We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AGAIN, Just perfect”
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just the perfect place to stay at.
Very comfortable place. clean good value for money.
Staff are very helpful and polite. it is close to the metro and the the shopping area.
the area is safe.
rooms are constantly renovated and always very clean
breakfast is a good jumpstart for the day.

I LOVE IT.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shwang_Shwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a very nice weekend stay at Highlander Motel. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable, location perfect for visiting Washington. Place may be outdated but it was clean and rooms comfortable. I will definitely recommend this motel to my friends.
Agata - Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agata O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Highlander is an honest to goodness urban motel. It is very good value for money. We stayed there for eight nights and used the subway from nearby Virginia Square to go into Washington DC. The rooms are a good size and clean and comfortable. The breakfast is of good quality and the maid service is prompt and efficient. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Little extras like free use of umbrellas ($20 refundable deposit) are handy. We can recommend this motel with confidence. The Silver Grill Diner and the Mad Rose Tavern are also very good value - just up Wilson Blvd to Clarendon Sq.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Motel may be older but the rooms were updated with nice furniture and carpet and very clean with a walk shower. The matresss in both rooms were full size and a little dated. The continental breakfast was nice with three or four choices of fresh fruit, donuts, begels and yogurt. Coffee was a little strong for my liking. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our rooms were on the second floor in the rear of the building where it was very quite in the evenings. Large free parking area was a plus! The neighborhood felt save and there were restaurants within walking distance.We drove into DC (5 mi.) and visited George Washingtons Mt.Vernon estate (15 mi.) without a problem. We really enjoyed our stay and we are planning to go back again next year!
Thank You Highlander owners and staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: Staff is very friendly and willing to help you! We made reservations on line with a request to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boss284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We are traveling around the states in a RV. Wanted to see Washington. Found this motel and booked in for two days. It was much cheaper to do this that park in the closest RV park and use public transport to travel to and from. It is in a great location has plenty of good restaurant around. Just next to the subway. The staff are so friendly. In nice and clean. I would highly recommend this to every one.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Nola-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The exterior of this facility belies its true nature. The outside looks much the same as any motel/motor lodge, but the inside is very nice. It is very clean, the rooms are large, the amenities are very sufficient, and the beds are comfortable. There are eateries nearby (recommend the Silver Diner which is a short walk away.) Also, the metro station is a short walk away. I would definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our family of 4 stayed 5 nights at Highlander in mid-May. We had a rental car which we picked up from Dulles Airport, and the free parking in Highlander together with its close proximity to two metro stations and downtown DC suited our needs since we rode the metro often to visit DC. For those aspects alone, the price was hard to beat. Throw in a free (though simple) breakfast, a clean room to rest after a long day sightseeing, and a safe, convenient neighbourhood, and you have a motel that spells fantastic value for the money!

Our room was located on the top floor of a 3-storey block facing the rear parking lot, which was quiet. However, the absence of an elevator meant hauling our luggage up and down 2 flights of stairs. Our room was basic and clean, equipped with cable TV, a fridge and two double beds (the motel does not have queen-sized beds). Beds were not the most comfortable and the carpet looked a little old and worn but to be expected for a motel at this price point. A simple breakfast comprising juice/coffee/tea, bagels, donuts, bread, some fruit and yogurt was available next to the reception each morning for guests to bring back to their rooms as there wasn't a dedicated breakfast area available.

The GMU-Virginia metro is just 5 minutes walk away but was closed for repairs when we were there. We had to use Clarendon metro, which is slightly further, about 8-10 minutes walk, but passes through more interesting shops in Clarendon town centre - including Trader Joes and Whole Foods Market (with a healthy hot/cold food bar) slightly further up Clarendon Blvd, AT&T and T-Mobile for tourists wishing to pick up local prepaid SIM cards, and a number of eateries. 12 minutes walk in the opposite direction is Ballston Mall with Macy's, a small food court and other shops. Located next to the motel are burger and chicken joints. Washington Mall is just 15 minutes by metro. The whole area felt safe, even at night.

While service could be improved (we were short of towels on 2 different days, while other room keys were accidentally left in our room on another occasion), it's not a deal breaker. If you want to save some money while visiting the museums and sights in DC, stay here (especially you have a car as parking elsewhere in and around DC is expensive). It's by far the best value for money accommodation in a safe, convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexKBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#42 of 52 in Arlington
220 reviews
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#31 of 52 in Arlington
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#26 of 52 in Arlington
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#18 of 52 in Arlington
1,432 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
1.4 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#41 of 52 in Arlington
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Address: 3336 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
#31 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £56 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highlander Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is an affordable motel in Arlington VA close to the FDIC, NSF, and George Mason University. We offer free parking, free wireless internet access and HD television. We are located 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Arlington
Highlander Motel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing