We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What a find this hotel proved to be for us! FREE PARKING validated until midnight on the last day of your stay. Convenient to the Metro, and therefore, to all of the Washington DC area. Comfortable beds. Yes, the decor is "Americana," but we found that charming in a way.

The staff keeps everything spotlessly clean. And they go above the call of duty: we left two pillows behind by accident and they mailed them right back to us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the kind words! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will pass along your compliments to the rest of our team. We're also glad you received the pillows back and wanted to say thanks for the fruit basket!

We hope to see you again soon!
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    619
    206
    51
    37
See reviews for
366
390
148
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed at the Americana hotel for 3 days and 2 nights while attending a conference in Washington DC. As a woman, traveling alone, in DC for the first time, I was extremely nervous. I choose this hotel based on price and amenities that were offered. Needless to say I was not expecting much but wasn't I pleasantly surprised. The decor in the lobby was updated and extremely clean. Check in was quick and efficient (and offered with a smile!) and the FREE parking was abundant. I stayed in the Deluxe Queen Room. The room was spacious, modern, clean, and much more than I expected. The mattress was super comfy and I even loved the "retro" bathrooms. Shuttle service is offered to the nearby Crystal City Metro station, but it is only a 5 minute walk to get there yourself. The Crystal City Shops, which offer shopping and dining are 5 minutes away as well. Getting to DC was super easy, only a 15 minute metro ride with one transfer. The Service and accommodations were way better than many "luxury" and expensive hotels in the surrounding areas. I almost don't want to praise this property too much because I'm afraid more people will book their stay and make prices go up!

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe room option. The hotel is a little older and the decor is dated in the standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience! We're happy to learn you chose us for our good combination of price and amenities and that you enjoyed our decor, friendly staff, free parking & shuttle service, clean rooms, comfortable beds, retro bathrooms, and convenient location. We especially appreciate hearing that you found our service and accommodations to be better than many higher rated and more expensive hotels, and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our entire team.

Please don't be afraid to share us with friends and family :-) Even if we filled up every day we would still be committed to our mission of providing clean, comfortable, conveniently located, friendly, and affordable accommodations, just as we have been for over 50 years.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of a good friend. The hotel itself is decently clean and the front desk was quite friendly. The shuttle driver was nice. The hotel is located a short walk away from Crystal City shopping area and the metro system. My main two complaints are this:

1. The hotel had a mildewed smell in the hallway on the 2nd floor. That smell was being masked by some sort of perfume smell. The odor was obnoxious. I had a terrible headache the entire time we were there which was followed by vomiting. Thankfully, my husband was able to get to the convenience store to get something for my headache and my nausea/vomiting.

2. Whenever someone in the hotel took a shower, we could hear it in our room as if they were showering in our bathroom. The plumbing needs some serious updating.

What made the stay tolerable was the shuttle service, the free wifi, and the continental breakfast. As I mentioned earlier, the rooms are clean and the front desk people were very nice, however, unless some changes are made we will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The hotel is a short walk from the metro system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear you appreciated our clean rooms, friendly staff, convenient location, and valuable free amenities like shuttle service, wi-fi, and breakfast. We also sincerely appreciate your friend who recommended our hotel. We are saddened, however, to hear that the problems you experienced regarding sounds and smells were bad enough to keep you from staying with us again. We do our best to keep our hotel and our rooms very clean and will check the second floor to make sure it is up to our standards. Regarding the plumbing, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and will check the bathrooms on the second floor to be sure they are in good working condition. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope you are feeling better.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell Rock, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Read other reviews before we booked this hotel and would have to agree. It doesn't look all that nice from the outside, but our room was very nice as was the lobby. Our room was very comfortable, king size bed, also had a fridge. There was free parking (unlike many hotels we found on line) and also had a free breakfast (cereal, bagels, fruit, and a variety of rolls, donuts and muffins), plus juice and coffee. We found the receptionists very friendly and helpful and also took advantage of the free shuttle. The metro was only a couple blocks away and a trolley tour we took picked up next door. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDCD1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience. We appreciate your kind words about our nice rooms and lobby, free amenities, and friendly, helpful staff, and are glad you also appreciated our convenient location and affordable rate. Guests like you have kept us in business for over 50 years through your patronage and recommendations, and we sincerely appreciate it.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Not the nicest place that I've stayed at, but it did the job. The place is older, and in need of some modernization - the room I stayed in was one that was not recently renovated. The wifi was spotty, working better in some parts of the room than others, the old square TV was out of date and had a fuzzy picture, the bathroom was not the cleanest, with water stains, paint chips, hairs and dead bugs (flies that came in through the improperly closed window) on the walls and ceilings, but the water pressure was good and the lighting was more than sufficient. The bed was comfortable and the room big and bright with minimal noise from outside, even with the highway beside my window, and most of the staff were friendly and pleasant, even when dealing with what seemed like a lot of unhappy customers whenever I walked through the lobby. The main thing that annoyed me here though was the distance from everything - if you drive, it's not an issue but if you don't, the subway was quite a walk in the heat through a very pedestrian unfriendly area as was the nearby mall - they claimed that a shuttle was available to both but was never available when I asked. Not sure if I would stay here again - the price was right, and the proximity to Reagan National Airport is hard to beat, but too many other things weren't.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todowntowner04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the price, comfortable bed, good water pressure, minimal noise, and friendly staff, and we will be sure to pass along your kind words to our entire team.

While you did point out many positive aspects of your experience, we understand that you had some problems with your room, and we are working as a team to address the issues you mentioned. As to your main complaint about our location, we do apologize because it seems as though you were not given good directions. We are only one block from the Crystal City Metro and much of that walk is in air conditioned space. You just head out our driveway and take a left on the sidewalk, cross 15th Street at the crosswalk and take a left into the Marriott under which runs a tunnel to the subway station. As you mentioned, we do also have a free shuttle which departs the hotel every thirty minutes between 6am and 11am and is available on a first come first serve basis from 11am until 11pm. Generally, the shuttle is available within 15 minutes of our guests' requests, though occasionally traffic, weather, or many travelers going to different destinations can delay it a bit. We do apologize for the confusion there and hope you will have a better experience if you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was to be our first hotel out of a total of 9 we were to stay in in the following 3 weeks (we did a East Coast road trip). We arrived tired and had to wait for around 5 minutes before the female receptionist who was on the phone decided to acknowledge our existence. After chatting a bit more on the phone she then asked them to call back so she could deal with us. After minimal interaction with us we were given the key but no more information like where the room was or welcome etc! Still on a bit of a high from travelling we found our way to our room. The initial walk across an outside balcony was off putting but tried to keep smiling. I already knew the rooms were dated so it wasn't that much of a surprise on entry to the room. However, the musty smell was! A/C units are stuck in a hole in the wall so you can see daylight coming through the wall and I have never heard such noisy units. Also the carpet was all frayed by the front door, it just felt unloved.
My husband ventured out to find some information on where we could eat locally and by all accounts the guy on the desk at the time was very helpful and friendly. It kind of went down hill from there. I got the distinct impression most of the staff were not interested in being helpful or friendly. I asked one man a question about the metro, before he had finished answering my question he was walking away looking at his phone. Breakfast was bleak, the coffee was literally brown water that neither of us could drink. We went to the starbucks in the mall at Crystal city instead.
Such a shame as I really wanted to like this place and I thought I knew what we were letting ourselves in for. Dated decor and yukky coffee I can forgive but sadly rude staff is a no no for me. On the plus side, if you don't care about how people talk to you; the rooms were very clean, beds not bad and wifi worked

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxandsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear you appreciated our clean rooms, comfortable beds, great location, and free Wi-Fi. We do our best to offer a good value for Washington, D.C. area budget travelers and appreciate hearing that we are doing well toward that goal. Unfortunately, there were some negative aspects to your stay and for that we apologize. Most guests praise our friendly staff, which is very important to us, so we have reminded our entire team that their number one priority is to make our guests feel welcome--something they did not do appropriately for you. Regarding your room, it sounds as though you choose our basic room type which has not yet been renovated. We agree with you that the rooms are a bit worn and need refreshed, so we are working as hard as we can to get that done while also keeping our prices as affordable as possible. We do have deluxe double rooms which are available for just a little more money, and they all have new carpet, paint, trim, beds, and soft goods like bedding and drapery. We apologize if you were not aware of this option or if we had sold out of them for the dates you were staying.

We hope if you are in the area again, you would give us another try in one of our deluxe rooms and see if it suits you better. Most of our guests really enjoy them and still find them to be much more economical than the most basic options at other area hotels. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The other great reviews convinced me that this was the place to go and they were right on!
It was so clean and comfy. Staff made us feel so welcome and were so nice.
The location is great, didn't even use the shuttle to the metro as it was so close by.
We used the shuttle to take us to a restaurant one night and called them to come pick us up when we were ready to go back. Our driver was such a pleasant helpful man and can't believe what awesome service for such a low price....what a bargain!!
The only thing that wasn't great was the flimsy pillows but such a minor complaint for the great price, cleanliness and service offered here.
Just left yesterday and I miss the place already. Will definitely go back here for visiting the DC area to see all of the attractions that we didn't have time to see.

Room Tip: I don't know how you could go wrong with any room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela-1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We're so happy you did too! We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write such a glowing review. It warms our hearts to be appreciated by our guests just as we have appreciated them since 1963. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms; nice, welcoming staff; great location; valuable freebies like friendly shuttle service; and amazingly low price. We'll be sure to let our entire team know! Thank you also for mentioning the pillows; we'll be sure to remind housekeeping to check that all pillows are in good condition and to replace any that are starting to wear out.

We're glad to hear you'll be back and just want to extend our thanks again for recommending us to your friends and family and the entire TripAdvisor community!

Warmest regards,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing