We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are deceiving”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looks are deceiving”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Upon arriving at the Americana we were confused cause it looks so shabby from the street and it got good reviews. You drive into a parking lot and at the back is a tiny lobby facing the back of the parking lot. Turns out the rooms are clean and the personnel are pleasant. The provided breakfast was more than adequate with many choices such as cereal, bagel, donut, juice, and coffee. All fresh every day. They provide a shuttle to the nearby restaurants. Big mistake not taking our car. Took them an hour to come get us after dinner! First he was on his way from an airport drop. Then he was on his way to us. Then he was back at the hotel while we were still waiting. This was the only glitch but at the time it was annoying. Overall the hotel which is fairly reasonably priced was worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're glad you enjoyed our clean rooms, friendly team, free fresh breakfast, and reasonable prices, and we sincerely appreciate you pointing out these positive aspects to other travelers. We do apologize for the wait on the shuttle. While we do our best to minimize wait times, occasionally we are not as successful as we would like, particularly is we are quite busy. We appreciate you mentioning this time so that we can improve our operations and have passed along your concern to the rest of our team.

We hope to see you again the next time you're in the D.C. area!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    632
    212
    54
    37
See reviews for
377
404
149
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Older property but clean, great location and complimentary shuttle to Metro. Close to the Crystal City shops (good variety of food). Friendly and helpful staff. Only negative comment would be poor wifi connection especially at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasheenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us and writing a review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall and just wanted you to know that we are currently planning an upgrade to our Wi-Fi system to address the connectivity issue you mentioned. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again whenever you're in the D.C. area!

Warm regards,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The price was great, our room comfy, the area felt safe and the staff very accommodating. We made use of the fridge in the room and the microwave in the lobby area. (My husband even microwaved eggs in a baggie each morning to go with the continental breakfast) We did not have our own car and there are no restaurants in the immediate area but if you don't want to walk, the complimentary shuttle to and from the metro, area shops and restaurants was always friendly and quick. After each busy day of touring I would say "I'm ready to go 'home'. Thanks Americana for being my home for a week!

Room Tip: Room 211 was a standard double room that was comfortable, quiet, clean and had great wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! We're really glad to hear you enjoyed our great prices, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and convenient location, among other things, and we will be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of our team.

Just as a reference for future guests, room 211 is actually a standard single rather than a standard double because it only has one bed. It does, however, generally get a great Wi-Fi signal.

Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very good value for accommodation in Washington area. Older property but clean, great location to Metro, breakfast provides a good start to day, and complimentary shuttle to Metro (we walked except on days with heavy rain). Friendly staff. Would go back again.
Only negative comment would be poor wifi connection (slow and sometimes wouldn't connect) and a sign is needed at back of building to enter parking lot.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe queen and had lots of room and comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingville, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our second time staying here and I am certain you are not going to find a better deal anywhere in the Washington/Arlington area. FREE Parking which is unheard of in this area easily saved us $18-$27 a night and the parking spaces are much larger and easier to negogiate compared to several hotels up the road which charges to park. Staff is extremely pleasant and accomodating again much better than the pricier places up the road. Nothing fancy in this place but if you are looking for clean, comfortable and reasonable price then this is the place for you. Breakfast is simple but there is something for everybody and you dont need to be there early to ensure that you get something to eat. Within walking distance to Metro, Pentagon and shopping.
Only drawback is that the bathroom window which opens to the walkway was not very well secured (experienced the same issue in a different room two years ago) and wifi was not strong. If simple and inexpensive is what you look for in a hotel then don't look beyond the Americana.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duryea, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I discovered Americana Hotel last fall and had a wonderful time and then decided after receiving a Cyber Monday discount offer that we would visit another time on our 35th wedding anniversary in April. Another wonderful stay.....great services, friendly staff, safe neighborhood. We love the Americana Hotel and will continue to stay while visiting the capitol region, which will be for many more years to come. Thank you so much for the hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spartan rooms (no extra pillows, for example), and the breakfast area was too small to serve the guests. On the plus side, the free wifi worked and they gave us a free ride to Reagan car rental. It was convenient after a long flight arriving late.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LangleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#16 of 51 in Arlington
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing