We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Marriott” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Solid Marriott”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

While the hotel looks like it was built in the 80's, it appears to have been updated 5-7 years ago. The lobby is spacious and modern looking. The front desk staff were professional. The room furnishings are contemporary with a flat panel TV. The bathroom, though smallish, has a granite countertop. The bed had a comfortable pillow-top mattress. Housekeeping staff was friendly. Pool has indoor and outdoor portions is typical size for most hotels (Crystal City Marriott across the street has a larger, indoor-only pool, but that's the only advantage over this hotel). The convenient access to the Crystal City Underground's restaurants was appreciated, especially in January cold.

Room Tip: East side facing Route 1 and the airport has a more interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oski_Bear_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    542
    172
    47
    34
See reviews for
303
184
92
611
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Marriot Crystal Gateway Hotel is a very nice hotel. The hotel conveniently located off of the Blue/Yellow Metro rail with plenty of local restaurants and watering holes in the area. The lobby is huge, staffed with courtesy people, and is very clean. One thing I noticed was a security guard located at the main entrance in the evening hours. It was nice to know that the hotel management has security as a priority. The beds were very comfortable especially after a long day. So if you are in the area on business and need a place to stay overnight, I would highly recommend this location. This hotel does have a shuttle service to Reagan National Airport; however, the airport can also be reached via the metro rail.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadKingWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I just spent five days at the Marriott for a conference. I was not involved in planning, but as a participant, everything ran remarkably smoothly. Food was surprisingly good (breakfast, lunch, and dinners), meeting rooms were properly serviced and configurations changed as planned.

I stayed on a concierge level floor and had most breakfasts in the lounge. The food was hot, and the woman from Bolivia who was taking care of us was wonderful. I could not get wi-fi reception, so not sure if that was offered in the lounge or not.

I also ate a few meals in the Mez. The shrimp and avocado salad was good, but they shamelessly cut the shrimp in half to make it appear as if there were three shrimp (already a bit stingy) only to find there were only 1 and 1/2. It was tasty, though, and the wait staff was attentive. They were very good about separate checks, since we were all on account.

My room overlooked the west. It was quiet, although it would have been nice for the cleaning staff to make a point of not letting the service door slam, which woke me up one morning. The bed was great. Bathroom was large enough for two. The room was cleaned well daily. There was a mini-fridge (that had not seen a defrosting in months and months!), iron and board, and appropriate storage space. TV was large with about 30 channels. This is the first hotel I've stayed at in years without a safe. Marriott needs to reconsider this. I was stuck carrying my electronics and jewelry all day. (Safe at desk is NOT convenient.) Everything else was fine. There is a small machine for a cup of coffee/tea, replenished daily. Toiletries and towels were abundant.

All personnel were cordial and there to help, in particular at the front desk. I needed to see a doctor while I was there and they directed me quickly to a clinic just a few blocks from the hotel. Charming woman from Romania helped my colleague when the reservation appeared lost. This staff wins an A+ for friendliness.

The hotel is connected to Crystal City shops and metro. Very convenient. It is close to sights if you are a tourist. I would stay here on my own as a tourist, and definitely recommend it for those of you looking for an event hotel.

Room Tip: Arlington Tower has views of the Capitol. Arlington is probably a better place to stay if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhine-and-Roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed here in October for buisness. It was nice to have the subway running underneath your room. Great food ,shopping and a way to see the sights without spending a fortune.
The rooms were nicely cleaned and the staff friendly. The training area and ballrooms were updated and well kept. I would say to visit here for business or a great family stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L2ADVENTURES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This Marriott is located conveniently near the Pentagon, Reagan National Airport, and Arlington National Cemetary.The staff was knowlegeable in helping us make arrangements and with getting around. The metro is an easy walk, and it can be done underground if the weather is not cooperative. The new bedding is the coziest I ever experienced!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegPGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
358 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

RECOMMENDED: This hotel has much to recommend, close proximity to airport for those traveling out, general usage as a conference hotel and a good spot for a tourist visiting DC (easy walk to Metro and plenty of nearby restaurants).

Hotel in general good repair and standard Marriott issue. No problems to speak of. Rates at the property vary widely depending upon season and load. It can be a downright bargain in off peak times.

Room service breakfast was nicely prepared & presented and well priced as well, a special treat indeed.

As others have noted, the shuttle to the airport is painful, it stops at 3 other Marriott properties before hitting the airport, so despite having the airport in sight the whole time, allow at least 15-20 minutes travel time.

Otherwise, good choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

In a nutshell, the hotel is large (two towers) with spacious rooms and a wonderful garden atrium that houses the indoor portion of an indoor/outdoor pool (note, the pool is not large enough for lap swimming).

There was a lot that went wrong during my two night stay for a meeting we were holding at the hotel (the power went out in one tower leading to the alarm lights going off in the conference room, the hotel elevators going out, and the water pressure dropping - the power issue was not the fault of the hotel, however; the business center printer was out of ink, etc.), however all issues were quickly dealt with by a host of very friendly staff. This is some of the best service I have had in a while, and would be the number one reason I would stay here again.

I asked for a quiet room (per usual), and was given a room across from the ice machine and on the freeway - not sure what the definition of "quiet" was being used - but was easily given an alternative option when I went back to the front desk. Room service/restaurant food is not great, however the hotel directly connects to the Crystal City underground shops, food court, and metro for great convenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and/or away from the freeway. The first few floors have a small selection o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing