We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IHG Army Hotels Wainwright Hall - Historia
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crystal Gateway Marriott(Arlington)
US$316
US$271
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ballston(Arlington)(Great Value!)
US$143
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Virginian Suites Arlington(Arlington)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
US$151
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$475
US$361
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge(Arlington)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Americana Hotel(Arlington)(Great Value!)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
17
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmade to order breakfastfort myerhenderson hallat arlington national cemeteryofficer's clublarge bedroomliving roomnice suiteplace to staybusiness centerenjoyed our stayshuttle servicefront desk staffmetro stationburiallodgingmeyer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 31 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

While Wainwright Hall is still a nicer option than the average Navy Lodge or Air Force Inn, it's not the property it used to be -- and certainly not the value that it used to be.

We booked over the phone and arrived to find ourselves in a dark suite in the adjacent Building 48 -- NOT what we were expecting. Although a suite in Bldg 50 (Wainwright Hall) was available, there was no mention on the telephone that we had that option. Thank goodness we were able to snag a room in Wainwright, but we don't understand why the choice wasn't offered during the booking process.

Breakfast is average, but the kitchen and wait staff made it less than average by literally yelling in the kitchen (not fighting, just conversing far too loudly).

But in the end, it was the price that got us -- $195 a night plus tax for a suite with a queen bed and a $75 pet "deposit." The IHG website showed the price as $186 for the same suite and when I asked about this difference at the reception desk I was told that was the internet price. Nothing at all on the IHG site that indicates a higher price if the booking is made by phone. Furthermore, the pet policy is as follows:

"Deposit $ 75.00 USD per stay; Fee $ 7.00 USD per night"

It turns out that the deposit isn't a deposit at all -- it's a FEE. A flat weekly pet fee of $75, with a $7 per night charge for additional nights beyond a week. That's right -- stay one night and pay $75; stay seven nights and pay $75. We're not necessarily complaining about the fee, but we do wish the hotel would amend its advertised pet policy, clearly state the terms, and get rid of the term "deposit" altogether.

The suites are still very nice and there's plenty of room, but we'll be looking for short-term lets elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: Specify Bldg 50 (Wainwright Hall) when booking!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandering_Tine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staybridges, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Wainwright Hall - Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.Please give me an opportunity to explain i wish you had called me during your stay.
Regards
Shabi Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights while touring Washington. I can't think of a better location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Ft Myers itself is a quiet oasis surrounded by the hustle and bustle of the Washington scene. It is convient to the major traffic arteries and the hotel staff provides free shuttle service to/from the Rosslyn Metro stop. You are also able to walk directly into Arlington Cemetary from the base. Wainwright Hall is a historic building that offers large, very comfortable suites and a full cooked-to-order breakfast. To stay here, however, it is necessary to possess a military ID card.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staybridges, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Wainwright Hall - Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guests.

Thank you for your most kind review on Trip advisor and particularly for praising the Hotel Staff for going above and beyond. Thank you for complementing on our cook to order breakfast.
Thank you again for being our guest and thank you for sharing your positive experience at IHG Army Hotel Fort Myer Virginia. Looking forward to serve your future travel needs at all IHG Army Hotels on post across USA.
Shabi Khan
Fort Myer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I must admit, I was planning to stay at a local, nonmilitary hotel until a senior officer told me about this historic facility. Wainwright Hall sits on the combined Fort Myer/ Henderson Hall base adjacent to Arlington Cemetery. The cost is approximately $50 less than the government allowable rate. Recently management was taken over by IHG (Holiday Inn properties) and they are doing a nice job. Food is available in the lobby. Gas stations, exchange, and commissary on base. There are 30 rooms total between 2 buildings. Parking and wi-fi are complementary as is a made-to-order breakfast. You will not be disappointed if lucky enough to get a room.

Room Tip: Building 48 has guest rooms and building 50 has guest suites.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staybridges, Manager at IHG Army Hotels Wainwright Hall - Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you so much!! I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Fort Myer. We hope you travel to Virginia again soon and be sure to call us to know when you're coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews