We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Clean”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Definitely older hotel but clean and in a good neighborhood. They honored an old rate published on the internet, so appreciated that. I parked my vehicle at the hotel, took their shuttle to the airport and was gone for four days. Upon my return late at night (their shuttle didn't run after 12:00 am so had to take a taxi) I checked in once again, car still in good shape. My only concern was that my second room had a broken latch on the sliding door going to the 2nd story deck. It was however, screwed shut and secure. Hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. Free continental breakfast included. If you are just looking for a room to sleep in, this is the perfect one.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room that has a tub/shower combo as the shower only bathrooms were very small
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mglover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,395)
There are newer reviews for Americana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights with 3 little ones and I would definitely recommend as a family friendly hotel. We were so close to the crystal city metro but the hotel van would drop us off and pick us up so we didn't walk around the area by the hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was good and starts early. The staff was very friendly and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runners2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Super close to DC museums and monuments. Very friendly, helpful staff. Average room but big enough and clean and everything worked. Plenty of free parking. We were given a room outside the main building and so our Wi-Fi barely worked at all. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special.

Room Tip: If you need Wi-Fi make sure you insist on an inside room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AussieManinMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're happy to know you enjoyed our great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, and free parking. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the Wi-Fi but wanted to let you know that we are working on improvements to the system so that hopefully you will have better results should you stay with us again. We're also sorry to hear that you only found us to be an "average" limited-service budget hotel in a very expensive area. We are always trying to improve, so if you have the time, we'd love if you could e-mail us at info@americanahotel.com to let us know how we might improve to a "very good" or "excellent" budget hotel.

Thanks again for your patronage!
Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is more a motel than a hotel. We stayed 5 nights visiting Washington DC. Rooms are small but there is complementary WiFi and a donut breakfast available in the lobby. The best thing of this hotel is the location. It is just one station from Reagan Airport and the Cristal City station is a five minute walk from the Americana. We did not eat in the neighborhood but spend all of our time in Washington and only returned very late to our room.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Americana is near the Metro so it is easy to get to and from all the sights. It really is good value when you compare to other hotels in Washington. Also it was comfortable and clean, plus helpful and friendly staff (was given some great tips of things to see - thanks Chris!). The breakfast was good too. Would definitely recommend this place and would stay again if I go back to Washington.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed 3 days. The breakfast was ok. No protein (eggs, bacon, etc.). Room was clean and bed comfortable. Furniture was dated and the décor was retro. Hallway was hot but room was cool. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great value and great location. They had free Wi-Fi and parking. However, the parking lot was also a parking lot for people who worked in that area. I got a good parking place but didn't want to move it in case there wouldn't be another one available until the evening when people would leave for home. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pkmdfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here last week for 5 nights and felt we had found a hidden gem. The hotel is older however it was clean and inviting. All of the staff we encountered were nice and helpful.
The hotel is a 5 min walk to 2 metro stations or you can take the shuttle they offer. I highly recommend this hotel if you want a clean no glamor place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.5 mi away
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 52 in Arlington
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing