our property to make the exit ramp and large wall you saw across the front of our property. We did not have control of the property for many years and were unable to make any changes to the property or even complete the hotel as planned (it was supposed to be twice as large as it is today). It was a constant struggle just to try to stay in business as our two front entrances (along with the pool) were taken and construction lagged on. This, coupled with our commitment to providing an affordable accommodations option in an extremely expensive area, has also played a key role in us keeping our original bathrooms, which, unfortunately have no counter space. To remodel all of our bathrooms would force us to raise our rates and most of our guests prefer the tradeoff of the retro bathrooms for affordable rates. In our deluxe king and queen rooms, however, we have tried to address this issue by installing a nice granite topped vanity area just outside of the bathroom with storage space, lighting and electrical outlets to facilitate getting ready. As to the towels, we have the premium option provided by our vendor and again, most guests find them to be much more plush than what you might encounter at other budget hotel properties. We apologize that you found them scratchy and will be sure to have our executive housekeeper check to make sure we are not receiving the wrong product. Lastly, we do apologize that another member of your party was in a standard room and would have preferred a deluxe room that had been recently renovated. We are doing our best to get all of our rooms renovated and hopefully will get there soon, but until then, we will continue to try to explain the differences on our website and to our phone callers so our guests can choose the room type and rate that best suits them.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback. We will certainly use it to try to improve our business, and if you have any additional comments, questions, or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a very good hotel at the price point - one of the lowest price in the DC area. Great location close to airport and restaurant. Not fancy but clean and comfortable room. Free basic breakfast. Free parking and shuttle. We would stay again.

For improvements, the faucets should be replaced with newer and easier to use faucets. Eggs could be added to breakfast menu.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iim1dcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're glad you appreciated our great rates, convenient location, clean and comfortable rooms, and valuable free amenities, and we will pass along your kind words to the rest of our team. Also, thank you so much for your suggestions--we're always looking for ways to improve!

We hope to see you again soon,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Americana is an old fashioned hotel/motel. Very budget friendly. I loved that it was extremely clean and was obviously updated. Continental breakfast in lobby was help yourself but food was plentiful and fresh. No coffee maker in room but coffee was in lobby. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Parking was a breeze and wifi worked great! A block to metro at the gateway marriot and it's shops. No frills but a great place to stay. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to let others know about your experience! We're glad you appreciated our affordable rates, clean rooms, free amenities, great location, and friendly staff, and will be sure to pass along to kind words to the rest of our team. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the D.C. area!

Warmest regards,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This property is showing its age, but is generally clean and fairly convenient. The breakfast was as expected, although the fruit selection and quality was better than some. Wireless internet worked great. My problems were with the shower, which was directed at my upper chest/neck (I'm 6'2") and the nighttime noise. One night one of my neighbors had the TV on all night and I could clearly hear it. If I knew which neighbor I would have gone and asked them to turn it down, but I wasn't sure and I was dead tired. I ended up sleeping with headphones on. No fitness center either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_guy815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed our clean rooms, location, breakfast, and Wi-Fi. We're sorry to hear you were bothered by noise during your stay and wish we had been given the opportunity to address the problem while you were here. As to the shower, it is original to the building, and we apologize for the inconvenience it caused you; we hope, however, that the pressure was good.

As a limited service, budget property, we don't always have the same amenities as larger, more expensive hotels, including a restaurant, fitness center, pool, meeting rooms, etc., however we try to suggest alternatives whenever possible. There are many great parks and trails in the area to help meet your fitness goals, and we'd be happy to recommend some if you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing