We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great staff, great value”
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Troutdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place, great staff, great value”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Highlander is not for those looking for luxury. Please go elsewhere if that's your thing.

However, if you are like the rest of us and prefer to spend your hard earned cash actually enjoying the sights & sounds of your vacation destination - stay here! It is a 4 minute walk from the Virginia Square-GMU Metro (Orange Line) Station and a 10 minute stroll into Clarendon - which is a nice place to venture into for great food, night time activities or CVS needs. Okay, back to The Highlander - 3 of us (2 adults & teenage boy) stayed 4 nights (Sat-Wed) check in/check out was a breeze, beds were comfy, room & bathroom were clean. Extra pillows & towels were given upon request at the front desk. Had in room mini-fridge- which was nice to store water, soda & snacks from the 7-eleven just down the street. We were on 2nd floor, at the end on back side - hardly any street noise. The continental breakfast was well stocked with bagels, croissants, donuts, fruit, yogurt along with plenty of coffee, oj, tea & hot chocolate. It was a nice way to get our day going before hopping on Metro and exploring our nation's Capitol - which is only 15 minutes or so away. Thanks for a really nice & inexpensive stay Highlander; when we get back to D.C., we'll be staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    108
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
57
37
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gary, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times now and not been disappointed. The building as a whole is older and looks out of place against the glossy office buildings along Fairfax & Wilson. But inside it's clean, remodeled, comfortable, with decent beds, tile in the bathroom & fridge/counter area (easier to keep clean), and with decent furniture. Not the dingy pit you'd expect from a hotel of this vintage. The continental breakfast is nothing special (mini bagels, box donuts, fruit), and there's no iron or hair dryer. But the cost is so much less compared to anything decent nearby, you could buy better-than-hotel appliances at the mall down the street anyway.

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrawnyPackrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

From the outside, the Highlander Motel looks like any other nondescript, low-budget, family-run motel you find along US highways, except that this is a short walk from the Virginia Square-GMU metro station. At the reception, they greet you with a kind, no-nonsense smile through a security window, and they point out to you that a continental breakfast is available free of charge. Inside, rooms are clean and well kept, beds are comfortable and, if your room is on the back of the building away from Wilson Boulevard, you’ll have a quiet, comfortable night. The shower is brand new, water is hot and high pressure, towels are fresh every day, the TV has more channels than you’ll have the time to surf in one night, and there are several network routers that provide free and high-bandwidth wireless service for your laptop. There is one yellow light outside the door of every unit (a good idea when you come back late at night). Since the curtains don’t overlap where they meet, some of the yellow light filters in at night. However, this is nothing that a binder clip won’t fix, if the light bothers you (hint: even a coat hanger with trouser clips will work, odd as that may look when deployed). There is no alarm clock in the room, but who doesn’t have one on their phone nowadays? Unless you need concierge service or a hairdryer, or feel the urge to sponsor the expensive lifestyles of a hotel chain owner’s children, the Highlander is a very good deal for your one or three nights in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuoricasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

After reading the reviews here I decided to spend my stay in the Washington area at this little gem. The prices were reasonable for the market, the room was clean and the staff were friendly. It is located just a few blocks from the Metro which gave me easy access to most of the Washington area. The area is quite trendy with lots of pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. I will be returning to the area again since one short trip didn't give me the chance to see all that I wanted to see and the next time I will be staying at the Highlander.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Knowing that there is no elevator, I requested fairly far in advance that we at least be placed no higher than the second floor due to heavy bags to be taken in. So, where were we placed?
Third floor. Man at desk stated that others booked during the prior week were placed first. I had
booked somewhat earlier. I travel enough that I know that a hotel cannot always be precise as to requests but I feel that being pushed to the third floor in this case was poor service.

Room was fairly nice. Good appearance. Effected oder was good. New vanity and new tile shower were very good features. Generally clean but a couple of spots showing longterm dirt.
Immediate neighborhood is marginal.

The only close dining is Mario's next door. Take out although there is some outside seating.
Excellent sub sandwiches were enjoyed. Along with Mario's is ice cream. Lots of choices.
A Seven Eleven is one block away. Alongside of the Metro station, which is three blocks away,
is a good deli.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rt66tbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The best thing about this place was the easy access to the room. Parking was free and almost right outside the door on the 3rd floor. The room rate was another plus. The room was nice and clean but include no extras like coffee makers, hairdryers, irons and etc but were available at the desk. Their was only a shower, which might be if you have small kids and breakfast was minimal. The area was very quiet except for one night when there was a party going on outside on the walkway and next door to our room. We had to call the front desk 4 times; each time they would be quiet for a little while and then they would start up again. At dawn, we ask them to call the police. I don't know if that's what did the trick or if they all just passed out . That was the only negative thing and it could happen in any motel / hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor if you have trouble with stairs as there is no elevator to the second and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shbogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had a very nice 4 night stay recently at the Highlander. After the sticker shock of lots of $275/night+ rooms with $40/night parking we were happy to find it.

Like some of my fellow reviewers, my wife and I were looking for a DC area hotel/motel that had free parking and was within easy walking distance to DC mass transit. The Highlander delivered on both counts.

You are within 5-10 minute walking distance of two Metro stops on the Orange line (Clarendon and Virginia Square-GMU), plus a bus stop for the 38B line that takes you directly to Georgetown. The area of Wilson Blvd. that the motel is on we felt was safe for pedestrians day or night. Lots of DC commuters live in the apartments,condos and houses surrounding this general area. The Arlington campus of George Mason University is also in this neighborhood. The area around the Clarendon Metro stop has lots of shopping and dining options.

From the exterior, the Highlander is an older design that has not had recent updates, but it is kept clean and tidy. When making our reservation, we requested one of the updated rooms with remodeled bath and sink areas. We were quite happy with the size of the room, the cleanliness, and the comfort of the mattresses provided. Our room had counter-height refrigerator that was handy to keep beverages and a few snacks cold.

Our room faced the rear of the property. Traffic noise was not noticeable. If you stayed in one of the rooms facing Wilson Blvd. it would be more likely that you would hear traffic during busy times.

We were able to park our car safely in the Highlander's lot and forget about it for four days. I think the size of the parking lot is quite large compared to many DC area hotels/motels. I'm a bit picky when it comes to parking spaces for my car and I was pleased with the parking available.

Both the front desk and housekeeping staff very quite helpful and friendly throughout our stay, making us feel welcome.

There is a continental breakfast available to take away each morning from the motel lobby. There is no dining space in the lobby. During our stay there were donuts, yogurt, strawberries, grapes, bagels, and bread as well as coffee and orange juice. A toaster was available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedalmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#25 of 51 in Arlington
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#13 of 51 in Arlington
985 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#42 of 51 in Arlington
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#41 of 51 in Arlington
195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Property: Highlander Motel
Address: 3336 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#31 Business Hotel in Arlington
#32 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highlander Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is an affordable motel in Arlington VA close to the FDIC, NSF, and George Mason University. We offer free parking, free wireless internet access and HD television. We are located 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Arlington
Highlander Motel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing