We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great service, and good breakfast”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great service, and good breakfast”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We did not know what to expect from what we saw online, but we were surprisingly pleased. The rooms were clean and all of the staff was very accommodating. The only thing that we would have changed is that our bathroom did not have a fan and became foggy and very humid after showers.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bry6242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    632
    213
    54
    37
See reviews for
377
405
149
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed just one night to be close to DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival. Room was clean and large enough for our needs. Location was great, just a block from the Crystal City Metro (through the Marriott). Only problem was traffic noise and late night guests next door. We could hear their shower and toilet - woke us up! Breakfast in the morning was good, enough to get the day started. Free parking a huge plus!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleS0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

At first I was afraid to book this hotel since it is not very pretty to look at but most of the reviews were very good. So I decided to take the chance. I just have to say that I got exactly what I was told I would get. It is definitely not a luxury hotel but it is clean, friendly, and safe. As most of the reviews say, the furnishings are a bit old but they are well kept. After spending all day riding the metro and walking around DC, it was great to get off at the station and walk a block and half to the hotel and go to sleep on good bed. I did not wake up sore like I have in most of the more expensive chain hotels that I've stayed at before. The continental breakfast was as good as you would get at more expensive hotel. The staff was very helpful when we asked where, when, and how to get somewhere. All in all, it was a pleasant stay and I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acsegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Stayed at the Americana for 2 nights over Easter break. Ideal location. Clean hotel, decent continental breakfast and very, very friendly staff. Near the Crystal City shopping area and a quick walk to the metro. Also, FREE PARKING. Where can you get free parking in DC? This is an ideal spot for touring DC. Blue line metro takes you to all the touristy stops (Smithsonian and Foggy Bottom). The hotel is dated, but who cares? You will get a comfortable bed, clean accommodations, free parking, and a breakfast to get you going. Also free WIFI. Check on line at their web page... rates are better than any other site and also better than if you call the hotel. Spend all of the money saved on great dining in Crystal City.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelhelper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Americana Hotel. The area is very safe and the price was just right for our budget; Continental breakfast is included; the hotel is two blocks from the metro station; they have a shuttle that takes you around. Parking is free. The hotel is clean and close to DC by Metro or car, and the hotel personnel was extremely nice. I would definitely recommend it if you are visiting DC and you are on a budget. I traveled with my husband and a 16 and a 17 year old.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsdees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

The Americana Hotel is a fabulous place to stay. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Washington. From its convenient location (a 5-7 minute walk away from 2 separate Metro stations; very near Reagan Airport and downtown DC) to its helpful and friendly staff to the quality of the rooms to the continental breakfast (with a variety of foods to select) to the fantastic value, it's difficult to top an experience at the Americana.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dabrunner1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I am guessing that the Americana is the last holdout of what was once a row of similar hotels/motels. All the others are gone, so it sits surrounded by high-rises. I thoroughly enjoyed my night there. The location is excellent, with all the shops and restaurants of Crystal City just a few blocks walk away, and the whole neighborhood is clean and pleasant for walking.

Any other hotel in the DC area at this price is either bug-infested, in a terrible neighborhood, or both (according to the TA reviews). But this place is in remarkably good shape and seems to have made a real effort to keep things together. There were a few areas that could have been better, e.g., the elevators were quite dingy and needed a good cleaning, the bottom sheet was too small and therefore wouldn't stay in place on the bed. But all in all I had a very quiet, comfortable night. In spite of the fact that the hotel seemed full for the holiday weekend, it was amazingly quiet. There wasn't a great variety for breakfast, but there seemed to plenty of everything that was offered.

I hope the Americana lasts for a long time still, because as long as I'm traveling on a budget, it's going to be my choice in the DC area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjsalexva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#17 of 51 in Arlington
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing