We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for disabled travelers and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I just came back 1 week ago ( booked Oct 12-15). We booked a handicapped accessible room for my husband who is partially wheelchair bound. What a wonderful surprise when we saw that the room REALLY was accessible. Bathroom was spacious, had all the accessible bars ,a phone by the toilet if you need emergency assistance and had a shower bench attached to wall- with a pull down hook ,the seat was perfect for taking showers. The room had an open floor plan and a front door peep hole for both wheel chair bound and standing positions. The pool area also surprised us. There is a chair lift for those who need assistance to go into the pool or the hot tub and a life guard in attendance. This is all a wonderful surprise because we always carry our own shower bench because many hotels do not really assist the handicapped as they claim.
As for the hotel and location. We were pleasantly surprised with the surrounding neighborhood. Shirlington/Arlington is absolutely wonderful ! The hotel is located in a family and pet friendly neighborhood. For those who want to walk outside the hotel and eat- restaurants are plentiful and start 2 doors away. There are brick walkways and shops.Choices of cuisine are Mexican, organic cafe's, coffee bars, Chinese, Lebanese, Thai, Italian, a brewery and a bakery just to name a few. All restaurants were family friendly and we enjoyed watching the many well behaved children of all ages with their parents. All the restaurants had water bowls outside for sidewalk dining for your furry friends. If you need your hair and nails done they are there too. If you want to save a few $$ and grab a sandwich, wine or salad bar and snacks there is a Harris Teeter grocery store right across the street.

The hotel offers FREE PARKING! at the parking garage across the street from the hotel. Hilton also offers a free shuttle to the metro station and to and from the airport. It was a great trip despite the government shutdown. We will just have to come back another time to see the museums in DC. YES, we will definitely come back to this hotel.
Location is approximately 10 minutes over the bridge from DC. If you book this hotel please remember this is ARLINGTON/SHIRLINGTON Hilton Garden Inn. (There is another Hilton Garden Inn in ARLINGTON , which is close to Reagan Airport and in a "city" like area. Was not impressed with the location, no free parking, and lots of construction in surrounding area.)

Room Tip: Breakfast is $13.95 per person. It is all you can eat. We ate there 1st morning only. It is expensiv...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventuregirl1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Hilton Arlington Shirlington for a family wedding. It was clean and comfortable with a friendly and accommodating staff. I loved the location with lots of little shops and restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again if in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was a much nicer property than I am used to staying in. Normally I stay at lower cost properties when I travel with family but this time I was traveling on business and stayed here to attend a small conference in the hotel.

There is really not much to say here as the hotel met all expectations. The property itself still looks very new. There is a business center and a nice fitness room. Free cookies and coffee in the lobby. Great breakfast in the morning ($13.95).

The location can't be beat. The hotel is located right in the middle of a downtown like area with many restaurants to choose from. Across the street from the hotel is a nice walking/jogging path complete with bike rental if you want. About the only trouble I had was initially finding where to park. Once you check in they will give you a parking pass. The garage is across the street (not labeled Hilton Parking until you get up to the fourth floor of the garage). I ended up circling around a few times before I finally called the front desk.

The room has nice furniture with all granite counter tops, flat screen tv, mini-fridge and Keurig coffee machine. Overall just a great stay. Pricing wise at almost $200 per night its more than I normally like to spend for one night but to be fair, this pricing is right in line with all of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank promoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Spent 3 days this past week, with family. The hotel is easy to get to and once u figure out the free parking, everything else is a plus. Room was very clean and the staff was upbeat and willing to help. The area outside the Hotel is beyond anything u could ask for. The dining choices were all over the place, so it was hard to make a choice. Most places had outside seating and streets were well lighted. would come back anytime

Room Tip: Find out about the Garage parking
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fall3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Good value for the money and similar to the standard level of the Hilton Garden Inn hotels.

Friendly staff, clean room and nice Garden Inn breakfast.

One remark – I’ve arrived from the airport and was not aware that you need to call for shuttle pickup, so had a nice hour of waiting till I called. Other hotel shuttles were running every 15-30 minutes.
The service from the hotel is much easier, as it runs every hour to Pentagon city and the airport (DCA). Easy to get to Washington city from both.

Bottom Line – Nicely located in a quiet neighborhood and a convenient place if you don’t want to stay in the city center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snoofkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

You can never go wrong with a Hilton Garden Inn no matter what city you are in. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the internet access was great. Just what I needed for a business stay. Plus, remember the great cookies that they serve warm when you arrive!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

You won't regret your stay here. This hotel is very conveniently located. Access to I-395 is right around the corner, but not too close that you would hear traffic noise. The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds. Cleanliness appeared to be a priority. The decor is nothing fancy, but the bed comfort & Keurig coffee/tea machine more than makes up for that. There's a 24 hr. Harris Teeter grocery store right across the street for your convenience in addition to surrounding eateries (bakery, cheese shop, coffee shop, restaurants, etc.,). For those of you needing to rent a car & are staying here, don't rent from the airport. There's an Enterprise right across the street, maybe a block walking distance. We were allowed to check-in early, which was wonderful. Arlington National Cemetary, Downtown DC & other major attractions seemed to be less than 15 minutes away. We enjoyed just walking around Campbell Ave. The lobby was warm & inviting. The area is very safe, but careful if you're fearful of dogs! There's a dog park across the street & you can't go 2 minutes without seeing a prancing pooch! Although we did not dine at this hotel, my 6 y/o son certainly loved the complimentary cookies in the hotel lobby. The entire staff was very pleasant & attentive to our needs. Sleeping in a comfortable bed was great because we woke up refreshed every morning ready to begin a new adventure. Hotel parking is on the 4th floor in parking garage across the street. Parking was easy & accessible from multiple locations if I remember correctly. Having a grocer across the street was great in case of emergencies or the i forgots.. I would not hesitate to stay at this property again. The area became familiar within a day or two & as mentioned, you have the option of taking the interstate or scenic backstreets to get to downtown DC. Only downfall is the pool (see pic). Thank you Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington. We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: High floor facing tree lined S. Arlington Mill Drive for a wonderful view Don't park 1st, che...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilba326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#9 of 52 in Arlington
1,745 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206-3437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arlington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £96 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing