We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is was my second time staying at the Renaissance Arlington Captial View and it was another great experience ! This hotel is in a perfect location - it's close to Washington, DC, so if you're driving or taking the Metro you can be in & out in a matter of minutes. We were able to accomplish everything on our "to do" list- and nothing was more than a 20 minute car ride away. This trip I was given complimentary access to the Club Lounge which was great as it provided a full breakfast (bacon, eggs, etc) in the morning and snacks in the evening. Soda/Juice/Water are complimentary - but alcohol is available for purchase - with prices comparable to the bar. The lounge is a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The staff as always was friendly & helpful and really went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. The Renaissance Arlington Captial View - is now my "go to" hotel for the DC/Virginia area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large - perhaps a room on a higher floor/facing the airport would give you a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

I can't tell you how happy it makes us when we hear that we are a "go-to" hotel by our repeat guests. We'll keep striving to earn your business and we'll keep our eyes peeled to see you come through our lobby doors again soon. Thank you for your review. We appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff; clean; comfy beds; retro style; kids love the view of trains, metro and airplanes all from your hotel room. Illy cafe-love the lattes! Great lobby with games for kids and lots of places to sit and read a book. And, 10 minutes from the Smithsonian!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Pkmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of a few of the amenities offered at our hotel and that you were able to set out and discover the Smithsonian. Keep us in mind the next time you're ready to explore more of DC. It would be great to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I've stayed here about three times in the last few months. Each was what you hope for as a weary traveler, not a single bad experience. Short walk to some eating places, close to airport bur I didn't hear any noise. Staying again next week as my favorite (the Renaissance in China Town) concierges lounge is shutting down for the holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepid411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

We appreciate your continued business and we are grateful that you have shared your recommendation to other TripAdvisor users. We'll be here when you need us and we'll have that hot breakfast ready and waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

In the land of, "We the People.....," I will note, the staff at the Renaissance were most accommodating and sincere. I was confounded by 2 noise issue at the hotel, yet the offending loud party were visited by security. I had to move my room upon arrival due to noise, then a second noise complaint was issued when moved to the Executive floor. The next day, the hard party crowd must have been moved since I heard nothing, yet the incident was most disturbing. My room had a double door that had the potential to open to my room. Sing praises for the Navigator staff. They arranged several internal and external things for me during my stay. Oh, and the meatballs served in the restaurant are iconic. I will, however think twice before another stay since I had to make 3 calls to the front desk to report the antic of the the drunk, stoned guests on the Executive Floor to go to bed...at 4:00AM the noise stopped.

Room Tip: Be ultra judicious to demand a quite room away from others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

I'm glad you submitted your feedback to TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. Our hotel was the venue for a rather large wedding that coincided with your stay. While we want our guests to enjoy their stay, we don't encourage them to do so at the expense of the other guests who are not a part of the festivities. While our staff goes to great lengths to minimize possible disturbances that may occur when a large group comes to the hotel for an event, such as placing the attending guests on the same floor away from other guests and alerting our security team to step up their patrols, the potential for a noise disturbance still exists. Our staff is trained to respond in a proactive manner when an occasion does arise and from your comments, you were pleased by their efforts. I sincerely apologize that your stay was still marred by the noise caused by the event. In other matters, I will pass along your praise to our Navigators and I will "second" your vote for the awesome meatballs served in our SOCCi restaurant. Perhaps our friendly staff service and our great food will get you to reconsider another stay with us. We would certainly appreciate your repeat business. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I travel quite a bit for work and pleasure. NEVER before have I received such excellent customer service all around from one place. From the check in process, the staff cleaning the rooms, the buffet breakfast, and the smiles and warm personalities. I will definitely stay at this location when I'm in the VA/DC area again! This is the type of hotel that makes you feel like family; everyone treated us like we were the only guests in the entire building.

The rooms were large and clean. The lobby was very nicely decorated with an art-deco theme. The music playing in the lobby was a blend of jazz and chill cafe vibe tunes. VERY relaxing and zen. The buffet breakfast was delicious! The staff at the bar and buffet area was very attentive and helpful....always smiling and engaging.

Highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting the VA/DC area anytime soon! We will definitely go back there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRB710625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

It sounds like we were able to provide the "WOW" factor during your stay and that's what we strive to achieve with every guest who comes to the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. From the moment we greet you at the door until it's time to say 'goodbye", we will extend our friendly guest service and provide different aspects of our hotel for you to discover. Thank you for letting others know about your experience. Keep us on your list of go-to hotels in the DC area. We would love to have you come back for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a follow-up to my initial review published a few weeks ago. Suffice it to say, it was not favorable due to a specific incident that marred my entire experience. I have since requested that my initial review be removed. Following this, I cannot express enough how happy I am with the corrective actions the Renaissance took to make things right. Their management got involved immediately, and have since bent over backwards to ensure my total satisfaction. For that reason alone, I would stay in this hotel during every future visit to the Arlington area.

Now, with regard to the hotel - it's an excellent property. It's centrally located, convenient to the entire NCR, upscale, modern and nicely appointed. The downstairs bar/lounge is comfortable and the in-hotel restaurant offered delicious selections. The concierge lounge was spacious and had a great selection of spirits. We spent our entire first night in town up there.

The room was very comfortable, and the bed slept quite well. That said, as this property is close to Reagan National, I would recommend staying on the opposite side, but regardless, I did not find the jet noise too intrusive or disturbing.

Their staff were courteous, congenial and helpful. I had a laugh with a couple of them on several occasions before the specific incident that ruined the trip (DISCLAIMER - that incident did not involve any direct member of the Renaissance Staff). They seem to be a pretty good outfit.

Bottom line, I would recommend staying with this property to anyone who's in town for business or pleasure.

My sincere gratitude to the management and staff of the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. Special thanks to Mr. Jerry Caliguire and Ms. Julie Ritter!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1968JHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

To express my sincere gratitude in mere words can only begin to scratch the surface of how I feel knowing that we have not only restored your faith in our staff and in our hotel, but that we will be able to continue to serve you as a loyal Renaissance Arlington Capital View guest. For you to go out of your way to not only retract a negative review, but then to take the time to submit a review commending our hotel is indicative of the kind, generous, and forgiving person you are and we will always be grateful. We will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Had been on business trip that hadn’t gone as planned…walked into the Renaissance Arlington and all was well with the world. Really, we walked in the beautiful modern lobby and thought “this works!”

Staying there on a weekend the hotel is an amazing bargain. It’s first class in every way. The staff has the professionalism and polish of a truly great hotel, and make you feel welcome from the moment you step inside. Anything you need, just ask. Rooms are modern and comfortable. The showers are amazing - what pressure, even on the 8th floor. If only my home shower were that good.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the ILLY coffee shop is great too. I was able to get a real cappuccino there, not latte-light that the Starbucks’ baristas thinks is a cappuccino (basic coffee is also top-notch). A small thing, but it’s a “detail.” And all the details are well-attended to in the hotel.

If your room faces East, you can watch the planes come in and out of National Airport, but amazingly, you can’t hear them. I did have some concerns - as mentioned by another reviewer - when a CSX freight train trundled by. It could be heard. But it didn’t bother us a bit during the night. And drinks at the bar aren’t cheap, but they are in line for a DC hotel. Not a surprise. The bartenders were well polished and professional.

As mentioned before, The Metro is about 15-minute walk - there are free shuttles from the hotel to the stop. We were sorry to leave, but we knew we had gotten our money’s worth and then some. Would stay again for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Higher up gets a better view of DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurfsUp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

I'm glad we were able to turn things around for you! We certainly enjoyed reading your review and we truly appreciate all of the wonderful comments about our hotel. Now that you have discovered us, why not let others in on your secret? And, of course, I hope you will come by and stay with us again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#14 of 52 in Arlington
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.7 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#43 of 52 in Arlington
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range: £83 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing