We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great ball room, great bed, some minor quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, great ball room, great bed, some minor quirks”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed there for one night with the family to attend a major function in their ball rooms. I am a Marriott rewards member so I am very partial to Marriotts in general. The location is great: close to DC, next to the Pentagon, and close to all the freeways. The ball rooms were very nice and the staff was efficiently setup to manage a large crowd. Event was flawless. Our rooms were nice and are beds extremely comfortable. Parking was $15 for self park and $30 for Valet Parking, which is average for DC. I self-parked and had no issued with the parking facility. Check out was very efficient despite the large crowd. We ordered room service which took longer than the projected 30 minutes provided during the order, but that was no big deal. The pizza was good and the Chocolate fudge cake delicious. Two minor quirks we noticed: 1. The bathroom sink water pressure was VERY strong, but the shower pressure somewhat week. 2. Elevators generally took a while because the hotel was packed. Neither issues really impacted our stay in a significant way. Overall good stay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnowandtomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    553
    176
    48
    34
See reviews for
308
185
92
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,354 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Direct underground passageway to the Metro stop. Very easy/quick access to Reagan or in to the city. Shuttle to from the airport but it doesn't start running til 5am. Stops at the other Marriott before going to the airport. It's tight timing if you need to catch a 6am flight and don't have TSA precheck. With precheck, we were done by 5:25, boarding for the 6am flight was at 5:30. Hotel room was nice. We just stayed overnite so couldn't say much about any of the facilities/services.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitownsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Marriott Crystal Gateway is centrally located for business travelers needs. The hotel is within a $12-15 cab ride of Reagan airport. And, there's a metro stop just behind the hotel to make public transport extremely accessible. During my stay, I got the sense that there are numerous business travels who frequent this location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wablec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

If you are planning a few days to visit Washington D.C., this is a great place to stay. There are an abundance of shops and eating establishments in the Crystal City Shops attached to the hotel, and the sights of DC are an easy Metro ride from the station which is also attached to the hotel. The $17 breakfast buffet in the hotel is excellent with a lot of crisp bacon, delicious cheese blintzes and fresh Belgian Waffles and made-to-order omelets. Parking is $26 a night, but is underground and safe. Rooms are typical Marriott; no surprises. I still don't understand why the more expensive hotels charge for internet, while the budget brands include it in your room rate. Despite that, I will be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChocolateGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Room service running 2 hours behind on Friday night, and only open until 10 PM.
2 of 4 elevators in the bank broken for 2 days.
No instructions on how to connect to room WiFi.
No food in floor vending machines, just drinks.
Only real plus -- sufficient 3 prong electrical outlets in room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuniperCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello Juniper Creek-
Thanks for your feedback. It sounds like we did not get you the experience you had hoped. I apologize we did not live up to your expectations. We are undergoing elevator upgrades and one elevator is out of service- we are not aware we had another one out. We have Wi-fi instructions in a pamphlet in the drawer where the extra cords are lept as well as a table tent explaining internet hookups. If your room did not have it, send me a note so I can follow up. And we will look into vending machine options. Good idea! Chris Hughes/Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a wonderful 5 day stay at the Marriott crystal gateway. The hotel is a perfect place to base out of for sightseeing in the DC area. Our room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed. We decided after our first night to upgrade to the concierge level which provided us with breakfast and snacks through out the day...definitely worth the extra money!
If your room does not have a small refrigerator, they will bring one on request.
A major draw of this hotel is the connection to the underground city which is loaded with restaurants, shops, bars and everything else you need without stepping out of the hotel!
The metro is also located in the undergound and is easy to use and will take you to all the sites avoiding the cost of cabs. There are also many eating establishments within several blocks of the hotel which were very good.
Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: upgrade to concierge level for breakfast and snacks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorikAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Was staying at this hotel for a conference. Excellent hotel for a conference. Everything is nearby and easy access to Metro. Washington D.C. Is so close and accessible. Close to shopping, restaurants, and attractions. Hotel bar is very good but service and be slow if they are overwhelmed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing