We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Americana was great, overall”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Americana was great, overall”
Reviewed 21 June 2007

I was initially a little disappointed when I saw the small Americana;
it didn't look great. We had booked through Travel.hero for 2 rooms and the hotel only had us down for 1 room. Although he said they would be full (we were staying for 5 nights) he found us 2 rooms together.

Our room (302) was definitely "out of date" but that didn't bother us. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. The initial "stuffy" air was gone by the second day.

We were happy with the shuttle service, the breakfast, refrig. in room (we used their microwave off the front desk a few times). The hotel was quiet. We heard the traffic noise during the day but didn't
hear it at night.

We had a great view of the Washington monument from our window. The front lounge area was comfortable with free papers each morning. It was a hotel frequented by pilots and business people as well as people like us that wanted only a comfortable and safe place to sleep; gone all day to look at sites.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — old air conditioner in our room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mageneze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    632
    212
    54
    37
See reviews for
377
404
149
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2007

Our family stayed at this hotel for 5 days and were quite happy with it. If you want luxury, this is not the place for you, but if you want a good budget hotel (as we do), this could work for you. I will try to give you some pros and cons.

Cons: built in the 60's and could really use updating but I would guess that value of the location will not allow it to exist for too much longer. Breakfast is very 60's also. OJ in rubbermade containers, donuts, bagles with stick of marg & block of cream cheese (no individual containers), also no fruit or yogurt. No pool. Bathrooms are small but functional and very clean with almost no space for cosmetics (actually used the winow cil to put stuff).

Pros: Really great location in Crystal City and surrounded by upscale hotels. Only a couple blocks to the Metro (blue & yellow lines). Their shuttle will not only pick up and deliver to the airport but will take you to the Metro and to restaurants. We used shuttle on several occassions and it was very reliable. They took us to restaurant and gave us a business card to have restaurant call when we were ready to return to the hotel. One day it was raining when we returned from the capital, so we called and they picked us up at the Metro. No prob! Rooms are fairly large and very clean. Nice very white sheets and plenty of clean towels. Towels were not threadbare. Very nice and helpful staff.

If you are driving to DC, hotel is hard to locate. Address is Jefferson Davis Hwy but you have to enter from Eads. Hotel has most rooms entering from a central hallway but a few enter from an exterior entry. If you are visiting in winter, ask for a room with hallway entry to avoid draft under door.

In conclusion it was very clean and very safe! There were several flight crews staying there. For less then $100 a night it was a great budget hotel for us. I would be glad to answer any questions I can. Fran

  • Liked — location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — old
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Franr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldon MO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2007

We stayed 4 nights beginning 5/5/07. The hotel is very old, including an old exterior sign; however, it was clean, safe, & peaceful. We stayed on the 2nd floor. Bathroom just had a pedestal sink; real good hot shower. Refrig in room was nice to have. They have microwave in their small kitchen that you can use as needed. Breakfast was juice, coffee, muffins, bagels, several variety of pastries. No cereal or milk. We brought our own. Parking is in a covered garage and free! Easy to walk to subway, especially if you cut through the Marriott hotel center. Let the folks at the Subway ticket booths help you out if you're stuck cuz it's kinda tricky and doing it right the first time will save you $$. Hotel really did not have any extra's but we mainly used it for the evenings so a great place to lay your head. Mall & restaurants close by. If you don't expect a lot and want something inexpensive (cuz hotels in DC are costly), try this one out.

  • Liked — Price & location to Subway; covered parking; cleanliness
  • Disliked — Should repair ext sign; add counter or vanity in bathroom & vent
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate7mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

I just returned from Arlington Virginia. The hotel was difficult to find from the street due to the huge chains hotel next to them. I would look for small 5 feet pillars that is the driveway off Jefferson Davis Road. Overall the room was clean with tv, ironing board, blow dryer, hook up to computers and ice bucket. I admit it does look old and needs some work on the Outside. Do not be fooled by the neat 1950's picture on their website it is not that now. Parking was free and there is a shuttle bus I would just ask if you want a ride it does not do routes and stops in at certain hours.

The breakfast table included decent bagels not store bought, danish, muffins, coffee and tea. I had no problems with the staff except for maybe directions to the subway and a very small wastebasket only in the bathroom of the hotel room. Definitely old fashion type of hotel with the key for the door. But for the low price and the convenience of the subway very close it is worth it.

The mall 1.5 blocks down had a restaurant that had excellent ribs. The diner farther down than the Mall off to the left was fabulous with cheap breakfast prices and not more than a 3 minute wait from the moment you place your order.

Our only negative was the subway taking tickets to enter and exit and if you exit at a different stop it will not let you through. The ticket machines suck be very careful they do not give back more than $5 in change and what happen with us is we used our debit card twice in one day and it refuses a debit card after the first use. So be careful there.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — hotel set back from road
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

I booked this hotel after reading numerous glowing reviews from other customers. I was delighted with my experience and stay there.

Quite simply the Americana Hotel has to be one of the best kept secrets for affordable, high quality accomodation in Washington DC in a decent location too.

To give you an idea of the standard of this hotel, during my week's stay there I spotted a number of airline pilots used it as a reliable place to stay over. To me, that speaks volumes for the quality of the hotel accomodation.

I was in Washington DC for a conference and most of my colleagues were booked at the more expensive Hyatt Regency at $219 per night. In contrast, I got the great rate of $99 per night at The Americana Hotel less than a mile away.

The hotel offers great service and a complimentary shuttle was provided from the airport direct to the hotel. The hotel is also conveniently located less than two blocks from the Crystal City metro so accessing the rest of the city via Metro is a breeze.

My room was clean, well equiped and very comfortable and equivalent to many rooms I've experienced at twice the cost.

Really, if you have to visit Washington D.C. for any reason, I'd highly recommend The Americana Hotel in Crystal City, Arlington.

This hotel is now firmly fixed in my Rolex as be the only hotel I'll consider for Washington D.C. unless they're fully booked.

Great job Larry, Chris and the rest of the staff. Thank you for a really enjoyable stay.

A very happy customer of the Americana Hotel.

  • Liked — The price and the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing - it is great in most departments
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaunvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliston, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2007

It was my understanding the hotel had been updated/renovated in the last few years but I don't think this was the case since the bathroom was done in pink and black tile. The location was okay, close to the Metro and surrounded by well known hotels with good restaurants. The biggest problem was the door to the room. You could see daylight when the door was shut. The weather turned very windy and cold and the draft was terrible. There was only a button lock on the doorknob and a chain lock on the door. Also, the door didn't automatically lock behind you. I'm surprised the wind didn't blow the door open.

The heat was a unit on the wall near the door and the only warmth in the room was the path of the heat; the upper and lower part of the room was drafty and cold. The worst was the bathroom, the floor was like ice, I put towels down to serve as a rug in order to stand in there. The decor was very outdated but everything was clean.

The continental breakfast was very basic with lots of donuts, bagels, and croissants. No fruit was available. The staff was nice but we were given incorrect directions a couple of times.

I wouldn't stay there again, I would spend the extra money for something newer and nicer even if I had to travel farther to get in to DC.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kicko
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2006

I have stayed at Americana Hotel for 5 nights. The location of the hotel is very good, 5 minute walk to Crystal City Metro Station and 10 minute walk to Pentagon Fashion Center. The reception personnel was very kind and the rooms were very clean. Breakfast was ok. I recommend to all DC travellers...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from the highway
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#16 of 51 in Arlington
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing