We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive great place to stay”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inexpensive great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Although the lady there wasn't very pleasent the rest of the staff was very nice from the front desk, service man even the maids. Rooms were very clean had NO issues with bugs. Room had a mini fridge but no alarm clock, breakfast was suffient. Would definitely stay again on next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2thmaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    632
    211
    54
    37
See reviews for
376
404
149
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CA
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Our youngest kid had never seen Washington DC before. My spouse and I had been at DC but we never previously stayed in Virginia or DC area hotels. So when our friends decided to join us, we settled for Americana based on reviews on this site. We haven't even heard of this hotel before.

It should have been a wonderful vacation until our friends' luggage were stolen inside their vehicle on 22 July(our last day). It was unbelievable considering that we parked both of our vehicles in the hotel parking property area which is directly under the hotel building.

I never got the chance to describe to front desk the circumstances of the theft. Why? I never sense the feeling of empathy on his part. Crime can happen to anyone but I believe that inadequate security facilitates criminal mischiefs. That's our first and last time staying at Americana. It is not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwell055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The Americana is not a luxury hotel. It's not a new building, although it is well maintained. The furniture shows some wear marks, although the carpet looked new.
The rooms are not big, although they are not small either.

It is at a great location for half the price or less of the hotels next to it.
It was quiet, it was clean, it had a good mattress, good water pressure, and good AC (on a 95 degree day). The staff was pleasant and helpful (not that I had many demands). The breakfast was sold if unexceptional (bagels and cream cheese, a good selection of doughnuts, cereal)

I am hoping to have a family vacation to the DC area sometime in the next year and will start by checking to see if the Americana still has the same price advantage.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acts529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Don't get this hotel if you don't want to ruin your vacation! Someone stole my friends' luggages while their van was in the parking garage(no security cameras at our garage area). Their laptop, gps, cash, etc. were stolen on our last day of stay(7/22). It should have been a fun vacation for our family and kids. But the worst part is that front desk is not even apologetic about it. After we got back home, I called the hotel and ask what are they are going to do so that it won't happen again to anyone. But instead, a certain "Cris" gave me a sarcastic response blaming us for what happened & even got yelled at. I tried to look for their manager but he hang up on me. Applause to the Arlington police for their immediate response.


.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
We were extremely saddened to hear of this misfortune from our evening desk clerk who helped these guests contact the police. It is our understanding the guests said that their friend's vehicle was not locked when they left the hotel for the day, that is was parked in our street-level parking lot (we do not have a garage), and that some items had been taken from it in their absence.

While Americana Hotel is located in a generally safe area and also utilizes a security patrol, it is important to remember that crimes happen everywhere and reasonable precautions should be taken to protect oneself and one's belongings at all times.

We sincerely regret that it is not possible to ensure that no one will ever be the victim of a crime while visiting the Nation's Capital and are not sure what we could do so "that it won't happen again to anyone," as the guest requested. We do, however, routinely suggest that our guests remove valuables from their car and keep it locked at all times, whether they are at the hotel, at the shopping mall, or parked on the street in Downtown DC.

It is always a terrible experience to have something stolen, but we realize how much more upsetting it probably was to these guests to have such a thing happen to their friends when it was their previous good experiences at Americana Hotel that prompted their stay with us.

We do our best to provide clean, comfortable accommodations that are conveniently located and reasonably priced, and we genuinely want each and every guest to have a wonderful stay. We hope that no one will hold this unfortunate incident against our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed here from 7/13/10 thru 7/21/10 in Room 305 and experienced a terrible run in with bed bugs. This was the only hotel we stayed in during our vacation. The day after our return home my daughter and husband broke out in red, itch welts. A trip to the ER confirmed bed bug bites. The hotel will not respond to my attempts to contact them regarding this and I'm hoping that we didn't bring any home with us.

The hotel was no frills. The internet didn't work most the time. The only thing it really had going for it was it's location to the Metro and restaurants. Most of the staff was nice, but it seemed the manager wasn't too happy with her job.

I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We picked this motel based on this site. I can deal with old and I liked the fact it offered free wi fi and parking you can not find that in DC! But old also means old AC! My husband keeps are house at 68 degrees year around. The old window unit could not keep the room at 75 and it ran all night. We had 2 hot sleepless night so we found a different cooler hotel for the rest of the stay in DC. The staff was very nice about it maybe in the fall or winter I would go back but not the heat of the summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MaryM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanaHotel, Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
We are sorry to hear of the problem with the air conditioner. Generally, if a guest notices something wrong with the room, the front desk will have maintenance or housekeeping (as applicable in the situation) attempt to remedy the situation and/or will move the guest to another room.

Most of our through-the-wall built-in a/c units (we do not have window units) have been replaced in the last couple years and even ones that have not been replaced typically work very well, so please do not hesitate to contact the hotel about questionable functionality. We always want our guests to be comfortable and will do what we can to make that possible.

We would also like to stress that our great prices are not due to lack of upkeep. We have been making considerable investments in the hotel in recent years (dozens of new beds, bedding ensembles, flat screen LCD tvs, a/c units, heating units, etc.) and will continue to make as many improvements as possible. We are an older property, but we do our best to keep our rooms clean and in good repair, as evidenced by most of the reviews on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This place seems to take pride in kitsch--don't look for anything to be updated--although a pleasant surprise was the HD TV with HD channels. Pluses were the price (located next to properties that were triple the price), bed and AC that works. Minuses were the awful elevator and iffy Internet access. However, it comes with a decent fresh continental breakfast, free parking and like I said, the HD tv. It's not a place to hang out at. But if you are looking for value in a place with ridiculous priced hotels, this is it. Btw, this hotel is featured in the movie State of Play. (Although not favorably, which is probably why there was absolutely no mention of it at the hotel. I happened to watch this movie about a week before my visit.)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#14 of 51 in Arlington
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing