We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectation”
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded my expectation”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent location and brilliant service! This is not my first visit to Washington and I must say that I have stayed in quite a number of hotels which did not meet my expectation! I have finally found a "home" in Arlington!!! I loved the spacious and spotless rooms... But most importantly the great customer service! The metro station at Virginia squire was the icing on the cake. I loved everything ...and will definitely come back again and again and again! For keeps

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightness S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    109
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
58
37
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Clean warm modestly updated room with a better bed than more expensive places I've stayed. Friendly helpful staff that aided me with my touring plans, and the location was great with many places to eat within a few blocks. Easy Metro ride from the airport and to all of the sights. 5 nights under $500 with taxes. I would stay again for sure!

Room Tip: First floor would be best if available. No elevator with outside walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is something like our 10th stay at this lovely, affordable gem and I am honestly one of the pickiest travelers around. The Highlander is a GREAT find. Every time we've stayed here we've enjoyed a spotless room and wonderful, no-nonsense service. The beds are comfortable and rooms have been updated. Modest? Sure. But the value can't be beat. There's a metro station and terrific deli across the street, a convenience store next door (you can stock up your in-room mini-frig with bottled water and beer), parking and wi-fi are also FREE--all this allows us to enjoy the sparkly restaurants and other DC offerings without breaking our travel budget. One tip: Bring your own soap and (I do this for any city hotel stays) a white noise machine.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room in the back. These are quieter and a bit nicer than the ones facing the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flannery_Columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Recently stayed here for 3 nights. Stayed at other $200+ hotels in the area during my previous DC trips so not surprised to see this hotel got 4-star rating. Location is good, Giant Food is about a few blocks away next to a good Chinese Restaurant. Metro (Virginia Square) is a short distance walk. Price is nice compared with other hotels in the area. Wifi connection is ok. I am not expecting much because of the previous reviews of this motel - I am on the 3rd floor. Room is simple, bed is clean, bathroom is clean. No alarm clock (used my iphone), no coffee maker (got bottled water and fruits and snacks from Giant). I have good sleeps. Didn't try the breakfast though. I will stay here again in future trips when budget is a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a drab and run down place that is quite unlike any of the hotels in the area. The only good thing about this place is the location. The price is good for the area but everything about this place from the furnishings to toiletries to linens is of a grade lower than motel 6. It has been a long time since I stayed at the place where the cashier sits behind a bullet proof window. I stayed here only because it was the only place that had rooms when I had to make a reservation for a last minute meeting in the area. You can park right outside your room if you drive. Otherwise draw the curtains tight because others are going to pull up with their headlights shining right into your room when they park.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjivsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is not a 4-star. I thought I found a great bargain online after reading reviews. I was in town for a St Louis-George Mason basketball game and stayed here. It was dated and seemed dirty. The staff was ok but seemed disinterested. Internet connection was also shabby. I won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for two days recently. Positives: good price and a nice, safe area. Few new updates that I loved: the granite in the sink area was really beautiful, lovely porcelain in the bathroom, new and very nice bathroom/sink fixtures. Loved the bedding (expensive comforter from pacificcoast.com) although it did looked like it had a good wear. They have VERY friendly and accommodating staff people. Good breakfast (bagels, donuts , fruits, yogurt) and coffee. Flat screen TV. In general it looks like they are working hard to improve and offer the guests an experience far beyond the two stars the motel is rated. Some negatives: although the room was non-smoking it had a reminiscence of cigarette-like smell. Also, while I personally did not mind at all, the mattress was on the hard side and the bathroom only had a shower (no bathtub). I plan to saty here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymousNY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#26 of 51 in Arlington
444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#43 of 51 in Arlington
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#12 of 51 in Arlington
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#41 of 51 in Arlington
201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#32 of 51 in Arlington
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Property: Highlander Motel
Address: 3336 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#31 Business Hotel in Arlington
#32 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highlander Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is an affordable motel in Arlington VA close to the FDIC, NSF, and George Mason University. We offer free parking, free wireless internet access and HD television. We are located 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Arlington
Highlander Motel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing