We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business traveler takes mother to see the sights in DC as a birthday present” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Utica, New York
2 reviews
“Business traveler takes mother to see the sights in DC as a birthday present”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I made reservations online for two standard rooms at the Crystal Gateway in late October. I made no mention of my mother or the intent of the trip. When I checked in with her late on a Sunday evening, Nikki was my Marriott receptionist. She was very friendly and clearly enjoyed her customers and the service she provides. As soon as she heard me mention that I was traveling with my mother, she surprised me with an upgrade for her to a junior suite! I thanked her for taking the initiative, and her perceptiveness that I wanted to make this a special time for my mom. Nikki then discovered that I made a mistake on my own reservation, mistakenly booking my last night at another Marriott hotel with a similar name, and Crystal Gateway looked like it would be sold out that night. Cheerfully, she worked for 10 minutes (there was no one else in line) to help me find a room in Crystal Gateway for my final night. All the while, she cheerfully engaged me in discussion in order to help pass the time for me, sharing some interesting stories of places she worked with Marriott during her career, and it was clear in her voice that she truly enjoys talking with her clients and her job. It was wonderful talking with her . When all was done, she also had surprised me and booked me in a junior suite as well, on the same floor as my mother! What a nice surprise!

While I am at it, let me say, as always, the facilities at Crystal Gateway are top-notch. Staff everywhere are going out of their way to be seen and be of assistance, from unloading your bags, to getting checked in, to getting directions or local advice. Even the chamber staff! The concierge lounge staff is exceptional They know you by name. There is one older woman who works there whose name I cannot recall, who always exudes motherly care for her guests by greeting them, helping them find what food/drink they might need, and talking with them if they appear to be lonely and looking for conversation. What a great place for someone on the road to feel at home!

Parking is convenient and average for downtown DC ($26/day). Rooms are always in great shape with modern amenities. Noise levels are quiet, despite being across from Reagan National Airport. Love the proximity to the metro...a short indoor walk that escapes the weather.

I would love to be the manager of this hotel...I would be excited with the great job I am doing and the staff I have working for me!

Room Tip: All rooms have what would be called an "average view" East side rooms (even numbered) get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    542
    172
    47
    34
See reviews for
303
184
92
611
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at the Marriot for a seminar. This was the most luxurious hotel stay I've ever experienced. The bed was my favorite part - SO comfy - I felt like royalty. The staff was overly nice & helpful - I didn't want to eat at the restaurant on site, so I ordered the food and brought it to my room to enjoy the bliss (food was amazing too!) - the staff were more than accommodating. So, all in all, if you can afford it, stay here. If you are considering for a honeymoon or anniversary - YES, this place is well suited for that too!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. Everything at this hotel was 5 stars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

There is always something about DC hotels (well at least Marriott hotels in DC) where you will experience someone who just doesn't want to do anything but the minimum amount of work. The front desk staff was polite and helpful. I asked about ordring room service as it was late. He said I would have no problem as they don't close until 12. Calling room service at 11:56, here is my conversation:

Me: "I'd like to place a room service order but there is no in-room dining menu."
Her: "Room service is closed."
Me: "Well the front desk staff said you are open until midnight."
Her: "Well room service is closed."
Me: "So you aren't really open until midnight. Why bother even picking up the phone."
Her: "Well what is it that you want to order."
Me: "Don't bother."

And this is pretty close to the experience I have at the Key Bridge Marriott at least once every few stays. Is it too much for people to do their jobs?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Chris S.
Thank you for your post. I read your exchange with the operator while trying to order a meal and I get the sense of how frustrating that was. I apologize it was not handled more graciously. We will review with our staff and make sure we can take orders up to the closing minute. Thank you for your feedback. Chris Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for a large student conference. We had two adults and 12 high school students. The woman who checked us in was able to place us in rooms next to our students. Having stayed at other hotels with student groups, this is not always the case. And when she didn't have enough rooms with two beds, she upgraded one room to a suite so the students would at least have a bed and pull-out couch.

As there were roughly 1000 high school and college students at the hotel, there was bound to be a noise complaint. It was taken care of immediately. Thank you!

The beds were wonderfully comfortable and the rooms were clean and updated.

We had coffee in the atrium bar area and the staff was great, as was the woman at the concierge desk. No complaints at all?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulusHookJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel was clean, the rates were reasonable, and the staff was friendly. Extremely convenient as well - we traveled via bus and metro from BWI airport! We would definitely recommend staying here and plan to again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freehold nj
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Made reservations thru central reservation and specifically stated I wanted the Marrriott Crystal Gateway location. Unbeknownst to me, the reservation was made for the Courtyard Arlington Crystal City. We had quite an exhausting journey from Florida to Stamford, CT, and were stopping in DC on way back specifically to see my daughter, who lives two blocks from hotel where I believed where was the reservation.
It was late and dark, and we found out the reservation was not at this hotel. I asked the manager if he could honor the rate of the other hotel, which was $98. His accommodation was charging the rack rate of 199. I pleaded with him to give us a discount, since I was a retired military employee, senior citizen, AAA member and surely one of the discounts would apply. Stone-faced, and totally unsympathetic, he gave us directions to the other hotel. Turns out, his directions were incorrect and it took 30 minutes to reach the other hotel. As a Marriott rewards member, I expected some consideration, but received nothing, except an independent, and rude reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lukefreeholdnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Front desk staff were nice and fast. Convention staff changed rooms and served meals quickly and efficiently. Location allows you to get to the Metro without ever going outside.

Keep in mind people go to the area for convenience, not ambience - Crystal City is a sterile area with nothing memorable or particuulary fun to do.

I was at a convention for about 1,000 and the common areas right outside the function rooms were low ceilings, very tight and chopped up. It did have a lobby bar area that could handle about 50 people.

Room Tip: Remember there are two Marriotts within a few blocks - they call this one the "Gateway."
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing