We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inconvenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We chose this property because of the good TripAdvisor reviews, affordability, and location. The hotel shuttles from the Reagan airport and the Metro were very important because we were planning a lot of traveling around by the Metro. Unfortunately, the shuttles are really just vans that don't hold many people. So with many people in the hotel wanting to do the same thing, often we couldn't get onto the shuttle at either the hotel or Metro stop ends. The hotel-Metro shuttle runs every 20 minutes and the driver would say that we could wait for the next one, but then there was still the overcrowding issue and not being able to get on. There is no system for reserving the shuttle or getting a number, so it's first come first served pushing onto it. The distance between the hotel and Metro is walkable but it takes about 15 minutes walking quickly, and the route is a bit confusing until you get used to it. At night there's no one around and you wouldn't want to walk it alone. Otherwise, the hotel was comfortable, the free breakfast buffet convenient, the staff helpful. But using up so much time getting to/from the Metro is inconvenient and I would recommmend trying to locate a hotel closer to the Metro (there is a Marriott only one block away). The hotel is also next to the Metro line and a train line, both of which can be heard sometimes from the rooms (especially when the train blows its horn).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your review to TripAdvisor. I apologize for the delay and inconvenience brought about by the shuttle service and we are addressing your concerns in order to improve the service when our hotel is at full capacity. We understand that with all the exciting things to do and see in DC, waiting in line to board a crowded vehicle isn't one of them. Please consider us for a future visit the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is one of the best hotel's I've ever patronized. While I didn't utilize it as the extended-stay hotel it is (only two nights), it was a great hotel. When I write reviews, I usually list the good and the bad things separately, but there really isn't anything bad to list. So here goes...

The breakfast is great, good variety of hot and cold items, well stocked. My room was VERY clean and modern. One of the cleanest I've been in. The bed was super comfortable. It was nice having the kitchen area, even for the short time. The free wi-fi worked great. The airport shuttle was reliable and clean and friendly. Also, because this is an extended-stay hotel, there were not any school groups staying here, like at the other DC hotel I stayed at recently.

A few things that while not perfect, the hotel does its best to minimize:
1. There are no ice machines. If you want ice, turn the ice maker in your fridge on as soon as you arrive. I didn't know this until later. However, when I asked at the front desk, the staff member happily went to the hotel next door (actually adjoining, also a Marriott property) and returned with a bag of ice for me. Talk about going above and beyond!
2. This hotel is a good distance walk from the nearest metro rail stop. But the hotel runs a shuttle every 20 minutes to the AND FROM the metrorail stop. We utilized this every day, and it was great! Can't say enough about this service.
3. There also aren't a lot of restaurants super close to the hotel, but again, they have a shuttle that will drop you off near a large number of restaurants, and pick you up as well.

One small disappointment: if you see the hotel advertise its free evening reception (appetizers and cocktails) be aware that it only occurs Monday-Wednesday. There isn't a restaurant in the hotel, but again, the shuttle makes it easy to get out to other places.

Bottom line: I will stay here again on subsequent trips to D.C. This hotel is a great property at a great price!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCtraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for your stay. I'm glad that you mentioned that while we can accomodate an extended stay guest comfortably, we are also happy to serve guests who only need a room for a night or two. Thank you for listing all the amenities our hotel has to offer. I would like to add that our sister property, Renaissance Arlington Capital View, does offer a dining option for our Residence Inn guests. There is a restaurant in the lobby lounge area. It is SOCCi (pronounced So-chee). It is a wonderful Italian Urban Kitchen + Bar that offers an array of delicious menu items. And now is the time of the year to enjoy your meal out on our patio! Perhaps you will come back to the Residence Inn for another visit and try it out. We'd love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very clean, good location, great breakfast. They have a shuttle that takes you to the metro station so it is very easy to get around. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel was very quiet even though there was a convention there.

Room Tip: Choose the suite room
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing our hotel. The Residence Inn is a great value, whether your traveling for business or pleasure. The location is convenient for anyone who needs quick access to Reagan National or to the Metro station. We're minutes from DC, yet located on the quiet end of town. Dining, shopping, sightseeing, and entertainment are awaiting you at the Capital View!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I'm here on an extended business trip. I'll be here for over two months and the staff cannot be nicer. My room is perfect with great housekeeping each and every day. The kitchen is nice to have for such a long stay. They also have free breakfast every morning and free dinner three nights a week. Enjoying my stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimmyMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We're glad you're staying with us for an extended stay. Our extended stay guests tend to become part of our Residence Inn family and we stay in touch with many of them even after they've departed. We will do everything we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We understand how difficult it is to be away from home and on the road for such a long period of time. Our success depends on your comfort. Thank you for letting others know they can count on us for their long-term needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed at this Residence Inn when our plans changed suddenly and we couldn't find any room at the Inn by the Pentagon. The hotel overall was clean and very pleasantly decorated. Every member of the staff was friendly. The gym was huge for a hotel facility and well-maintained. There was always equipment available even at peak times. The equimpment included free-weights, stationary bikes, treadmills, elipticals, machines and even a couple of choices for pull-up bars (often missing from these gyms). The pool was small but no one was using it so our 7 year old and his friend had the place to themselves. There is a large outdoor patio adjacent to the pool which was lovely. There are a multitude of different types of restaurants within a couple of blocks. The included breakfast was standard, but standard for the Residence Inn is quite good with a variety of options to please everyone. The metro is a bit of a hike (about a mile walking) but they do have a shuttle bus that leaves every 20 minutes. Although we did not take advantage of this, I noted that you could have groceries ordered and delivered to your refrigerator and even meals. There are some weekday options for dinner included in the price of your stay as well. Only issue was in locating a dolly when trying to check-out... all were gone and could not be located, so I guess the answer there is plan ahead and grab one early??

Room Tip: We chose to stay on the 3d floor across from the gym, pool and laudry area. In spite of the train r...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We are glad you had an opportunity to come check us out! We have a lot to offer to guests at our beautiful hotel and from the comments regarding the Fitness Center, our amenities top the list. Thank you for submitting your review and we would love to have you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We waited 45 minutes for the shuttle from Reagan National Airport for our 1 mile ride to the hotel (could have/should have walked). Got caught in a "shift change" with the drivers. The shuttles service a number of Marriott branded hotels in Crystal City and there is a "north loop" and "south loop". This hotel is on the south loop. The hotel itself is very nice. Brand new when we stayed. It's on the south end of the Crystal City "strip" but still a short walk to the "action" (if that's what you want to call it in CC!) and Metro stop. Very well appointed rooms. One weird thing, the typical "Managers Cocktail Hour", which was advertised was nowhere to be found. Free breakfast was fine. For dinner try Socci next door at the Renaissance Hotel (not advertised but you can charge it to your room at the RI). See my separate review of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. I sincerely apologize for the shuttle delay from the Reagan National Airport and we will address this issue with our shuttle staff in order to provide better and consistent service for guests arriving at the hotel. The Manager Cocktail Reception takes place Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday from 6 PM to 7:30 PM, excluding holidays, at the Gatehouse located on the far side of the hotel lobby. Perhaps you will be able to join us on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel was one of the nicest Marriott Hotels we have stayed in; spent 4 nights there last week. Shuttle from airport to hotel was right on time. They also have shuttles to the Crystal City Metro and shops. Hotel is very clean and well maintained. Breakfast buffet was substantial, with a nice variety. Staff was very helpful. Hotel will exceed your expectations!

We took the 9A public bus to Alexandria, one block from hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a capitol view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonni42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. Meeting our guests expectations is our number one goal! We appreciate you're letting other TripAdvisor users know that we are achieving this goal and that you would recommend our hotel when they are in the DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 52 in Arlington
1,183 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £72 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing