We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DC stay”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Ellington, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“DC stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for fancy, this is not the place. But if you are looking for a clean and convenient hotel with great service and a great price, this is the place for you! It is a block or so from the Metro. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    625
    209
    53
    37
See reviews for
371
398
149
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Americana was great! For just about $70 a night we had a lovely room unbelievably close to DC. Other hotels in the neighborhood were four times as expensive, and didn't include breakfast, wifi, and more that came with the price of the room at the Americana. The staff was extremely kind and helpful, parking couldn't have been easier, the metro station was about a two minute walk away, and everything was great. If you're looking to visit DC on a budget, this is where you want to stay. It's cheap, safe, well-maintained, and a great value. We were lucky to find it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Americana does the important task of getting all of be basics down, without getting lost in making a bullet list of amenities. Do you want a good bed, in a quiet room, in a great location, for a shockingly low price? If so, then the Americana is a brilliant hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle East
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed in this small hotel for 7 days, and all was great. This hotel (unlike other big hotels) offers many free services such as wifi, shuttle services to nearby locations (such as metro, airport), parking, and coffee and tea all day long.
The rooms are big and very clean. The only one thing I didn't like is that the Air Condition is noisy, however it is working very good.
Location wise, the hotel is in a very good location, and about 3 minutes walk to Crystal City metro station

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AminTabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel was relatively cheap ($69 in total per night) and was 4 minutes drive to Reagan Airport. I also took a quick cab ride to all the major tourist attractions (about $15 if you begin with Lincoln Memorial).

Room was relatively clean, except for the bottle of used lotion on the bedside table (ewwwwww...)

I've stayed in worse places, but this was ideal for my business trip and quite affordable.

Walking distance to restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepwater_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A little run down, but the rooms are comfortable. The hallways are hot from air conditioners venting into them, and the elevator is slow. Breakfast minimal but okay. Room though, are clean and comfortablea and reasonable quite. Desk personnel friendly. Kind of a cool, old-world vibe.

Room Tip: Get a king room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is convenient to the metro and has free parking which is a big benefit if you drive to DC and don't want to pay an extra $40-$50 for parking in additional to much higher hotel prices. All was clean and the service was good. The staff very helpful and polite. The breakfast was not my kind of breakfast but many seem to like it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omiklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing