We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott has got to get with Free WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Marriott has got to get with Free WiFi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This property is nice - it is a large hotel suited for conferences and big groups. I was shocked to find out that the Marriott still finds it necessary to charge for WiFi service. It was free in the lobby area, but for those of us in the ballroom, it wasn't available unless your group purchased it as part of their package. And in the rooms, it was a heinous $14.95 per day - and has a silver member of their loyalty program, I don't qualify for that perk yet. I doubt I will get there because I will avoid Marriott's for this very reason. I was there for 2 nights and the room was nice - I was on the 3rd floor in the ballroom tower. The street noise was noticeable - especially as they were doing construction in the middle of the night. I moved from this hotel to the Hyatt in Arlington for a different meeting and they offered free Wifi. It made me very happy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    554
    176
    48
    34
See reviews for
308
185
92
627
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We recently stayed here just before the 4th of july celebrations and during the big storm.
The hotel is very modern and nicely decorated. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are very clean.
We had a room overlooking the indoor pool and the added roof was excellent for soundproofing... In fact we slept through the entire storm!
The location is convenient for sightseeing, it is only a few blocks to the nearest hop on and off tour bus stop and the metro line and stop is directly under the hotel!
We paid a little extra to have our breakfast included with our room rate and enjoyed the buffet at the MEZ restaurant in the hotel very much. It included the made to order omlette/waffle bar as well.
The price was reasonable for the amenities, location and comfort! I would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmitchellontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We checked into one of our two reserved rooms upon arrival, but our 2nd room took all day to be readied. The desk clerk(s) kept telling us "it should be ready in 20 minutes, I'll call now and get them to expedite it." So we went to Arlington National Cemetery and did the entire tour. When we returned several hours later, still not ready. We were hot and travel weary, and still into the evening the room wasn't ready. They said someone would bring up the room key as soon as it was ready. We waited...and waited... Finally @ 6:30 p.m. My son went to the lobby and inquired. They gave him the key. Not sure how long it would've been before getting the key, but that was poor customer service/service recovery. The rooms were nice. The breakfast buffet is terrific. Just a glitch in ther service. Would stay again. It wasn't a deal-breaker for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sglover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Very clean, good location except it is a ways from the Metro station, and the shuttle is very intermittent to the station. Long waits! It is not too far to walk, but it was 90-100 degrees and we didn't always want to walk. It is also a ways from DC, so you spend alot of time on the Metro, time that could have been spent at the sites, etc Ther are several nice restaurants close by to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascalbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location, two easy blocks from: metro, shopping, mt Vernon running trail, restaurants and pentagon. Location was not the only highlight of this hotel. The staff were cheery and welcoming, housekeeping was thorough and rooms were comfortable and clean. Our room also boasted a kitchennette and living area; these were helpful amenities. The complimentary breakfast, filling and varied, helped gear us up for a day of sighseeing. I liked the extra spacious lobby for relaxing in, the pool table and swimming pool were extra bonuses. The midweek socials were adequate and fun. The laundry rooms were available and helpful for keeping up with our family. Great hotel for sightseeing and business.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaufmanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Hotel is very nice but the service need much improvement, stayed 3 night with my wife and asked 4 different times and days for a extra pillow, room came with 3 and we wanted 4. they kept saying they were out of Pillows, I went to a Rite Aid and bought one. I will not stay at this Marriott again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justme8821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in June as part of a Marriott weekend rate special. Room was nice and clean. Breakfast buffet was included in special rate and was well stocked and good food (with omelet and waffle station). Very comfortable beds. Best of all was the proximity to the metro. Downtown DC was a 15-20 minute trip. Kid friendly with a nice pool.

Only thing that was strange was that we needed to sign receipts for Internet and Buffet (which was included in the special rate) at actual cost. Staff assured us we would not be charged, and we weren't. It just seemed odd they didn't have a separate option.

We have already planned a return getaway for July to see more DC sights we missed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing